We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diplomat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Diplomat to your Saves list
Hotel Diplomat
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Strandvagen 7C | Box 14059, Stockholm 114 56, Sweden (Östermalm)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
1 review
“Beautiful Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed at Hotel Diplomat for one night in November 2014. The location was central and walking distance to shops and restaurants. An evening walk along the water was lovely and yes cold at that time of year! I stayed in a single room. It was clean and cosy. The bed was comfortable and the amenities were good. The staff were very helpful. I did have some trouble connecting to the wifi and my issues were solved very quickly. I loved the art works and history in the hotel. The breakfast buffet had a good selection. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    249
    64
    12
    12
See reviews for
94
286
43
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halmstad, Halland County, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I found my room refreshingly different from the usual hotel rooms. Cosy at a good standard. For my purpose the hotel was ideally situated - close to the conference locale as well as to shops and places to eat.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonstorp, Sweden
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Interior design is very nicely thought through in every detail and matches the caractaristics of the building that still has very nice details from the old days.
The beds were best in class and one the best I've slept in at a hotel around the world. Very nice breakfast buffe.
The service in the bar area was unfortunately below the acceptable level and when we got tired of waiting for service we simply left to go elsewhere.
The newly installed gym looks fancy but there are no running mills due to "the ceiling in the gym not being high enough"

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have a very nice view. Rooms to the back have no traffic noice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Diplomat is pricey but has a perfect location, is well run, has a very helpful and professional staff, and is reasonable value in an expensive but wonderful city. I have stayed at four different Stockholm hotels and this is by far my favorite.

Room Tip: Harbor view rooms are especially pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Diplomat is a hotel with the location in the city centre but also convenient distance to Djurgården and Gärdet, would you like to take a walk.
I very much like the atmosphere at Diplomat. Small enough to feel welcoming and familiar, good standard on the rooms and excellent breakfast. I usually enjoy the dinner in the restaurant, T-bar, rather than going out, which is a good mark considering the options in the neighborhood.
My favorite Stockholm hotel for some time. Looking forward to next visit.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here in September for few nights. It is a very nice hotel right by the water. Great location and minutes away from mall, Tourist Information and restaurants. Our room was big and very clean. A one hour spa included with our stay which was very exciting; however it was just a plastic jacuzzi tub with no attendance in a tiny room!!!! The hotel restaurant is great but always busy so you have to make reservation ahead of time. Staff were not that friendly and accommodating although very polite. The list of movies available to watch in the room was impressive but most of them were not available to watch and no one could help us with that problem either.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've been to the Diplomat a few times during my business trips. It took me 50 minutes from the airport by taxi. The hotel is very central and just minutes away from trendy Sturehof area and its bars and restaurants. It looks classical from outside and seats just by the harbor. It is always a great pleasure to have a breakfast in the ground floor restaurant with such an amazing view. The rooms are rather small but modern and tidy. The bathroom is of the same standard.

The breakfast is full of diversity but could do with cooked on demand items like eggs or waffles. The staff was very friendly and professional throughout.

Definitely a nice place.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diplomat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomat

Address: Strandvagen 7C | Box 14059, Stockholm 114 56, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Östermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#7 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#12 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Diplomat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Diplomat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diplomat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.