We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Nybrokajen 9 | Box 16396, Stockholm S-10327, Sweden (Norrmalm)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #53 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Staff could not have been more helpful during our 2 night stay prior to going on an amazing Silversea cruise. Breakfast great. Amazing turret room - try to book it - it is really special. All the attractions are within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest r, Informationsansvarig at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Chris,

Thank you for your kind words! We love to hear that you liked our breakfast and our service. When you want to visit Stockholm again we hope we get the chance to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    240
    95
    44
    14
See reviews for
62
198
33
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed In this hotel in July in a suite overlooking the waterfront: a nice location, not far from the old city, the museum district and the shopping areas. The room was really nice and well equipped. The people at reception friendly people and they served a lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest r, Informationsansvarig at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear MMu2013,

Thank you for taking you time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us! We are delighted to read your kind words and appreciate you feedback. We hope we will get the chance to welcome you beck to our hotel next time you are in town!

Best Regards,

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed here in June this year, and chose a waterfront room, overlooking the harbour. The room was a little on the small side but very comfortable, well equipped and with a nice bathroom. The buffet breakfast was very good, the bar small but well stocked, and the receptionists very helpful and friendly. Location wise the hotel is in a great spot, only a 10 minute walk from the old town, 10 minutes from the newer parts of the city, and close to the hop-on hop-off boat and bus stops. Loved it, and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for (and pay a little more) for the waterfront rooms. The views over the harbour are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest r, Informationsansvarig at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Mark,

Thank you for taking you time to share your experiences here on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is valuable to us and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you write our hotel has a perfect location if you want to explore what Stockholm has to offer. We hope we get the chance to welcome you back to Stockholm next time you are in town!

Best Regards,

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Whilst the situation is perfect on the waterfront and with the weather in Stockholm having been exceptional, sadly the cooling facilities of the Radison Blu are not up to a hotel which is classified I believe as a 5 star hotel. Sleeping in a sauna is not my idea of a good nights sleep. Serious consideration required to installation of air conditioning. Expensive on this current basis.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest r, Informationsansvarig at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Peter Alex,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We apologise for the negative expereince with the heat. As you problably know we have experienced unusal hot temperatures here in Stockholm and our air cooling system has been working on full speed but unfortunately as you comment it is not an air condition system. We always strive to provide the best service possible for our guests, the Radisson Blu Strand Hotel is classified as a four star property and we hope you enjoyed the rest our our services despite the heat.

Again, we are sorry for the inconvienience and we hope we can welcome you back during your next visit to Stockholm!

Best Regards,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Slightly uneven standard - one room with bathrobes and slippers, another without. One room with A/C, one with faulty A/C. Room in the old part half the size of the one in the new part. Both were the same price (even with single occupancy in one room). Beautiful location, right where you want to be :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest r, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Alan,

Thank you for taking your time and share your experiences. We are sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with parts of your stay. Unfortunately, since our hotel was build over 100 years ago not all rooms are exactly the same but the problems you describe should not have occured and we apologise for this. We hope we get the chance to welcome you to Radisson Blu Strand again for your next visit to Stockholm!

Best Regards,

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg, Luxembourg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Marvellous location with friendly and professional staff, well equipment rooms decorated in best Scandinavian style with stunning Stockholm view of Stockholm, what else can you ask? A good breakfast? Yes, they have that too and probably one of the best in town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest r, General Manager at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Tobias,

Thank you for your kind words! We hope that we can welcome you to our hotel soon again!

Best Regards,

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I paid $250 for one night and expected a 5 star hotel room.

The location is excellent BUT, the room was dark and stuffy.

The bed was very uncomfortable and is in a desperate need of replacement. I would not complain if the Radisson Blu Strand Stockholm was a 2 star hotel but this is a 5 star hotel!!!

I woke up in the morning 7am due to the fact that the room overlooked an internal courtyard that is also the breakfast venue. Very noisy in the morning. Could not sleep at all…

I still suffer from a sore back and neck pain due to the extremely uncomfortable bed.

I am a Club Carlsson Gold member but did not receive an upgrade….

Possibly the worst room I have ever stayed in.

I have to mention that I also bought a 3 night stay from another online provider. I did receive an upgrade for my last 3 days due to the fact that I am a club Carlsson gold member.

The 3 night package included breakfast and dinner each day.

The second night when we sat down in the restaurant to have our dinner the staff said that our package only included dinner for one night.

I handed over my hotel reservation to the staff where it clearly stated that the package included dinner every day. The staff said that they will make an exemption that day.

The food that was served was 5 star! Excellent quality and well presented.

The third day the staff at the restaurant said that they will not honor the dinner package.

I bought an expensive 3 day room package with dinner included but only received dinner for two days.

I am very unhappy with the stay at the Radisson Blu Strand Hotel in Stockholm.

My neck pain and sore back is a reminder of the worst room that I have ever experienced in a hotel.

I will seek medical attention and hopefully the neck pain and sore back is only temporary.

What a memorable stay in a dark and stuffy room that is so cramped that it makes you claustrophobic.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms that face the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest r, Kundansvarig at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Vegemite2008,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our hotel.

We are very sad to hear that you found the room and bed to be so inadequate, and that you had a bad experience with our staff in the restaurant.

As a Club Carlson Gold member we absolutely appreciate your loyalty to the Carlson Rezidor chain and we always try to fix a complimentary upgrade. However probably, for your first booking our occupancy just simply did not allow it.

If you are willing to give us another chance upon your next visit to Stockholm, I can assure you that we will try our utmost to change your perspective of the hotel.

Kind regards,

Vidar Rehn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm

Address: Nybrokajen 9 | Box 16396, Stockholm S-10327, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#31 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#37 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic hotel located in the heart of Stockholm overlooking the waterfront, near business and recreational sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm Hotel Stockholm
Radisson Stockholm
Stockholm Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.