We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hellstens Malmgard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hellstens Malmgard to your Saves list
Hotel Hellstens Malmgard
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Brannkyrkagatan 110, Stockholm 11727, Sweden (Södermalm)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved our stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel felt like a very nice and cozy home away from home! It's located right by a subway station on a quiet street - perfect for us. Our bed was very comfortable and the bathroom looked pretty cool. Nicely sized tv and free wifi was great. Breakfast was excellent, we enjoyed the fresh rolls and croissants every morning. There were of good places to eat within walking distance of the hotel too (Sushi Bar Sapporo was my favorite). The staff was very sweet and helpful as well. If we ever return to Stockholm, this is where we'll be staying!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellstens Malmgard, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking your time to write this review, what a lovely one to receive.
We’re so glad that you felt Hellstens Malmgård to be “home away from home”- that is exactly what we want our guests to feel like!

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to us again if you come back to Stockholm.

Kind regards,
Per Hellsten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    84
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
17
103
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

nice small hotel in the middle of södermalm, friendly and helpful stuff, good breakfast, had one of the smaller rooms for a special price -> for a few days ok, but I wouldn´t recommend it for longer stays, the bathroom was modern and clean, the bed was a bit to small, easy to reach by public transport

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellstens Malmgard, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Christin,

Thank you for taking your time to write this review about your stay, we appreciate to get feedback from our guests.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed the friendly staff, good breakfast and modern bathroom.
You are always welcome to stay with us again the next time you are in Stockholm.

Kind Regards,
Per Hellsten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Hellstens Malmgård - 18th century building, stylishly renovated and furnished with antique furniture, antique household items. Meets the stated 3 *. The hotel is located in the district of Södermalm. There are good free Wi-Fi. The nearest metro station Zinkensdamm - 10 minutes on the road and you are in the old quarter of Stockholm's Old Town. But if you like walking, it's nice to walk along the streets or on the waterfront, across the bridge, and also to be in the Old City.
Our two rooms were small but cozy. Especially we liked the panoramic glass door, window, overlooking the quiet courtyard. There, my daughter and I were building a snowman! Bathroom combined (shower + wc). For breakfast - a buffet in the dining room, converted from the former cellar with brick vaulted ceiling.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We've just returned to the UK after spending two nights at this rather unique hotel, wishing it had been longer. The building is very attractive and so different from the usual standard accommodation on offer in Stockholm that it feels immediately welcoming, and stepping out into the courtyard with it's fine central tree is so much better than exiting onto a street. We stayed in the recently refurbished north wing which has been decorated in a sympathetic way but with a quirky twist like the rest of the hotel. The room was warm ( in a very cold snap ) and comfortable with quite a lot of space available, but I believe all the rooms differ in this respect, so if you want space you need to ask for it when you book. The breakfast, served in the cellar in winter, was good and plentiful. I would imagine that the summer outdoor service would be a treat. The staff were very pleasant and helpful at all times. The location is very good with a metro nearby ( I would recommend the day pass as good value ) and restaurants of a wide variety of price and type within a short walk.
Prices I suppose vary but I would say that we paid about a third less than for equivalent but less interesting and satisfactory hotels in Stockholm. we had thought we wouldn't be returning to Sweden but now quite like the thought of a summer visit to this lovely little hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellstens Malmgard, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Algreco55,

Thank you for writing this review, what a nice one to receive!

I am so glad to read that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our convenient location, unique rooms, good breakfast and helpful staff.
Stockholm and Hellstens Malmgård is indeed lovely in summer, I am sure that you would like it. We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to us again!

Kind Regards,
Per Hellsten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed over New Year's at the hotel. The rooms are very unique and cozy, I only found them a bit cold. I slept great in the bed. The hotel staff was very friendly and the breakfast was ok. The hotel is located in Soendermalm, with shops and restaurants in walking distance. There's also a metro very close by and in a couple of stops you are in the center.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel at an old building. Price is reasonable, breakfast is good and room comfortable. Hotel has a good location at Södermalm, a lot of restaurants and shops within a walking distance. Closest metro station about 400 m.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Overall a nice little hotel.

We were staying as we were exhibiting at an event at the nearby Munchenbrygget conference centre.

Pros

Smart Rooms,
Flat Screen TV (TV channels show US shows in English with Subtitles so you can still watch them)
Great Breakfast Servery
Secure
Helpful Staff
Some restaurants not too far away
close to metro
great price

Cons
Not as clean as It could be
Taps are sensored so only flow when your hands are under them (which is a pian when shaving or brushing teeth)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hellstens Malmgard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hellstens Malmgard

Address: Brannkyrkagatan 110, Stockholm 11727, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hellstens Malmgard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its 52 rooms in a building from 1770, breakfast room in a brick vault in the basement, and some public rooms on the first floor, this leaves a hotel experience that is unique to Stockholm and perhaps the world. Here you can stay, gather and experience Stockholm at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hellstens Malmgard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hellstens Malmgard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.