We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eureka! Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Gamla Stan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Gamla Stan to your Saves list
Scandic Gamla Stan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lilla Nygatan 25, Stockholm 11128, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel Gamla Stan) (Södermalm)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sharpsburg, GA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Eureka! Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Eureka! We found it - a great place to spend a few days while we toured Stockholm! The hotel was recommended by a native Swede and she was spot on. The room was clean and met all of our needs. Besides our bed and bedside tables, our room provided a writing desk, a table and chairs, and a sitting sofa/daybed. We enjoyed the expansive breakfast buffet - fresh breads, fresh fruits, meats, eggs, pancakes, etc... The staff was so helpful and kind. Also, the location was perfect! The T-bana was within a block or so, all of the old city was right outside our door. We were thoroughly delighted with RIca Hotel - Gamla Stan. We would definitely recommend this B & B.

Room Tip: We were facing the street and experienced no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    190
    46
    13
    6
See reviews for
52
159
54
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in January. I requested a high floor and we were given a top floor room. Rooms larger than many I have stayed in in London. Extremely clean, could not fault the cleanliness at all. We only had one night where we heard some singing outside but that was it. Very well positioned in Gamla Stan. We walked everywhere, including to the Central Station on our return journey. Breakfast was good, excellent selection, only downside is that on the Saturday morning we couldn't find a table so we had to go back a little later - probably would have been more annoyed if we had a time restraint. All in all an excellent hotel in Stockholm.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

A very warm and cosy atmosphere. Nice rooms and nice and comfortable beds. The breakfast buffet is a delight. However, i saw the russian(?) breakfast lady getting into arguments with some guests about nothing. That kind of spoiled the breakfast. Your mileage may vary on that point.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Felt very personal. Service very good - very welcoming at 4am when our flight had been delayed and even rustled us up some breakfast. Normal breakfast was an outstanding feast! Rooms very unique and well decorated. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Très chic! Sweet room with nice wallpapers, great location, generally quiet and absolutely excellent breakfast! Yummy. I start salivating by trying to think of that breakfast. Take time and a closer look what is offered, you won't regret. The room had a great modern bathroom, very thick window curtains (got a side view over a little piece of Gamla Stan). They introduced an interesting idea of tea and coffee self-service in the lobby, which could make the guests mingle and makes the lobby lively. You will find tea or coffee inside the closet in the lobby and then choose your sofa. Helpful and kind personnel. On the down side, the room ventilation (air conditioning?) cannot be switched off and I was quite cold. Couldn't find any floor heating in the bathroom, so had cold feet. The bed hosts very soft mattress. The door only locks with an old fashioned key, so safety might not be the best, but Gamla Stan is probably not a high risk area. The only thing I really hated in the room was wobbly closet and even if it would be fixed, the style was not appropriate for the room. I think the place has slight room for improvement (better closets, mattresses etc.), but I would definitely come back again, I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

This hotel is a very short walk from the T-Ban subway system, which makes the entire city easy to get to. More importantly, the hotel is located in the best part of the city, Gamla Stan. This is the historic area, full of wonderful buildings and churches. The palace is a short walk. There are numerous restaurants and shops on the island. We arrived very early in the morning and we're hoping to drop off our luggage to go sightseeing. However, to our surprise, they let us check in. They also held our bags after check out so we could continue to enjoy the city before our ferry left. They offer a more than adequate breakfast each morning and coffee/tea in the afternoon. The room was lovely. The bathroom was on the small side, but still more than acceptable by European standards. They had a one piece queen bed!!! This is a very rare find because most hotels put two twins together, which does not make for comfortable cuddling with the husband. The staff was very nice and assisted with every question. We loved this hotel and would absolutely stay here again. The location alone made it a wonderful trip, the hotel was just the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This isn't the most modern of Swedish hotels but it has a lovely inviting, warm, authentic feel. The location in the central and beautiful Gamla Stan is great but a slightly disappointing breakfast is the only negative.

Room Tip: Higher floors have good views and are lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Gamla Stan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Gamla Stan

Address: Lilla Nygatan 25, Stockholm 11128, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel Gamla Stan)
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#34 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#37 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#42 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Gamla Stan 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Gamla Stan, Stockholm's oldest and cosiest district. Hotel Scandic Gamla Stan is located in a charming 17th century building with a medieval atmosphere. Within walking distance of most of what Stockholm has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Scandic Gamla Stan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Gamla Stan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.