We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel hotel of Scandinavia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sodra Blasieholmshamnen 8, Stockholm 103 27, Sweden (Norrmalm)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Jewel hotel of Scandinavia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Idyllic location. Breathtaking views from hotel. If possible, get a room with a city view. We were upgraded to one on Amex platinum. The service is amazing. One is welcomed graciously every time one enters the hotel. Only criticism is that concierges are on average, less informed than one would expect at this level if hotel.

Room Tip: Get room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear bbmf4

Thank you for the positive comments in your review, feedback has been passed onto our Head Concierge as well as our Front Office team.

Warm regards
Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    213
    87
    38
    19
See reviews for
118
393
70
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

This is is a famous hotel, hosts royalty, Nobel peace prize winners and the like. Excellent service, great restaurant (Mathias Dahlgren), lovely public areas, and a beautiful spa and fitness centre (which only opened at 8 am this morning, despite the sun rising at about 330am...).

I had unfortunately booked a single room, and this was not only seriously in need of renovation/modernisation, really unlike the room pics on the hotel website and quite horrible, it was also exceptionally small, I could not even open my suitcase and answer the door! The bed area could really only accommodate a 3/4 bed, when they say single, they mean it.

Also, they let 12 year old girls into the men's changing room (when they are with their fathers) for the fitness centre/spa, despite the fact there is a women's changing room and the swimming pool, steam room etc is a public area, open to both genders. Not sure why this should be allowed?

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Gerhard13071964
Thank you for taking the time to post your balanced review on Trip Advisor. Naturally we were happy to read the positives however we are truly sorry that you felt the website pictures were not representative of your room. It is not our intention to mislead anyone as we believe that in the long run this will only lead to guests being disappointed with our product. We do not have a picture of every room but I would say that we try to be representative with our picture choice. There is a minimum of 3 pictures per room category showing the various styles and decorations and a small description that specifically details the approximate size of the room.
Warm regards
Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This hotel is truly 5 star! Across from the palace we had a beautiful view. Staff very professional and bend over backwards for all guests!
My boyfriend and I enjoyed the atmosphere in the bar of the hotel, drinks were amazing!
Bed was very comfortable, had a restful sleep and overall loved everything about this hotel, not one negative thing to say from the boyfriend or I.
Recommend to all travelers!

Room Tip: Superior room was great, located on a higher floor, no complaints and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Tab M

Such kind words thank you, we are delighted that The Grand is one of your favourite hotels and that you found the beds to be so comfortable.

Warm regards
Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I stayed one night on a last-minute booking at the hotel in late May. First - the location is amazing, right across from the palace and within a few minute walk of old town, the museums, and Östermalm for shopping. The staff / service was great, and the property is impressive. However the room was small, and more importantly the bed was well below what I was expecting given the type of hotel / price range.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Willisbrew

We were happy to read all your positive comments but were sorry to see that the bed in your room did not meet your expectations.

Warm regards
Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominican Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We really could not find any faults with this great hotel, fantastic staff, lovely atmosphere, gorgeous breakfast , most comfortable bed and of course perfect location. We would certainly hope to make a return visit.

Room Tip: You really should stay in a room overlooking the waterfront. What a joy to have that view early in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Katiedalybelfield

Thank you for the wonderful comments, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I stayed for one night in May 2014. As I arrived in front of the hotel usual 5 stars service with one bellman opening the door the other one taking my suitcase to the front desk. Check in took 30 seconds. The bar has a lively atmosphere, cocktails are best in class. I had a superior room, furniture is a bit outdated but room was very spacious. Bathroom had a nice art deco feel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Reviewer 269

It was great that you managed to experience so much of the hotel in your short time with us. We also appreciate the positive comments regarding the service.

Warm regards
Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia, Peru
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

LOCATION: A taxi from Stockholm Arlanda Airport takes 30 minutes and costs SEK 520. Ask the hotel concierge for a cheaper taxi ride from the hotel to the airport, SEK 470. Centrally located. A short walking distance from the hotel to the Old Town/Gamla Stan and other touristic sites.

HOTEL: Courteous, efficient front desk staff and concierge. The bell staff is especially superb. Clean, generous size room. Good sound proof windows. Old beds, but fairly comfortable. Good duvet, but the duvet cover is partly ripped, (see picture for detail). Not what one would expect from a hotel that plays the host to the Noble Prize laureates. Good pillows. Good heater. Good size bathroom. Very good shower with powerful shower water pressure. Free in-room WIFI. Overall a very good hotel, with or without the partial ripped duvet cover.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear HKasyouare

Thank you for your positive review, I am sorry to hear that one of the duvet covers in your room was damaged; our housekeeping and laundry department have been informed.

Warm regards
Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Sodra Blasieholmshamnen 8, Stockholm 103 27, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#5 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#10 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its 1874 opening, Grand Hotel Stockholm has been one of Sweden' s leading hotels. Royalty, heads of state, celebrities and Nobel laureates make themselves at home in refined waterfront surroundings near the Royal Palace. Old Town, Stockholm City Hall, Vasa Museum, Millesgarden and the Museum of National Antiquities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Grand Hotel
Intercontinental Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.