We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in a residential area of Stockholm - means peace and quiet!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mornington Hotel Stockholm City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mornington Hotel Stockholm City to your Saves list
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nybrogatan 53 | Box 5197, Stockholm 102 44, Sweden (Östermalm)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence 2014
kingsville ontario
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Good location in a residential area of Stockholm - means peace and quiet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Mornington Hotel is located just abit outside the usual tourist area of Stockholm, still close enough to walk to the waterfront, most attractions and alot of good restaurants.
The rooms are a reasonable size (by European standards) and the bathroom is a marvel of space utilization.
All is comfortable, it is very quiet and the breakfast is pretty dang good. There is a very wide selection - something for everyone. Just to warn you though, the orange juice is on the counter of the bar, before you get into the breakfast room proper. Not a big deal as you can get your OJ on the way out as well, just a very small point.
The nicest touch is the wide selection of books available - in the lobby AND in the rooms. There are some in just about every language I could see....
Worth the short walks and good value for money - especially when you consider the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We appreciate that you took the time to write your feedback. I am very glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will come back soon again.

Best Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    300
    75
    17
    10
See reviews for
59
246
31
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hasselt
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I spent two nights in the Mornington Stockholm. The location is very good and on walking distance from the city centre and several bars and restaurants nearby.
The hotel staff (reception, bar, breakfast, ...) was very friendly.
I had a room on the 6th floor and it was rather small. However, for two night stay for business it was acceptable.
Positive is the good wireless connection.
I would recommand the Mornington to friends for short city trips or business trips.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your review. We are very grateful for your comments.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you soon again.

Kind Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I stayed in room 626, a single room. It was a little small, but as I'm fairly petite I had no issues. Bed was comfortable. Very comfortable pillows! Initial look on the shower made me a bit disappointed because there's no ledge from keeping the water from going out on the rest of the floor, and a loose curtain; BUT it was surprisingly very good! Water pressure and temperature was Perfect, big plus. Apparently it was supposed to be a little box with earplugs on the desk, but I picked up the box and it was empty. I threw it away, but over the next three days a new packet was not put in my room. Trash was not emptied one of the days even though there was trash in the bin. That's a bit sloppy by the cleaning staff in my opinion. Didn't eat breakfast, but heard from my colleagues it was nice. Staff was helpful when I checked in/out. Hotel was close to the city centre, we walked everywhere during our stay. Free wifi with excellent reception, which is very much needed when travelling on business. Good overall!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. All feedback are good for us, it is thanks to your comments we can be better. I am very thankful for your kind words about the front desk staff, I am very proud of the them.

We hope you will visit us next time you are in Stockholm.
Best Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The hotel is well situated close to subway and buses. The hotel is in good conditions. There is an excellent health club within in the hotel. But the health club are not free for all rooms. When you book the hotel is it very hard to understand that the health club not are free.

The breakfast buffet is good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Thomas,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Thanks to your feedback we can improve our service.

We hope to see you soon again.
Kind Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The hotel is situated in a fairly central place in Stockholm and is about 300 meters from a subway station. It is within walking distance from restaurants and leisure areas.
Unfortunately when we checked into our room which lacked any form of closet, we were struck by an unpleasant smell from the bathroom. It turned out that the cleaning personnel had left the trash bin full from previous occupants. The reception responded immediately by moving us to another room (they called it upgrade) which was slightly larger than the previous one, had a clothes hanger and had a pleasant smell. Other than the lack of storage space, the room was good, comfortable, quiet and functional.
Breakfast was rich, dining room somewhat small and crowded. Overall OK.
We had a fairly good price, though for the same price we had a room twice the size and with far better amenities in the Netherlands.
For visiting and touring Stockholm, since one doesn't spend much time in the room, this hotel is definitely a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. All comments are good for us to improve our service.

I hope you will choose us next time you are in Stockholm.
Best Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Loved our stay in the Mornington hotel on Nybrogatan 53, great situation, about 5 min walk to the harbour area and plenty of restaurants. Breakfast was brilliant, plenty of choice to set you up for the day. The room was good not massive but well designed and super power shower. We would definitely return. Also having a fridge in the room was great and tea/ coffee facilities. Girls the front desk were very helpful too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Julie,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very proud of the staff at the front desk.

We hope to see you soon again.
Kind Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, az
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in early July and enjoyed it quite a bit. The hotel is located in a residential area, but within easy walking distance to the touristy areas. Public transportation options are within easy walking distance. There is also a grocery store about a block from the hotel and a Saluhalle where you can get prepared food from a number of different vendors. The rooms are compact, but featured a small desk and sitting area. The hotel provides wide selection of choices for breakfast. The staff was friendly and informative.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your kind review.

We hope you will visit us next time you are in Stockholm.
Best Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mornington Hotel Stockholm City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mornington Hotel Stockholm City

Address: Nybrogatan 53 | Box 5197, Stockholm 102 44, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Östermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#30 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#31 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#36 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mornington Hotel Stockholm City 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City is a four-star hotel situated in the quiet area of Ostermalm, right in the city centre. You're sure to feel right at home browsing the 4,000 volumes in our library available to both guests and visitors. Relax with a book in the lobby, enjoy a massage in the Health Club or end an eventful day with a delicious dinner in our friendly restaurant offering all the flavours of the traditional Swedish kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mornington Hotel Stockholm City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mornington Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.