We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cain, restaurant with no windows.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caina at Nobis Hotel

Caina at Nobis Hotel
Norrmalmstorg 2-4 | Stockholm, Stockholm 11146, Sweden
+46 8 614 10 30
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #337 of 2,283 Restaurants in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Restaurant Caina is an Italian restaurant located in the Nobis Hotel on Norrmalmstorg, in central Stockholm. Caina serves classic Italian delicacies based on first-rate seasonal ingredients, with a wine list mostly composed of Italian wines. The menu and wine list varies through the year and focuses on different Italian regions during different times of the year. Stefano Catenacci, head of Gastronomy for the Nobis Group, puts it like this: "Here I present my favourites from Italy's various regions, with rustic dishes from the foothills of the Alps, fish and shellfish from the south and classics from Venice, Rome and Milan."
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Cain, restaurant with no windows.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Italian restaurant Cain is located in Hotel Nobis. The food was pretty good but very small portions. One should eat four meals, but we ordered only three. I had no problem finding what I wanted to eat. However, finding the wine that I would consider ordering it was not easy. Why? A few bottles under $ 100 and the rest much more expensive. I always have mixed feelings when a waiter brings food and ask who ordered what. We were just two people. Service was not professional. I do not think that the pricing of food is justified. The restaurant is probably best for hotel guests who are too tired to go out.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    30
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“E-X-C-E-L-L-E-N-T!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Food was simply great, from pasta to fish everything was great! I could have eaten here every night during my stay in Stockholm!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

The food at this Italian styled restaurant is average at best and very expensive. Not worth it in my opinion.

We both has fish dishes and the fish was lovely and fresh but overall the meal was non descript. Service was slow.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
“Italian with high ambitions, not quite there yet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Went to Caina with a friend. It is located in the basement of the Nobis hotel at Norrmalmstorg, a location that once was the home of Martini, another very popular and quite good Italian restaurant. Caina was the Catenacci family's first restaurant in Stockholm, located at Södermalm, now "resurrected" in elegant surroundings. Tried to book online, but it was fully booked. Phoned, and got a table for three. Reviews in financial paper DI said 21 and 22 points out of 25, so expectations were high. This, they didn't reach, but they probably will get there, in the future. Some of the most expensive Italian wines, and a few decently priced. Prestige Champagne by the glass 67% of the price for the same vintage served at Villa Godthem, so prices not that bad. Went straight for the main course, and the portions were rather small, but a good tagliata (beef) with Barolo sauce was served. Also tried a chocolate fondant with various berries for dessert, and liked that as well. The hostess was excellent, very friendly and accomodating, if lacking in experience with Italian names and customs (not required!!). Waiters working as fast as they could, long wait before we got our main course, but that is probably due to logistics in the kitchen (when you don't order a starter or a primo like pasta). In need of a couple of more waiters for a nite like this with a full house. Very noisy when busy (no carpets, nothing to absorb the noise), but elegant, and good Italian food, true to it's ideal. Might venture there again, but the competition among "top notch"/luxury Italians is stiff!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Sorry...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We decided to eat dinner here with close friends as there was a lot of hype about their traditional Italian food etc etc.

The service was awful, despite the fact that we had reserved a table we had to wait for 20 minutes before being seated which is very unusual for Stockholm. After being seated and I kid you not we had to wait another 20m for the menus.

We were offered "Champagne" ( Prosecco) by the highly stressed staff who explained that the restaurant was new and that the staff were overworked...

The ambiance is non existent and the room was very noisy.

Anyway all this could easily be forgiven in exchange for a wonderful meal but alas the food was just about average and not worth the price.

Will not go back, can not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caina at Nobis Hotel also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Caina at Nobis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caina at Nobis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.