We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See all of Sweden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skansen Open-Air Museum

Skansen Open-Air Museum
Djurgarden 49-51, Stockholm 115 93, Sweden
+46 (0)8 4428000
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Skansen Open-Air Museum like an insider
Top Rated
$39*
and up
City Sightseeing Stockholm Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #9 of 219 things to do in Stockholm
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Skansen is the world's first open-air museum, founded in 1891. Here you can stroll through five centuries of Swedish history, from north to south, with a real sense of the past all around the historical buildings and dwellings, peopled by characters in period dress. Living history over 150 dwellings and other buildings from all over Sweden have been dismantled and reassembled in an area of 300 000 m2 at Skansen. You can travel back in time and meet people from the past. On summer evenings you can also come along and watch traditional Swedish folk dancing! Skansen Zoo at Skansen you will find both domestic and wild Nordic animals such as bears, wolves and lynx. Don't miss our guided tours in English during the summer and in December. Our newly-opened Children's Zoo gives youngsters the opportunity to meet a variety of interesting animals.Added attractions Skansen hold a traditional celebrations to mark occasions such as Walpurg is Night, Midsummer and Christmas. Enjoy a delicious meal in one of the restaurants with breathtaking views over Stockholm. And don't miss our Museum shop, selling traditional handicrafts and Swedish design products.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Heidelberg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“See all of Sweden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

we saw a lot of sweeden in this little area of the "museum". its a park with nordish animals, old houses, people who show their culture and much more. I think the best was the view over stockholm city which you had when you walked all up the hill. because skansen is on a hill.
you should really go there ... i loved it

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,783
    974
    373
    98
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Highland, Maryland
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Such a Cool Outdoor history museum/zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Skansen is so cool with historic structures from as many as 500 years ago, collected and brought to this compact park, combined with a zoo. C'mon my kids love it and you will too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“All Of Sweden in One Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Take the day. No really, you should take the day here. The "museum" is more like an adventure park, but of Swedish pastoral life. The buildings are all original and historic, they were dismantled from the areas they represent and reconstructed in a setting created for them. There are orchards, kitchen gardens, windmills, glassmakers and blacksmiths. The workers in the park are dressed in traditional Swedish dress of the last few hundred years and provide demonstrations of life in the 1600's up to the 1900's. I watched some rope making, glassmaking and cheesemaking in my wanderings through the park.
There is even a zoo, incorporating native Scandinavian animals as well as exotic species. The reindeer smelled pretty authentic to me.
The buildings with demonstrations closed too early for me (again) at 5 pm, but the park was open up to 9 pm. Since there was a summer concert that night, I was told they wouldn't close until 11pm...buuuut with walking for 4 hours, I was done.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice but nothing special!very ineesting for children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

the museum was pretty, but actually I don't thing that is a good idea to spend there a lot of time, if you have to choose between all the stockholm museums :)
The good thing is that there u can find a zoo, a panoramic areea, and a museum in the same time!
In any case, it is very well kept and you can feel a nice atmosphear in the air..sometimes you don't remember in what era u are! Don't mis the bakery and the potato and elk roll:)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun and Historic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

You could spend a whole day at Skansen. We only had a few hours but both of us really enjoyed our time. The tour guides in the various houses and business were great. A fun time for all the family.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skansen Open-Air Museum also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Skansen Open-Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skansen Open-Air Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.