We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the few museums in Stockholm I return to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stockholm Transport Museum (Sparvagsmuseet)

Stockholm Transport Museum (Sparvagsmuseet)
Tegelviksgatan 22, Stockholm 116 41, Sweden
08-686 1760
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 219 things to do in Stockholm
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of the few museums in Stockholm I return to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

As frequent readers of my reviews will know, I used to be a licensed tourist guide, and am quite fussy when it comes to museums. This is, however, one of the best museums in Stockholm. I return at least once a year, and the only one that can be compared to it is the London Transport Museum (LTM is far better, but still). It's cheap, and well worth the trip off the beaten path in Stockholm!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    18
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Top Contributor
370 reviews 370 reviews
230 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“Trams and buses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is it if you like local transport in a city over the years. The collection of old buses, trams and underground coaches is comprehensive. It's situated on Södermalm which is always a nice place to stroll. You can enter most of the buses and trams etc which makes it great for kids.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very average!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Myself & my Partner visited the Museum while in Stockholm. Was about a 10/15 min walk from our Hotel - was quite a nice walk. Was cheap to get in the Museum - but was not as good as i thought it would be. In 1 hour you'd seen it all, including the Toy Museum that was included in the price. It is good for the price you pay, but wasn't overly impressed. There is quite a bit for Children to do though.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Perfect for a trip with the kids.....!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I went there with my 2 and a half yr old son and he had a blast. The entry fee is quite reasonable and includes entry to the toy museum inside. Its very quiet in the day but starts filling in after lunch. There are a lot of buses and trains to climb into and pretend you are travelling in them. There is a simulator tram, train and bus for the little ones to drive( or pretend they are driving. My son loved the Brio play area where they have a huge table full of toytracks to assemble and toytrains to drive. The museum has a small train that takes a small round of the museum. The cafe is good and neat. Must visit with small kids.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernFinland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was the first time I visited the place and did not have very high expectations, we went there because it is in the same building as the toy museum. I have three girls who I thought might not be as into busses and trains as boys, but they fell in love with the place! They thought it was much better than toy museum. It was a weekday, so the place was not crowded, they could climb on the vehicles, drive a T-bana and a bus, just simply enjoy themselves. The time just flew by. And the cafe is very reasonably priced. Really worth seeing!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stockholm Transport Museum (Sparvagsmuseet) also viewed

 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Stockholm Transport Museum (Sparvagsmuseet)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stockholm Transport Museum (Sparvagsmuseet), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.