We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location - great breakfast buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vasagatan 1 | P.O. Box 234, Stockholm 101 24, Sweden   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #49 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location - great breakfast buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Excellent location - right next to Arlanda Express train station and Central Station. The breakfast buffet had a great slection of items including Swedish pancakes. The pool area was small but it was never busy. The business class room we had was very small and we had little room to put our clothing. Our room included wi fi . The front desk staff were very informative and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear BreKir,

Thank you for your review.
I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to have you back with us soon again!

Kind regards,
Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    558
    306
    81
    35
See reviews for
224
357
97
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Excellent location in the middle of downtown convenient walking distance to stores and right next to T-Centralen, Pendeltåg commuter rail and Arlanda Express train to the airport.
Rooms were well-appointed and of moderate size. We had a "Family Suite" which had a living room with fold out couch attached to the bedroom with a queen bed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear jltchs,

Thank you for your time writing your review.
We highly apprechiate all reviews and hope you will be back with us soon again!

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Blu Royal Viking is situated right beside central station and ideal for walking around the city. Ideal for airport transfer. The rooms are clean and as you would expect from a Radisson hotel. Cannot be beaten for location. Stockholm is very expensive generally so ensure you have lots of money. Venture to Slussen for more reasonable priced food and drinks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear xJMadzx ,

Thank you for your review and welcome back to us soon!

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Excellent staff, facilities and location. Ideally located just a short walk from the magnificent old city with all it's attractions.
If one intends to travel further afield it is close but not too close to Central Railway Station. The breakfast is the best ever, something for all tastes.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Seamus M,

Thank you so much for your kind review!
We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel on business , the hotel vas very nice as you would expect from this group
Only negative I have is the bathrooms are very small
Off site parking is also available and the gym is very well equipped
I would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear DoncasterTony,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Radisson Blu Royal Viking.

We look forward to your next stay.

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Location - As other reviewers have noted the brilliant thing about this hotel is its location. You can walk down the platform from the Arlanda Express train (which has special offers in the summer so is cheaper than other transport to the airport) and at the end of the long platform you turn left out of the station and the hotel entrance is just there. You will have walked past the station food court which is useful if you don't want to spend money on the hotel breakfast. On the way home we left the hotel at 3.55pm and were sat having a coffee having checked in and gone through security at Arlanda at 4.55pm. We walked everywhere and took some boat trips - everything is very convenient from the hotel.

Book direct - we booked through booking.com and the hotel claimed they didn't get our request for twin rooms and so we got doubles - which was eventually sorted out. Interestingly the twins were on floor 4 which has not been refurbished but the rooms were bigger than the refurbished double rooms on floor 5 that we saw. Radisson have a guaranteed lowest price if you book direct so it would seem to be better to book direct and specify clearly what you want.

To get 5 stars the twin rooms would have had a safe and somewhere easy to plug the kettle in. The staff would also have reacted better to the false fire alarm mid afternoon one day when information was lacking as to what was going on.

Compared to other hotels in Stockholm it was reasonably priced - although all hotels seemed to be expensive. Overall - I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: floor 5 has some newly refurbished rooms although doubles may be relatively small Specify if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear ColinGraves,

Thank you so much for your detailed review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We are very happy to read you are satisfied with the hotel.

We apologize for the lack of information from our staff during the false fire alarm. This is something we will discuss in order to be more proactive and informative. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best “Yes I Can!” service. Your comments will be used to consider improvements in the future.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back soon to Stockholm and us!

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located, at 3 min distance from the Arlanda express, train and metro stations. The city center can also be reached rather quickly. The front desk staff preparation is excellent, they helped me printing the boarding pass and everyone spoke excellent english. I took a business room: it is not that large and there is little room for clothes, but it will work well for a short stay of 2-3 nights. The spa and fitness area is also well equipped, including whirlpool and sauna (no hamam though). Wifi is available for free everywhere. Breakfast buffet is excellent. I certainly can recommend this hotel for your stay in Stockholm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear 123v_i_n_z321,

Thank you for taking the time and for writing such a nice review!
Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best “Yes I Can!” service. It´s always nice to get positive feedback!

Most welcome back to us on your next visit!

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm

Address: Vasagatan 1 | P.O. Box 234, Stockholm 101 24, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#35 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#35 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#36 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm 4.5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Atrium Hotel located downtown, adjacent to Central train station, airport express trains, World Trade Center & Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm Hotel Stockholm
Radisson Stockholm
Stockholm Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.