We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in Stockholm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotels.com
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sodra Blasieholmshamnen 8, Stockholm 103 27, Sweden (Norrmalm)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekend Offer - SEK 1990
Ranked #7 of 163 hotels in Stockholm
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels in Stockholm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

A very classy hotel , for people that like traditional hotels with a bit of history . The service is good , i found the reception a bit too formal but the consierge and the bar staff were extremly friendly . The veranda was really nice with some amazing views and good dishes . Order an apple toddie while sitting in the bar . The prices are really exprensive like everything else in Stockholm. I will surely comeback .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    380
    149
    61
    30
    18
See reviews for
84
265
49
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Cororado, USA
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is the place to stay if you're a star or receiving the Nobel Prize. We stayed here only because a friend was receiving the prize and we wanted to help him celebrate. Everything is top notch, but prices were astronomical. Breakfast at the Veranda was exceptional and the spa is outstanding. Everything is great except the price. Snacks and two beers at the bar cost us over $100 US, so we usually chose to dine away from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed in a premier room for three nights and this is as good as it gets in Scandinavia. Large, beautiful room, great service, lovely breakfast and a superb Spa.
If you like classic luxery this a the place to stay.
You are greeted with a smile from you come till you leave.
What more do you need?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My uncle won the 2012 Nobel Prize in Economic Science and this hotel was (and has been since the start of the prizes) the official hotel for the Laureates and their guests. Otherwise I probably would not have chosen the Grand Hotel based on the price. But this was a unique event and it was nice for my extended family to celebrate my uncle's achievement in 5-star luxury. This was my first visit to Stockholm so I don't have any basis for comparison, but everything from my room to the restaurant to the spa and to staff deserves a five-star rating.

So if your visit to Stockholm is for a special occasion, spend the money and enjoy the luxury. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Pick a room on the south side of the hotel so that you have a spectacular view of the waterfront and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Amazing hotel, welcoming you to the luxury world in the heart of Stockholm. The rooms were old fashioned but nice and cosy. The beds were very comfortable enabling a deep sleep. The service was very attentive. The only comment I have relatest to the breakfast: fresh and high quality products; however not worth the standards of such great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was our first time in Sweden and was really just a transit stay on our route towards the ice hotel in Kiruna. Everything about this hotel is classic 5 star. The lobby is grand and busy, and seems to be a trendy place in Stockholm. We saw several well known actors chilling in the lobby, and tom cruise seems to have been staying in the suite next to ours.
This hotel stands out in what I deem to be the most important, FOOD! I had the most amazing hamburger in the lobby, and later that evening we had the privilege of dinning in their 2 michillen stared restaurant, and it was amazing. They also have a more laid back one michellin star restaurant operated by the same chef.
Every other aspect of this hotel is correct. Clean, comfortable and proper service. My wife and I will most definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed in the Grand recently for a second time this year. The hotel is excellent in every way, position, staff (particularly the consierge), services and atmosphere. But the greatest experience was the Restaurant Mathias Dahlgren. I have dined in some 15 michellin star restaurants this year but Mathias was the best for me because it combined excelence in food, in wine, in service and in atmosphere and almost always one of these is lacking...
Definetely looking forward to my next trip to Stockholm

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Also Known As:
Stockholm Grand Hotel
Intercontinental Stockholm
Address: Sodra Blasieholmshamnen 8, Stockholm 103 27, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#5 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#8 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its 1874 opening, Grand Hotel Stockholm has been one of Sweden' s leading hotels. Royalty, heads of state, celebrities and Nobel laureates make themselves at home in refined waterfront surroundings near the Royal Palace. Old Town, Stockholm City Hall, Vasa Museum, Millesgarden and the Museum of National Antiquities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LHW, T4B, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.