We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sodra Blasieholmshamnen 8, Stockholm 103 27, Sweden (Norrmalm)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 157 Hotels in Stockholm
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

A lovely hotel situated right on the harbourfront in Stockholm so convenient for catching sight-seeing harbour cruise boats and strolling around this picturesque city.
Our prestige room was small for $'s outlaid but the bedding was comfortable. An unexpected surprise for us was that the city was celebrating the Festival of the Sea, lobsters. Very interesting little crustations, very different to lobsters I ever seen but the locals were animated in their enthusiasm to eat as many lobsters as they could during the festival. We visited two years ago following a Silversea Baltic cruise and decided to spend four nights before flying elsewhere. Both dining rooms overlook the busy harbour with good food but, it is expensive. We laughed when the strolling guitarist asked for a 'request' to which we replied anything ABBA. "ABBA who?"
Great location.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    205
    82
    36
    19
See reviews for
113
366
63
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

A very classy hotel , for people that like traditional hotels with a bit of history . The service is good , i found the reception a bit too formal but the consierge and the bar staff were extremly friendly . The veranda was really nice with some amazing views and good dishes . Order an apple toddie while sitting in the bar . The prices are really exprensive like everything else in Stockholm. I will surely comeback .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Cororado, USA
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is the place to stay if you're a star or receiving the Nobel Prize. We stayed here only because a friend was receiving the prize and we wanted to help him celebrate. Everything is top notch, but prices were astronomical. Breakfast at the Veranda was exceptional and the spa is outstanding. Everything is great except the price. Snacks and two beers at the bar cost us over $100 US, so we usually chose to dine away from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed in a premier room for three nights and this is as good as it gets in Scandinavia. Large, beautiful room, great service, lovely breakfast and a superb Spa.
If you like classic luxery this a the place to stay.
You are greeted with a smile from you come till you leave.
What more do you need?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My uncle won the 2012 Nobel Prize in Economic Science and this hotel was (and has been since the start of the prizes) the official hotel for the Laureates and their guests. Otherwise I probably would not have chosen the Grand Hotel based on the price. But this was a unique event and it was nice for my extended family to celebrate my uncle's achievement in 5-star luxury. This was my first visit to Stockholm so I don't have any basis for comparison, but everything from my room to the restaurant to the spa and to staff deserves a five-star rating.

So if your visit to Stockholm is for a special occasion, spend the money and enjoy the luxury. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Pick a room on the south side of the hotel so that you have a spectacular view of the waterfront and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Amazing hotel, welcoming you to the luxury world in the heart of Stockholm. The rooms were old fashioned but nice and cosy. The beds were very comfortable enabling a deep sleep. The service was very attentive. The only comment I have relatest to the breakfast: fresh and high quality products; however not worth the standards of such great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was our first time in Sweden and was really just a transit stay on our route towards the ice hotel in Kiruna. Everything about this hotel is classic 5 star. The lobby is grand and busy, and seems to be a trendy place in Stockholm. We saw several well known actors chilling in the lobby, and tom cruise seems to have been staying in the suite next to ours.
This hotel stands out in what I deem to be the most important, FOOD! I had the most amazing hamburger in the lobby, and later that evening we had the privilege of dinning in their 2 michillen stared restaurant, and it was amazing. They also have a more laid back one michellin star restaurant operated by the same chef.
Every other aspect of this hotel is correct. Clean, comfortable and proper service. My wife and I will most definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Sodra Blasieholmshamnen 8, Stockholm 103 27, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#13 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its 1874 opening, Grand Hotel Stockholm has been one of Sweden' s leading hotels. Royalty, heads of state, celebrities and Nobel laureates make themselves at home in refined waterfront surroundings near the Royal Palace. Old Town, Stockholm City Hall, Vasa Museum, Millesgarden and the Museum of National Antiquities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LHW, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Grand Hotel
Intercontinental Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.