We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best base thus far...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vasagatan 1 | P.O. Box 234, Stockholm 101 24, Sweden   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #47 of 160 hotels in Stockholm
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best base thus far...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

It was the best base I have had for city travels thus far. The central station is literally next door and interesting restaurants and shopping area, a stone throw away. The harbor and the city hall is a walking distance from the hotel. The service crew were very friendly and service requests were responded to immediately. We had a little problem with locking the safe and the guy came to fix it within 5 minutes from putting in the request.
From my experience with Radisson, they always have an amazing breakfast buffet. This though outdid my previous experience as they had a separate table with lactose-free and gluten-free options. That was a big help for someone like me who is trying to stick to such a diet. So big kudos to the kitchen! :D
Thank you to the whole staff for such
wonderful service. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Joahnna1407,
Thank you very much for your kind review! It was very nice reading the review.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to us on your next visit to Stockholm!

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    323
    545
    278
    86
    32
See reviews for
165
279
88
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
660 helpful votes 660 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The location of Radisson Blu Royal Viking can't be beat when it comes to access to public transportation. It is practically part of Stockholm Centralen (Main Station) which means all major long distance and regional trains, subway, buses as well as shops and services are only steps away. Sergels torg and high streets are just a short walk away, the old town is approx. 10 minutes.

The building is a 1980's eyesore but - unless they tear it down (an option to be considered, they did it with the Scandic hotel right across the street) - they have to try to make to best out of it. Which they did.

We were allowed to check-in early which was a nice touch. Everyone at front desk were nice and helpful. An e-mail sent on a workday 24 hours before arrival with our room requests was not read before our arrival. I got an apologetic e-mail back in which they recommended calling instead of e-mailing. Interesting considering it is 2013… Nevertheless, most of our requests were met at check-in.

The bed was very comfortable, as was the shower-only bathroom. The free Wi-Fi was stable and fast. The room was kept very clean.

Although it is a 1980's building and our room faced busy Vasagatan, the sound insulation was perfect, a thing engineers in other parts of the world (U.S.!) still seem not to be able to achieve in 2013.

Unfortunately, the building's layout dictates the room sizes, which meant in our case, that the Business Class room (one of their better categories) was the size of a small cruise ship cabin. They cleverly integrated all necessary elements and it looked quite appealing, but there is absolutely ***no*** shelf space. Not a single spot - apart from the desk or the coffee table - where you can put a folded shirt. Also, there is no luggage rack as there is no space for it, which means you have to keep most of the things you cannot hang (there is room for approx. three coat hangers) in your suitcase standing up.

Business Class and Club Carlson perks were either insufficient or non-existent: not even a free bottle of water upon arrival, not a single morning the advertised newspaper arrived, no Club Carlson recognition whatsoever (ok, I booked through Expedia, but that was no problem in other Radissons) and the included "Super Breakfast" was far less than super.

They use the atrium conference space on the first floor (pity the people who have to stay in an atrium facing room) for the breakfast buffet, which is a real feeding of the masses. On weekends the staff is desperately trying to clear and set up the tables for the hordes of guests arriving. They are so busy, you have to approach them directly to get some coffee. We were surprised that Latte Macchiato was not available, a thing which was not a problem in far less developed parts of the world. Orange "juice" was an infamous watery liquid, scrambled eggs were apparently pre-fabricated and came with pale, almost white mini-potatoes.

Call me old-fashioned, but yoghurt, fruit, fish etc. from giant open, uncooled bowls or plates without any protection against coughs or sneezes may be eco-friendly (and cost-friendly for the hotel) - hygienic they are not.

Biggest surprise: they charge extra for every egg dish apart from boiled eggs and the before mentioned scrambled eggs! Hello, is this really a 4-star Radisson hotel in the hometown of Radisson Blu (formerly SAS)???

Would we stay here again? Rather not. But if so, we would let go of the Business Class chi-chi and book a (larger) Superior Room - and have breakfast somewhere else!

Room Tip: Unless you’re travelling alone (or you are a hobbit couple), you travel with our toothbrush only and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear JanBerlin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments, so we can continually improve ourselves.

We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,
Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed there only for two nights while travelling on business in Stockholm. The hotel is very conveniently located right next to the Central Rail Station. Breakfast was very good with a wide choice of different meals. Other than that, the room was clean but rather small with a view towards the breakfast hall. Free Internet worked well. There were several restaurants near the hotel, but otherwise you need to take a 20-minute walk to see the main city attractions. Overall a good place to stay if you are on a business trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Jolly-Stranger,

Thank you for your review.
We hope to have you back with us soon!

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

There was nothing wrong with the hotel other than the neighborhood wasn't very interesting. Service was fine. The restaurant in the hotel was good but quite expensive. The breakfast was good. However unless you benefit from being across the street from the train station, the neighborhood and location required a bit of walk to get to more interesting parts of town.

