We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Impressive Palace of Swedish Aristocracy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palace

Royal Palace
111 30 | Riddarholmen, Stockholm, Sweden
+46 8 402 60 00
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Royal Palace like an insider
Top Rated
$39*
and up
City Sightseeing Stockholm Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #29 of 219 things to do in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The changing of the guard ceremony has been a daily tradition since 1523.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Impressive Palace of Swedish Aristocracy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Of all the many palaces and castles we've visited this was on of the most impressive. First of all the size of the premises is enormous and deserves several hours to absorb. The presentation and range of rooms and their contents is truly staggering. From the Treasury to the royal apartments the presentation and condition of displays and furnishings is magnificent. I'd highly recommend a visit while in Stockholm.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    594
    255
    40
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Llandyssil UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Well organised and insight into”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

the history and traditions of Sweden's past and present.
We were able to go at our own pace, leisurely enjoying the rooms and more official areas.
It wasn't packed at the time and so that helped us to see more of everything without feeling cramped.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Lovely setting and the rooms are beautiful. Good gift shop with very friendly staff. Only downside was a charge for the toilets of £1!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A must-go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

The royal palace is more impressive than I initially thought. Missed the guided tour which was a pity. Suggest others to check timing of guided tours in planning when to go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
108 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Impressive castle for such a small country. We kept asking ourselves how they could afford to pay for all this display of finery, with such a small population (presumably) to draw from. Sure, it's not Versailles (although some of it was inspired by Versailles), but it's still a beautiful bit of pomp and grandeur. But to me, the highlight of this ticket trio was the treasury.

While not large, the items on display were just exquisite workmanship. Some of them were made in the 16th century, and it never ceases to amaze me how craftsmen could do such delicate and fine work with what they must have had to work with in those days. Unlike the treasury in other museums (Tower of London, Munich, etc) , you were close enough that you could really see the masterful work.

The museum under the castle, although creatively and attractively laid out, kind of came acrost as filler to justify the ticket prices, but I did pick up a few details on medieval building techniques that I had read about before, but that hadn't clicked til I saw their displays, so it was worth the visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Palace also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Royal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.