We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sodra Blasieholmshamnen 8, Stockholm 103 27, Sweden (Norrmalm)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
SEK1,874 (SEK)
Ranked #8 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The place to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The hotel is very well located as almost everything is at a walking distance from the Hotel.
It has a great view, the rooms are spacious. The hotel team is very kind and nice.
The breakfast restaurant has a great view on the Royal Palace and served fresh good food (including real orange juice)!
For the little story, we were staying at the same time than Pearl Jam...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    199
    76
    34
    19
See reviews for
111
351
60
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

I'm going to try and keep this review as concise as possible, but I have just so much praise for this hotel.

We stayed in one of the newly renovated superior rooms without a view. I have to say that it was one of the best hotel rooms we've ever stayed in. Beautifully clean and modern bathroom with a lovely huge bath, ultra comfortable beds, large flat screen wall mounted TV, perfectly functioning and easy to use climate control, fast in-room free wifi and a stunning chandelier. Every day this was cleaned and turned down without fault. We had a small issue with the in room iron and an all singing, all dancing iron was brought to our room virtually immediately.

A stunning buffet breakfast was served in the Veranda Restaurant every day, although you are given alternative choices of continental breakfast in the beautiful Cadier Bar or in you room at no extra charge. The buffet breakfast had lots of choice from American to cereal, fresh fruit and our favourite, the Swedish style fish, cold cuts and cheese. The stunning view from the restaurant looks out over the harbour and the Stockholm Palace. This restaurant also serves a great smorgasbord, which I highly recommend for sampling local Swedish cuisine.

If you're a real food lover though, it is the other two restaurants housed in the hotel that you will really want to try - Mathias Dahlgren's Matsalen and Matbaren. We opted for Matbaren on this visit, which is the more casual of the two. However, don't let this fool you, the food being served is nothing short of amazing! I won't go in to it in much detail (there are plenty of wonderful reviews that do it justice with a quick google), I'll just say that it's spot in the worlds 50 best restaurants is well deserved!

Finally, the last thing I'd like to tell you about are the leisure facilities. The general spa facilities (which are free for hotel guests) are phenomenal! There is a cardio gym and a separate resistance training area, an adequately sized swimming pool, a large jacuzzi style pool, a steam room, male only and female only saunas with associated cold plunge pools, cold bucket showers and lovely multidirectional warm showers. There are also three relaxation areas, one of which is by the pool, one outside the treatment rooms and another is a quiet room with headphones and selection of different relaxing music and magazines. There are hot and cold refreshments and fruit dotted around the facilities as well. We didn't get round to having any treatments, but the staff still treated us in a very warm and friendly manner.

I really would have to say that this must be one of the all round top hotels in the world. Great location, great food, great facilities, great rooms and wonderfully friendly staff in every department of the hotel. It couldn't have been better!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel post cruise. The photos looked like this was an elegant hotel, of age.
The common areas are kept up nicely...but, there is a huge range of rooms, and ours was not great. It was like an attic room. The bed was under this angled ceiling wall that we knocked our heads on constantly. There was a step up/down between the bedroom and the bathroom. Lighting was not sufficient. We were there for two nights, and that was enough. One day I came back to the room at 3:15 in the afternoon, and our room was not made up yet. Long walk to the elevator from the lobby. If you have issues, make sure to get a room in the more central part of the hotel.
Room service for breakfast on our departure day was great, and on time. The restaurant in the lobby area by the front of the hotel had a very nice buffet. Staff was helpful. Location was good.
Would not stay there again based on price and quality of the lodging we had.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Lovely, antiques everywhere. Pleasant, immaculate rooms, where everything works. Free wifi, complimentary International Herald Tribune and Financial Times delivered to your room or available in the handsome library. Gracious, helpful service. Ideal location, across from the royal palace and old town. Excellent food, immense breakfast buffet in the Veranda restaurant, and a marvelous smorgasbord at lunch. Mathias Dahlgren, a very highly rated restaurant in the hotel, was closed for summer vacation, but I loved the Grand, so will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

If you want the best hotel in Stockholm, This is the place to be. Perfect location and very good service. The breakfast is wonderful. Nice spa.
The staff is really helpfull if you need any suggestions of the city.
Really the best

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Fine room, sitting area separate - a bit of a walk from the elevators, but it's a big place. Terrific service. Wonderful spa - sauna, cold pool, swimming pool, massage. Not inexpensive! The cheapest rooms with a view are more expensive than the nice rooms without - we had a vista over roofs and such, quite nice but doesn't count as a view for tariff-setting purposes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Elegant hotel in very convenient location
Suite is beautifully furnished
Bathroom amenities are luxurious(Molton Brown)
Spa has high quality exercise equipment and a lovely, relaxing pool
The veranda restaurant breakfast is one of the best buffets I have ever eaten, with
Uniquely Swedish dishes like semolina pudding with lingonberry preserves (yummy )
We enjoyed our 2 nights so much!

Room Tip: If you are able, upgrade to a harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Sodra Blasieholmshamnen 8, Stockholm 103 27, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#3 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#11 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its 1874 opening, Grand Hotel Stockholm has been one of Sweden' s leading hotels. Royalty, heads of state, celebrities and Nobel laureates make themselves at home in refined waterfront surroundings near the Royal Palace. Old Town, Stockholm City Hall, Vasa Museum, Millesgarden and the Museum of National Antiquities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LHW, T4B, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Grand Hotel
Intercontinental Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.