We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must include this” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stockholm Cathedral

Stockholm Cathedral
Trangsund 1 | Gamla Stan, Stockholm 111 29, Sweden (Södermalm)
+ 46 8 723 30 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 219 things to do in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Dating back to the 13th century, this church has a distinct character and history. It is the oldest in the Old Town and is home to several relics as well as an impressive statue of Saint George fighting the Dragon. Storkyrkan can pique almost anyone's curiosity, not just the history buff's.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
122 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“You must include this”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Don't be put off by the outside of the cathedral - it's very plain. Inside is totally different. There's so much to see - a huge sculpture of George and the dragon, a beautifully carved pulpit, the stained glass windows and much more.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    176
    67
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
151 attraction reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were very impressed with our visit to the cathedral. There is a small admission charge but it is well worth the price. This is a historic treasure in Stockholm and should not be missed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
513 reviews 513 reviews
310 attraction reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
“A VERY BEAUTIFUL CHURCH WITH NICE COLOURS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stockholm Cathedral with the impressive St.George & the Dragon sculpture, is located at Gamla Stan ,the old town of Stockholm and in the yard of Royale palace . So is good to compine to see both as are really interesting.For both you have to pay fees.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
facebook
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fascinated by all the sculptures.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Me, my husband and our friend. Traveling 27th April, 2013

I love to spend time here after a long walk. Best pause for my mind.
the St George and the Dragon sculpture (1489), the legendary Vädersoltavlan (1535) and Lena Lervik’s sculpture ”Joseph and Mary” (2002)
So beautiful and impress me.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Enjoyed looking at the ornate Royal pews,the unique Medieval St.George & the Dragon sculpture and beautiful stained glass.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stockholm Cathedral also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Stockholm Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stockholm Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.