I have now stayed in 6 radissons plus many Best Western's this summer. I gave this hotel a 3 - average rating because I felt I needed space to give the better hotels 4's and 5's. While I might prefer a different hotel/location which had charm or location - this was quite functional - and literally about 50 paces from the entrance to the central train which was quite nice on leaving.

They also had a business center with free use of computers and internet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Richard10024,

Thank you for your review.
We are happy to read that you are satisfied with your stay.
Hopefully, we will have the opportunity to have you back with us!

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I worked in Stockholm a few years ago and visited several times afterwards on business using this hotel. I loved Stockholm in the Summer, it is one of, if not THE, loveliest cities in Europe and the World. What makes it so special is all the beautiful waterfronts and colourful buildings. I thoroughly recommend it for a Summer break and do include a trip out on the archipelago (e.g. to Sandhamn).

Marifred / Gripsholm Castle and Drottningholm Palace are also great trips on Lake Malaren. It is lovely to just walk around the parkland and waterfronts of the city. The Stadhuset (although much more modern than you would think) is a good tour inside (plus the Tower) and if the weather is not so good, there is the marvellously restored Vasa (museum). Also I could add Millesgarden (sculpture garden) on Lindingo. There is really lots to do and see.

You will have no trouble finding good food as food outlets of all varieties abound. Stockholm is very cosmopolitan and feels more like an Italian city in the Summer than somewhere so Northern. If you are mainly a vegetarian like myself, there are plenty of Italian restaurants that will have suitable choices and there are two especially good vegetarian restaurants: Hermans (buffet but good choice excellently cooked and presented plus very reasonable for Stockholm prices and Lao Wai (Chinese vegetarian) for something more exotic and unusual (although closed much of the long Summer vacation period so check first). All other e.g. Indian, Thai cuisines are also well represented in Stockholm.

The only downside is that Sweden is definitely not cheap for international visitors and if you want to keep to a reasonable budget - forget about quaffing wine down with your meals!

I used this hotel again when visiting in Summer of August 2013 for a pleasurable Summer break with my wife. I would choose it because of its central location (although getting around Stockholm on the excellent public transport system is not a problem and for anyone who is fit most of the sites are also within walking range of each other). But also because I just know it to be a good hotel (unless you are looking for marvellous waterfront views etc) serving an unbeatable breakfast. It did not disappoint again. My wife loved Stockholm like me and was very pleased with the hotel room (just a standard double) and its breakfast choices. You can eat virtually anything you would want for breakfast from bacon, eggs, hams, cheeses etc to multiple types of freshly cut fruit to multiple breads / rolls / croissants and even pancakes and maple syrup!

This hotel does what is says for a 4 star hotel, with good clean rooms and excellent range of food etc, central location plus a little more reasonable than some of the other 4 star choices. Free internet covering 2 devices is available in all rooms as seems to be a standard price differentiation from this hotel chain.


The only problems would be that

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Hvzm,

Wow, what a great review of Stockholm! Im getting eager myself to explore Stockholm even though I live here! I can only agree with you, Stockholm is a beautiful city.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel as well! Hopefully you will be back soon again!

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The hotel is located right next door to Central Station which was very convenient for us as we arrived by train to the city. We weren't expecting to be able to check in until the afternoon but as we'd arrived at about 7am on the night train we were keen to leave our bags at the hotel, so we were really pleased when we were told our room was ready for us and we could check in early! The room itself was very modern and extremely comfortable, couldn't fault it. Breakfast was amazing, so much choice. We'd recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

We only stayed one night so didn't have time to use the facilities of the gym etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear ThePurpleScorpion,

Thank you for taking the time to share your very kind words and feedback.
Hopefylly we will have the pleasurer in welcoming you back to us soon!

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

First, the location is excellent, just blocks from shopping and only a block from the main train station. The hotel obviously has a high turnover of guests and is staffed to handle it.
Second, the staff not only have a high level of English but are also involved with their guests in a professional manner. Nayra at the front desk went far beyond duty to aid us in the recovery of our luggage which was lost by KLM.
We found the rooms to be par with Radisson standards and can voice no complaints there. The breakfast buffet was typically European and inclusive. The Fisk Restaurant off the lobby was not only excellent but fairly priced, at least for Stockholm. Would stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear "notnecessary",

Thank you so much for your kind review and for taking the time to write about your experience with us.
Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best “Yes I Can!” It is so gratifying to see our staff recognized in this way. They are all great and Nayra will get special recognition. I hope you you got your luggage back!
We would be happy to have you back any time and thank you for choosing us during your visit to Stockholm.

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm

Address: Vasagatan 1 | P.O. Box 234, Stockholm 101 24, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#32 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#36 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Atrium Hotel located downtown, adjacent to Central train station, airport express trains, World Trade Center & Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Rezidor, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm Hotel Stockholm
Radisson Stockholm
Stockholm Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.