We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stockholm City centre break hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Nybrokajen 9 | Box 16396, Stockholm S-10327, Sweden (Norrmalm)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #51 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Kent
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Stockholm City centre break hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Good location on the waterfront if you pay for the view, overlooks one of the boat trip quays. Room unfortunately had damp and peeling paint otherwise fine. Didn't do breakfast. Short walk to city centre. Staff very attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest r, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your comments here at Tripadvisor. We are so happy to hear that you liked the location and the service here at Radisson Blu Strand hotel. It is very convenient to stay here in the middle of the city center and as you mentioned we are within walking distance to the city centre and all of the main tourist attractions in Stockholm.

We hope to have the pleasure to see you here again!

Kind regards
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    270
    103
    45
    15
See reviews for
69
222
35
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

have stayed at radisson blue strand twice. on my first stay i book a very cheap package and stayed in a small, inner-court facing single roo, still, it was well appointed and although it felt more like being in the cabin of a ship than in a hotel room, it was very cozy and in the end pleasant. on my second stay i had a double room facing the harbour and well.. that brings it up to 5 star luxury almost, just because of the beautiful view from the huge window. the room was elegant, nice hues, had all one needs and the option to make your own coffee in the room. i was there for work but could not have felt more at home. and as i was alone in town i mostly dined at the hotel restaurant. this will not amaze you in terms of food, it's decent hotel fare (huge servings), no more, but i confess i loved eating there. even if the restaurant and lounge area of the hotel are open onto the reception area, they are just so nice! the big windows look out to the harbour, they lit candles everywhere, and the sofas are so comfy i stayed down to finish my novel one evening after i had my meal. how to be a lone business traveller eating at the hotel restaurant and totally not mind it! the location is perfect, and i would very higly recommend this hotel to anyone going to beautiful stokholm for business or leisure

Room Tip: it's worth spending for the harbour facing rooms, they are absolutely lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest r, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to comment here at Tripadvisor. We are so glad to hear that you felt at home here at Radisson Blu Strand hotel, that is every hotel's highest wish!
We hope to see you soon again, perhaps reading a book in the comfy sofa in the lobby.

Thank you so much for your kind comments and welcome back!

Kind regards
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a Great location. Staff extremely kind and helpfull and good restaurant.
Only 3 complaints:
1 room size, bed and bathroom ok but general space small
2 Wifi is free of charge but didn't work well and 3 is the lack of gym.
5 star hotel should have gym.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest r, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for commenting here at Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback and it means a lot to us to hear what you think of our hotel.
The hotel staff is doing all we can to give our guests excellent experiences here at the hotel and your kind words let us know that we are doing a good job, thank you!

Unfortunately we do not have the possibility to offer an inhouse gym here but we cooperate with a nice gym only a few minutes walk from the hotel. We are also proud to present our newly renovated treatment room where guests can enjoy a relaxing massage.

We hope to have the pleasure to meet you again in the future,

Kind regards
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownabbey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We chose this hotel for our weekend visit to due to its location right on the waterfront and we were not disappointed .This is one magnificent building which dominates the skyline.

As others have noted, the rooms are small and you would have difficulty swinging a meerkat in the bathroom! No matter .hotel rooms are for sleeping .

The hotel is just a stones throw from the hop on hop off water taxis which are an ideal way explore the many sights of stunning Stockholm.

Highly recommend the buffet breakfast which has a wide variety of food ( some unusual and delicious choices)

Just a word of caution if you are tempted to use the minibar- 980 SEK for a mini bottle of wine (Stockholm!)

Finally, would commend the staff –all very friendly, efficient and helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest r, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your kind comments about Radisson Blu Strand hotel!
I am glad to hear that you had a nice stay here. Our location is perfect for visitors who wants to explore Stockholm and as you wrote, catching the hop on hop off boats is a nice and convenient way to get around in the city. Stockholm is beautiful from the waterside!

It is a pleasure to hear that you liked the breakfast buffet. We strive to offer a buffet with everything you need to get at good start of the day!

Regarding your comment about the bottle of wine in the minibar, the price is 98 SEK and if there has been a mistake I'd like to apologize and ask you to contact us at guest.strand.stockholm@radissonblu.com

I will forward your kind words to all the staff at the hotel and we hope to have the chance to see you soon again!

Kind regards
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The staff is friendly. It is close to the metro and the view is amazing. We barely used the metro at all. We just walked from our hotel. But the beds are amazing! They are like sleeping on a cloud! I don't think I have ever slept in such a comfortable bed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest r, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest,

we are so glad to read your kind comment, thank you! You are welcome back again whenever you need a good night sleep.

Hope to have the pleasure to see you soon,

Kind regards
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed at Radisson Blu Strand for two nights during a recent business trip. One week before my trip, I called Radisson reservation about checking in early as my flight from California gets in Stockholm very early in the morning. After arriving at the lobby, the front desk lady who assisted me told me that there was no room available and therefore I couldn't do an early check in. I asked if there was a note on the file about an early checkin. She replied yes, but there was nothing she could do. I understand that it was not guaranteed, but her demeanor was just cold and not helpful. I proceeded with leaving my luggage with the hotel and ended up wandering around the city for half a day.

However, once checked in, the room was spacious, although a bit chilly even for September weather. WiFi in room was extremely spotty which made it difficult to work. The hotel itself is in a wonderful location with walking distance to a lot of places. The concierge was friendly and warm.
Compared to Hotel Rival where I stayed last time, I would probably not come back to the Radisson.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest r, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to give us feedback here at Tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear that you felt disappointed with the service. This is of course not the way we want our guests to experience the treatment from the staff. Unfortunately it is not always possible to offer an early check in but we want all the guests to feel welcome to our hotel.

If you feel that there is anything we can do for you, please don't hesitate to contact us at guest.strand.stockholm@radissonblu.com

Kind regards
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in December .The rooms are quite expensive .I have no problems paying premium price for anything if I get the quality of it .The room I was assigned to was extremely small .In fact I felt very suffocated. The room however was nice and clean and for a 2 night stay it did not bother me. The breakfast was ok,nothing special .The location however is just out of the world.Situated in Central Stockholm ,close to shopping,bars and everything.Did not interact with the employees there much,but this is a good place to stay if you want proximity to Central Stockholm(Stureplan) but the rooms could be better..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest r, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for commenting on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you like the location of the hotel as much as we do. It is very convienient to stay here and explore Stockholm from our hotel.

We hope to have you staying here again in the future. We can highly recommend our superiour rooms and suites with the amazing view over Nybroviken.

If there is anything we can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact us at guest.strand.stockholm@radissonblu.com

Kind regards
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm

Address: Nybrokajen 9 | Box 16396, Stockholm S-10327, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#35 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#36 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#41 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic hotel located in the heart of Stockholm overlooking the waterfront, near business and recreational sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Rezidor, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm Hotel Stockholm
Radisson Stockholm
Stockholm Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.