We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny rooms, lacking storage space, shower a joke” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mornington Hotel Stockholm City

Save Saved
You added Mornington Hotel Stockholm City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nybrogatan 53 | Box 5197, Stockholm 102 44, Sweden (Östermalm)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 160 hotels in Stockholm
devon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Tiny rooms, lacking storage space, shower a joke”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I was booked into ths hotel on a business trip for three nights. The staff were friendly enough and the hotel was very nicely presented in the public areas. However, the room I had (as with many of the rooms) was tiny. About two widths of the bed by about 4 metres. There were no drawers to store documents, valuables, clothes etc. and no bed side tables; there were just six coat hangers on a rail. It really was living out of a suitcase laid on the floor. The bathroom was nicely decorated and tiled, but very poorly designed. The shower was not isolated from the rest of the room, and the glass panel and curtain did not reach the floor or the walls. Consequently, water went absolutely everywhere, even over the lip of the door frame and into the bedroom area. I complained to the staff who were sympathetic and realised it was a poor design and overall layout. They offered me a larger room for the last night but I didn't really have time to pack up and move. I would have given the hotel a 3 star rating, but on the mornng of my departure my wake up call did not happen (it was written down clearly by staff at reception). It was a real rush in the end getting to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room, if one exists. Wifi tickets from the hotel also work at the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to leave a review. All comments are good for us to improve our service. I will talk to my collegues regarding your feedback and I hope we will find some solutions.

We would like to have you as a guest next time you are in Stockholm and have another chance to make you satisfied. I would like to get in touch with you, could you please Email me at jenny.henriksson@mornington.se

Kind Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    255
    66
    14
    8
See reviews for
46
195
23
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sutherlin, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Mornington is centrally located with easy rail access. The hotel well-appointed to suit American tastes, a relative rarity in much of Scandanavia. It is a bit of a walk to the historic district, but there are good running trails just down the street along Strandvagan that are right on the water. The hotel restaurant is good, but there are plenty of other restaurants within easy walking distance as well. Reliable internet and cab service for the business traveler.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Scott,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I am glad you took your time to leave your comments here.

We hope to see you soon again.
Kind Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mother Earth
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Hotel staff were very helpful and they printed off our boarding passes for us. There is a large cathedral and amazing food court on the same street as the hotel as well as a good supermarket. It will take you around 20 to 25 mins to walk to Gamla Stan so location is good and you are a 10 minute walk to the marina/park.

We went for a buffet lunch at a middle eastern restaurant. I think it was called Al-Medinha and it was a very good meal. There are lots of Buffet places to eat, a lot of Chinese buffets.

The hotel itself has a good breakfast and and you are not far from the bus station. All in all I would highly recommend this hotel and I loved Stockholm.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again next time you are in Stockholm.
Best Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Great location only one stop from central station on the metro.All the major sights are within walking distance
Breakfast was excellent so much choice.Room was very stylish and immaculate.I accidentally left a small mark on the bedding from my case and it was changed without even requesting it..
Amazing market 2 minutes away and close to a supermarket for all your needs.
We plan to visit again and would not hesitate to book this Hotel

Room Tip: We were on the seventh floor but the lift was excellent and the views were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Peter,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your nice review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you soon again, remember to ask for a room on the top floor so you can enjoy the view once again. During the summer we have special rates, please visit our website for the best offers.

Kind Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I've stayed in the Mornington hotel for couple of days with my love. It is great located in city centre. Very comfortable rooms and freshly welcoming staff at the receptions and in the hotel restaurant. You can really feel as at home. Very good breakfast with everything you could imagine. I will definitely stay here again soon. I'm looking forward.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Ondrej,

Thank you for your kind review. I am glad you took your time to leave your feedback.
I am very proud of the staff of the whole hotel that gives you a friendly stay with us.

We are looking forward to see you here, at your second home, again soon.

Kind Regard
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brokind
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The books lining the walls throughout the hotel, in the lobby as well in the rooms are a great idea that makes a nice atmosphere. Efficient check in and out by friendly staff. Very, very good breakfast with pretty much everything you could wish for including Swedish pancakes with homemade jam. This is a 4+ star hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Christer,

Thank you for your nice review, I am glad you took your time to leave your feedback.

We hope to see you here again soon. The breakfast is still as great as the last time you visited us.

Best Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed in the Mornington hotel few times on business. The hotel has good amenities and good gym but there is some room for improvements by just paying attention on small details, such as paint finishing etc.

The hotel rooms are not big but not too small either and sometimes you may hear the trucks outside in the morning, especially if your room is facing the alley.

Breakfast is better than average with hot and cold plates.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave you review. I am glad for all the comments we get, it will help us to improve our service.

I hope you will come back to us soon again.

Best Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mornington Hotel Stockholm City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mornington Hotel Stockholm City

Address: Nybrogatan 53 | Box 5197, Stockholm 102 44, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm > Östermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#17 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#22 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#27 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mornington Hotel Stockholm City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City is a four-star hotel situated in the quiet area of Ostermalm, right in the city centre. You're sure to feel right at home browsing the 4,000 volumes in our library available to both guests and visitors. Relax with a book in the lobby, enjoy a massage in the Health Club or end an eventful day with a delicious dinner in our friendly restaurant offering all the flavours of the traditional Swedish kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mornington Hotel Stockholm City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mornington Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.