We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely every time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Anglais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Anglais to your Saves list
Scandic Anglais
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Humlegardsgatan 23, Stockholm 102 44, Sweden (Östermalm)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Have spent between 10-15 nights here between Aug 2012 and Mars 2013 and have the same satisfied feeling afterworth every time. Superb staff, nice rooms, perfect atmosphere at the evenings in the bar, generous breakfast open until 2pm and nice spa area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    205
    90
    31
    32
See reviews for
66
94
54
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We chose this hotel because we weren't all that familiar with this side of Stockholm. The location was very nice, right across the street to the royal library. The park must be very beautiful when the trees have leaves on. It was easy to reach the hotel by bus.

The hotel in itself was clean and accessible. The staff was very friendly. They even made porridge for our daughter by request at the breakfast. We had pre-ordered an accessible room and got one. It was accessible enough for my small manual wheelchair but I doubt the toilet would be spacious for someone using a large electrical wheelchair. The room wasn't huge overall but it did well for me.

My parents-in-law told me they had been disturbed by lots of noises from the park during the night. My husband said the same thing about our room, as well. I didn't notice anything and slept like a baby.

The breakfast was ok. As a former vegan I was very happy to see they even served soya yogurt. I would have liked to see more non-meat options to put on my bread. We went to the hotel restaurant in the evening and found the food good. There was only one vegetable choice on the menu. Fortunately, that was good.

The jacuzzi was not accessible for wheelchair. I crawled there anyway and got bruises on my knees. It was nice and warm but I really don't understand why it has to be so hard to reach.

There wasn't any proper playing room for kids. Only a small corner with a Play Station. That didn't attract our child at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyprus
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The location of the hotel is very good and the general atmosphere is nice. Personnel is very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast (nothing special). Rooms with enough space and clean.
Transportation from the hotel very easy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed only one night in this hotel in the weekend. During check-in staff was very friendly and helpful. Nice clean huge room and own balcony as well. We arrived to the nearby metro station and it was not so simple to find the hotel first of all. In the evening hotel bar was very crowded and so noisy up to the lobby area. Maybe not so comfortable for the travellers with small kids.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed their two times in the recent weeks. The location of the hotel is very good and the general atmosphese is nice. Good breakfast area and solid gym. Rooms are basic and clean. For my taste the rooms are a bit dark and lack a bit of atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

It's a fun hotel in a good location and the bar is somewhat of a hotspot. It can be very noisy in the weekends (starting from Thursday) so prepared for some drunken laughter and shouting in the corridors way after midnight.
Also better never to book a single room. You will be tucked away in a broom closet.
I would recommend this hotel if you like to meet up with people or are staying with friends. If you need a good night sleep, or are travelling alone, the Scandic Park across the park is a more quiet option.

Room Tip: Don't book a single room. You will be sleeping in a broom closet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is excellent (walking distance from the center) and also the bar is very nice and crowded by many people. This is it because the cleanness and the service are really low average level and the room was basic, noisy and incredibly small and for it I have paid 210 Swiss francs per night which far too much.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Anglais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Anglais

Address: Humlegardsgatan 23, Stockholm 102 44, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Östermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Anglais 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in central Stockholm, right in the heart of the city's commerce and entertainment district. Hotel Scandic Anglais is a natural meeting place for both locals and hotel guests. Popular restaurants, bars and nightclubs are all within walking distance of our hotel. Stockholm's best shopping opportunities are just around the corner and you'll find that the hotel is within easy reach of the city's tourist attractions and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Anglais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Anglais Stockholm
Scandic Anglais Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Anglais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.