We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diplomat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Diplomat to your Saves list
Hotel Diplomat
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Strandvagen 7C | Box 14059, Stockholm 114 56, Sweden (Östermalm)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Fagerstrand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I feel at home in this hotel. Great atmosphere and surrondings when you enter the lobby, where the staff is so friendly and human. I was upgraded to a very good room and I did not ask for it. The location is amazing - close to the shopping, restaurants, and even the sightseeing. The hotel is right on the waterfront. The food is exelent and the service as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    249
    64
    12
    12
See reviews for
94
286
43
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The first thing I would like to mention is the great housekeeping of room and public areas. I have stayed at many hotels, incl 5 star, where the cleaning simply was seriously lacking, but not here. The hotel recognised it being my birthday during my stay so they had upgraded my room to a lovely one on the 5th floor. Room was quiet and nice, bed great. The bar was bustling in the evening with business travellers, but was still very relaxing to spend time in. Breakfast was of a good quality. I will for sure now have this hotel as my first choice in Stockholm. The room doors were thick so one could hardly hear anything from outside the room. Nice L'occitane toilettries.

Room Tip: Room 520 was nice. Towards the yard and far enough from the elevator not to have a heavy traffic wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel was perfect for a weekend getaway to Stockholm. The location was amazing - close to the shopping, amazing restaurants, cool bars, and even the sightseeing. The hotel is right on the water and walking distance to almost everything. The staff at the hotel were very accomodating as well. THe hotel bar was a great spot and had a really nice vibe with very knowledgeable bar staff.

I'd highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Stockholm. If I end up going back to Stockholm, I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We took a weekend in Stockholm with our two kids, 4 and 7. We found a family-offer through the hotel´s own web-site, including extra beds, free food for the kids in the hotel´s restaurant and breakfast (usually not included in the room-prize which is quite odd for a Swedish hotel). Upon arrival at room 421 we found quite a big room, and the kids got one teddybear each as a welcome present.
We found the breakfast really good, a wonderful homemade muesli, delicious bread and a variety no-one could complain about. One of the evenings (we stayed for three nights) we decided to eat in the restaurant at the hotel and we didn´t get disappointed. With free meals for the children the prize definately was affordable.
When visiting Stockholm Diplomat´s location is great, walking distance to the castle, old town, the big shopping streets and "Söder". Staff is attentive and rooms clean and quiet. Remember to book the "retreat" for yourself for one hour (for free), sauna, jacuzzi and gym.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Spezia, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Been here thanks to my GF's present, that's why I am not so sure about the price spent for the 2 nights. The hotel is in a perfect position to visit the city, really close to everywhere. We had a room very close to the bar and to the common living room, not so quiet as far as walls are definately thin. Reception service is in the average, house keeping is good even if they missed to refill with shampoo and bath gel the second day...a bit disappointing. By the way is a good compromise between price and value

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed for three nights at the Diplomat and although we checked out other options this was in the perfect place for a long weekend. The hotel is clean in good state of repair and warm. Reception staff, as all staff were excellent, polite and helpful.
The rooms ( we had an inner room 329 with no view ) were very comfortable reasonably sized, perfect for our needs as we wanted to be out and about.
There is a nice bar area which serves food and breakfast but other than the bar we ate out and used the local 7 eleven for coffee and pastries, but the food looked a smelt wonderful.

We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Standard rooms look inwards on each other with no real view, but harbour rooms are available at a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Being over 100 years old, the Diplomat does not have the biggest rooms for business travellers but they are well organised and very comfortable. My bed was very comfortable and I enjoyed the bathroom being a couple of stairs up from the living area. Unlike the last reviewer, I found the breakfast to be plentiful and exciting. I especially enjoyed the fresh fruit juice "shots". You won't find a la carte omelette chefs standing by in Scandinavian hotels for this price like you might find in the States but it was more than satisfactory.

The staff were all friendly and professional and I especially enjoyed some banter with the bar server who served me modestly priced Samuel Adams on tab. A delightful surprise after a hectic day of sales calls. It's always nice to come to an old fashioned hotel that isn't drowning in old fashioned conceit and rigidness.

I will definitely stay here for all my future stays in Stockholm, if they will have me.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diplomat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomat

Address: Strandvagen 7C | Box 14059, Stockholm 114 56, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Östermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#7 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#12 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Diplomat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Diplomat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diplomat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.