We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back next year, and hopefully before!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sodra Blasieholmshamnen 8, Stockholm 103 27, Sweden (Norrmalm)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 157 Hotels in Stockholm
Sigtuna, Sweden
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Will be back next year, and hopefully before!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I booked a one night arrangement to celebrate my wife’s 50th birthday. The arrangement included an upgraded room with the best view of Stockholm, champagne, breakfast and Spa treatment. All was as expected and better. Excellent service and professional and friendly staff. Frida from the booking department arranged all without hiccups and to the full satisfaction of my wife and myself. Service that excels is something you never get tired off…

Room Tip: Look at the special room and Spa arrangements which make you keep the room until 4pm the day after.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    221
    89
    39
    19
See reviews for
125
413
72
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It is always a pleasure to stay at Grand Hotel in Stockholm. Already at the entrance you feel so welcomed and that feeling follows you all the way until the day you leave the hotel. Me and my husband have stayed here several times and they have never failed us. I leave Stockholm longing to come back. You don't have to pay a fortune to stay at the Grand, if you plan your trip you can get 15% reduction and sometimes more. You don't need to book the suite to feel like royalty, even their classic room is grand. But best of all is the staff, so classy and refined.
On top of that you can use the Spa which is one of the best I have visited, most times we have been there we were almost alone, depending on the time of the day and on the day of the week.
We have been travelling around the world since the seventies, our taste has changed since then, we are more choosy, this is why we prefer to stay a few days at the Grand before we leave Sweden for Spain, with a taste of the grand old world

Room Tip: It all depends on your preferences and your budget. We usually use the hotel to sleep, it is nice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

A lovely hotel situated right on the harbourfront in Stockholm so convenient for catching sight-seeing harbour cruise boats and strolling around this picturesque city.
Our prestige room was small for $'s outlaid but the bedding was comfortable. An unexpected surprise for us was that the city was celebrating the Festival of the Sea, lobsters. Very interesting little crustations, very different to lobsters I ever seen but the locals were animated in their enthusiasm to eat as many lobsters as they could during the festival. We visited two years ago following a Silversea Baltic cruise and decided to spend four nights before flying elsewhere. Both dining rooms overlook the busy harbour with good food but, it is expensive. We laughed when the strolling guitarist asked for a 'request' to which we replied anything ABBA. "ABBA who?"
Great location.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

A very classy hotel , for people that like traditional hotels with a bit of history . The service is good , i found the reception a bit too formal but the consierge and the bar staff were extremly friendly . The veranda was really nice with some amazing views and good dishes . Order an apple toddie while sitting in the bar . The prices are really exprensive like everything else in Stockholm. I will surely comeback .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is the place to stay if you're a star or receiving the Nobel Prize. We stayed here only because a friend was receiving the prize and we wanted to help him celebrate. Everything is top notch, but prices were astronomical. Breakfast at the Veranda was exceptional and the spa is outstanding. Everything is great except the price. Snacks and two beers at the bar cost us over $100 US, so we usually chose to dine away from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed in a premier room for three nights and this is as good as it gets in Scandinavia. Large, beautiful room, great service, lovely breakfast and a superb Spa.
If you like classic luxery this a the place to stay.
You are greeted with a smile from you come till you leave.
What more do you need?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My uncle won the 2012 Nobel Prize in Economic Science and this hotel was (and has been since the start of the prizes) the official hotel for the Laureates and their guests. Otherwise I probably would not have chosen the Grand Hotel based on the price. But this was a unique event and it was nice for my extended family to celebrate my uncle's achievement in 5-star luxury. This was my first visit to Stockholm so I don't have any basis for comparison, but everything from my room to the restaurant to the spa and to staff deserves a five-star rating.

So if your visit to Stockholm is for a special occasion, spend the money and enjoy the luxury. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Pick a room on the south side of the hotel so that you have a spectacular view of the waterfront and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Sodra Blasieholmshamnen 8, Stockholm 103 27, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#3 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#9 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its 1874 opening, Grand Hotel Stockholm has been one of Sweden' s leading hotels. Royalty, heads of state, celebrities and Nobel laureates make themselves at home in refined waterfront surroundings near the Royal Palace. Old Town, Stockholm City Hall, Vasa Museum, Millesgarden and the Museum of National Antiquities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Grand Hotel
Intercontinental Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.