We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but tiny rooms with no storage” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mornington Hotel Stockholm City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mornington Hotel Stockholm City to your Saves list
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nybrogatan 53 | Box 5197, Stockholm 102 44, Sweden (Östermalm)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #30 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Sydney
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great location but tiny rooms with no storage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We arrived in Stockholm after a 30 hour flight and thought we'd see if we could check in an hour early. No can do. Had forgotten about the very direct nature of Swedes and before we could even ask for early check in were told "you an leave your bags in the cellar - come back in an hour". That aside, once back and having lugged bags up to reception again check in was prompt.
Some points. Rooms are very small. There was a coat rack but that's the only storage. The only place to place the luggage without tripping over it was on the fold out sofa.
Other than that room was warm and cosy. The view wasn't the best, but it was peaceful looking at the snow drifting down onto the back of some other building, also it was quiet. We checked out the gym and it had a gerat selection. Breakfast was fantastic and offered delicioud gluten free crisp breads. Would have appreciated if they had let us know on check in that breakfast was included.I know it almost always is in Swedish hotels, but it isn't that common overseas. The location was wonderful - within walking distance of Ostermalmstorg subway and indoor gourmet food markets. I would definitely stay here again for the location and convenience, a bit more peace and quiet than in the CBD and the charming upmarket Ostermalm area with lot's of restaurants and shops. Besides - everything's walking distance in Sthlm anyway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am thankful you took the time to leave your review. Everyday we try to improve our service, all comments are helpful for us.

We hope to have you as a guest soon again.
Have a nice summer!

Best Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    271
    67
    15
    9
See reviews for
55
228
29
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Have just returned from a great weekend in Stockholm - hotel was was perfect for our needs. We were there the mid-summer weekend and yes the breakfast was a bit chaotic but the food was fine. People probably just need to be a bit more relaxed and realise it could be a crush a peak times. Our room was very well equipped and certainly large enough for our needs. All in all a good hotel and location. Mrs F Bromley

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Mrs F Bromley,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you next time you are in Stockholm.
Have a nice summer!

Best Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

A bit unorganized regarding the breakfast. We stayed at the hotel during Easter and there were a lot of visitors. A bit crowded trying to get breakfast.

There was also some type of renovation/building on the next door building, since the AC wasn't all that good we had to have the window open - the builders started at 6-7 in the morning..

Staff was nice.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel, but try to get a room that isn't facing the "building site".

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the other side of the "building site".
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Maggie,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you took you time to leave your comments. We are constantly working to improve our service and thanks to you we can continue our work.

We hope to see you soon again.
Have a nice summer!

Best Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. 20 mins walk from Arlanda express. Close to everything. Room was smallish but very well organised. Really good shower. There was a good selection for breakfast. Lobby and lobby bar great to hang around and get some work done. Unfortunately did not have time to check out the leisure facilities. Ticks every box for a business or leisure trip. The 5 stars are for the efficient and very friendly staff - thanks for the bbq glaze on check out. Will stay here again when next in Stockholm

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We looking forward to your next visit.

We wish you a nice summer!
Kind Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Meets the need, bit furher from the centre than day before's hotel (fully booked for the last night of my need to be in Stockholm).

Ate in using "with room voucher" that only covered the most basic item on the menu - which I didn't fancy so "fully inclusive" wasn't really an accurate claim. Restaurant & food met needs (friendly service - which is always a bonus after a wearying day but cleary dependant on the server). Prices about Stockholm average (EG £6 a glass of beer £20 for Mackeral Salad - which was on the menu inaccurately as "Pike-Perch").

Wifi worked satisfactorily throughout hotel and seperate codes provided on checking for each needful devices

Breakfast busy but adequate - probably being a bit earlier would have helped.

Shower room functional - Proper soap instead of liquid lux always gets my vote!

Perfectly adequate business stay base

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Simon,

I am glad you took the time to leave your review. All comments are good for us to improve our service.

We hope to see you next time you are in Stockholm.
Have a nice summer!

Best Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochem
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great hotel for a city trip. Near the centre of Stockholm. Walking distance of the harbour,metro, busses and bicycles. Nice personnel, great breakfast, clean rooms. Had a great stay in Stockholm. Abba museum, Skansen, Stadhusset, Wedding of princess Madeleine, a lot of musea.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you for leaving your review.

We hope you will visit us next time you are in Stockholm.
Have a nice summer!

Kind Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Location: First time in Stockholm and Mornington Hotel certainly provided us with a very good base for exploring the city. From the hotel to Gamla Stan is a leisurely 20-30 mins walk which took in many of the main sights of Stockholm. The central station, around which there are plenty of shops and restaurants, is probably about 15 mins walk from the hotel. The area around the hotel itself is quiet enough but with a number of cafes and restaurants nearby - in fact on our last night we had an amazing dinner in a restaurant which is right across the street from the hotel - unfortunately can't remember the name!

Room: We stayed in the standard room which I have to say is very small. The bathroom is also tiny - you can probably touch all the walls if you stand in the middle and stretch out your arms. Having said that, this doesn't bother us at all since we were only there to sleep. The bed was very comfortable, we had really good sleep the entire stay. The room was also very clean. On weekends the area outside can be a bit noisy but not unbearably so.
The only bad point about the room is we have free WiFi included in the rate, for which you have to key in login details. Trouble is, it keeps cutting off literally every couple of minutes so you have to input the login details a million times which can get really annoying.

Service: Excellent. Super friendly and helpful receptionists and breakfast room staff.

Food: Buffet breakfast was included in our rate and it was your standard Swedish breakfast. Good selection of cold cuts, breads, a couple of hot food items such as sausages, eggs, bacon and Swedish pancakes. Some fresh fruits. Overall we thought it was very good and tasty.

Overall, really great hotel in Stockholm and would recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very proud of the hotel staff, they makes you feel almost like home.

Thank you for the feedback regarding the WiFi, we are working on a solution for the login details.

I wish you a nice summer and hope to see you soon again.
Best Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mornington Hotel Stockholm City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mornington Hotel Stockholm City

Address: Nybrogatan 53 | Box 5197, Stockholm 102 44, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Östermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#19 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#22 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#27 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mornington Hotel Stockholm City 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City is a four-star hotel situated in the quiet area of Ostermalm, right in the city centre. You're sure to feel right at home browsing the 4,000 volumes in our library available to both guests and visitors. Relax with a book in the lobby, enjoy a massage in the Health Club or end an eventful day with a delicious dinner in our friendly restaurant offering all the flavours of the traditional Swedish kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mornington Hotel Stockholm City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mornington Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.