We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with excellent health club” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mornington Hotel Stockholm City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mornington Hotel Stockholm City to your Saves list
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nybrogatan 53 | Box 5197, Stockholm 102 44, Sweden (Östermalm)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 157 Hotels in Stockholm
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good hotel with excellent health club”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The hotel is well situated close to subway and buses. The hotel is in good conditions. There is an excellent health club within in the hotel. But the health club are not free for all rooms. When you book the hotel is it very hard to understand that the health club not are free.

The breakfast buffet is good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Thomas,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Thanks to your feedback we can improve our service.

We hope to see you soon again.
Kind Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    305
    76
    19
    11
See reviews for
60
252
31
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The hotel is situated in a fairly central place in Stockholm and is about 300 meters from a subway station. It is within walking distance from restaurants and leisure areas.
Unfortunately when we checked into our room which lacked any form of closet, we were struck by an unpleasant smell from the bathroom. It turned out that the cleaning personnel had left the trash bin full from previous occupants. The reception responded immediately by moving us to another room (they called it upgrade) which was slightly larger than the previous one, had a clothes hanger and had a pleasant smell. Other than the lack of storage space, the room was good, comfortable, quiet and functional.
Breakfast was rich, dining room somewhat small and crowded. Overall OK.
We had a fairly good price, though for the same price we had a room twice the size and with far better amenities in the Netherlands.
For visiting and touring Stockholm, since one doesn't spend much time in the room, this hotel is definitely a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. All comments are good for us to improve our service.

I hope you will choose us next time you are in Stockholm.
Best Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Loved our stay in the Mornington hotel on Nybrogatan 53, great situation, about 5 min walk to the harbour area and plenty of restaurants. Breakfast was brilliant, plenty of choice to set you up for the day. The room was good not massive but well designed and super power shower. We would definitely return. Also having a fridge in the room was great and tea/ coffee facilities. Girls the front desk were very helpful too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Julie,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very proud of the staff at the front desk.

We hope to see you soon again.
Kind Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, az
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in early July and enjoyed it quite a bit. The hotel is located in a residential area, but within easy walking distance to the touristy areas. Public transportation options are within easy walking distance. There is also a grocery store about a block from the hotel and a Saluhalle where you can get prepared food from a number of different vendors. The rooms are compact, but featured a small desk and sitting area. The hotel provides wide selection of choices for breakfast. The staff was friendly and informative.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your kind review.

We hope you will visit us next time you are in Stockholm.
Best Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Great location, close enough to walk to Central Stockholm, very close to train to Central station and market hall (saluhall) where you could buy fresh foods and pre prepared meals that could be heated up. Compared to places in Oslo and Copenhagen, extremely god value. Breakfast fantastic and had lift,cooling and bar area. Rooms may have been a little small but more than compensated for by the pluses. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so thankful you took your time to leave your feedback.

We hope to see you soon again.
Best Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varberg, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I really like this hotel, the lobby is great with all the books and the nice friendly feeling. Bookshelf in room is a plus, everything nice, clean and fresh. Not very big rooms but they have all I need. Job meetings in lobby or restaurant is nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Ulrika,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am very glad you have our hotel as your favorite one.

We hope to see you soon again.
Kind Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here one night before heading to Northern Sweden. We originally picked this place for the location, decent reviews and price. We also booked because our stay included a free dinner at the downstairs restaurant and free breakfast. The hotel appeared cozy and charming to me. There were books everywhere (the lobby, reception, and in the room) giving it a slight sophistication. The room was a standand European size, no complaints there, and I thought the bathroom was a good size, too. There were robes in the room, along with your standard shampoo, soaps, and toothbrush. The restaurant downstairs was pretty busy when we first attempted to grab a table, so we got a drink from the bar and sat and enjoyed each others company until they had room for us. There were lots of open tables, but I think they were limited by how many staff members were working. We didn't have a choice on our entree, the included meal was the chefs daily special, which was goulash. I was hoping for something more Swedish, and I wasn't impressed with the goulash, but it was included in the package and food is expensive here, so I wasn't necessarily disappointed. The breakfast the next day was more than adequate. There was a wide Swedish selection with plenty of hot and cold options.

While this place isn't luxurious, its a modest stay that I was more than pleased with. Our room was clean, had no smells, and was very close to public transportation and the rest of Stockholm. While I would like to try other hotel options, I wouldn't mind staying here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again next time you are in Stockholm.
Kind Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mornington Hotel Stockholm City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mornington Hotel Stockholm City

Address: Nybrogatan 53 | Box 5197, Stockholm 102 44, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Östermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#35 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#37 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#37 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mornington Hotel Stockholm City 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City is a four-star hotel situated in the quiet area of Ostermalm, right in the city centre. You're sure to feel right at home browsing the 4,000 volumes in our library available to both guests and visitors. Relax with a book in the lobby, enjoy a massage in the Health Club or end an eventful day with a delicious dinner in our friendly restaurant offering all the flavours of the traditional Swedish kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mornington Hotel Stockholm City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mornington Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.