We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy their windowless, airless rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stockholm Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stockholm Hostel to your Saves list
Stockholm Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Alstromergatan 15, Stockholm 112 47, Sweden (Kungsholmen)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Enjoy their windowless, airless rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I for one am sick and tired of fresh air and sunshine. That's why I'm so glad that the Stockholm Hostel has almost entirely banished them from their premises! The only windows you'll see are at the entrance. The foyer may have natural light but it still does not have fresh air, because the windows don't open and the front door is unlocked only by a 4-digit code.

In the foyer, one can enjoy the aroma of chlorine. This is probably a by-product of cleaning the bathrooms. Yes, unlike many hostels, the bathrooms here are clean.

Since the hostel is built in what appears to be a former indoor car park between 2 large apartment buildings, there are NO windows in the rooms. When we asked about airing out the rooms, the friendly girl at the front desk gave the following helpful advice: "you can prop your door open with a chair for extra ventilation."

4 of us travelling together had a 4-bunk room. Before we went to sleep, we propped the door open. All the doors in the hostel are very, very heavy, and always SLAM unless you hold them back. It was very inconvenient to prop it open. Anyway, we had to close the door when we went to sleep, because people use the hallway all night and the lights are always on there.

At night, the rooms become very hot and stuffy! And since there is no natural light, one never knows what time it is, and it is very hard to wake up.

What kind of hostel has no windows and no fresh air? This one!

Room Tip: Use air bnb or couchsurfing instead and stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niclas F, Owner at Stockholm Hostel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Hello!

We DO have rooms with windows and our Hostel has a very good Air Condiditioning system. Im sorry if you had a bad stay here but if you would have talked with us in the reception we would have solved your problems and been able to explain to you how you can reserve a room WITH windows and how the AC works :-)

Hope to see you again!

Best regards,

Niclas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    62
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
24
48
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hostel was in a good location and close to public transport but if you want to be in the very heart of things, choose Normalm (shopping), Ostermalm (fancy area) Gamla Stan (old historic centre) or Soedermalm (hipster central). The hostel was clean, modern and the staff were very friendly. Just be aware that most (all?) rooms don't have windows and the air conditioning/ventilation is centrally controlled... so it can get quite stuffy/claustrophobic in the rooms. I found it extremely hard to get going in the mornings without any daylight. 9am felt like the middle of the night! The common room and the kitchen area were very pleasant though and the kitchen seemed clean and well-equipped. Choose a room with a bathroom inside because they seemed to be larger than the room we had with an external bathroom. It's worth paying the extra few kronor for it, trust me!
I can't imagine there being many cheaper options in Stockholm which are as modern and clean as this place, so overall, it's a good choice. Just be aware of the no window situation.

Room Tip: Get a room with an internal bathroom, I think they're bigger than the ones with the external bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Great location, conveniently near several large grocery stores and the metro. The atmosphere is cozy and comfortable and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are very new, clean, and homey. The facilities are wonderful and staying at this hostel definitely contributed to my fond memories of my trip to Stockholm. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niclas F, Manager at Stockholm Hostel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your rating!
We are very glad you liked our Hostel and hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Niclas
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Würselen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed 5 nights with our children (3+5) in the Stockholm Hostel at Kungsholmen. First we had to get used to have a room without window, but as the common area is very light and spacious we tried this experience. And it was wonderful. The hostel is very good located to bus, T-Bana and all shopping facilities. The staff ist friendly and helpful and everything is very clean. They have a good look to little things, so you can receive tea, sugar, hot water and every day fresh fruits for free! The kitchen is well equipped, and you have 2 fridges and 1 freezer to storage your own belongings.
Our children played a lot of "hide and seek" and everybody was friendly. The guests are no "real backpackers", everybody used the free Wifi and the range of age was between 1-70.
Please be aware that most of the rooms do not have windows, with children bring a night light with you, you have to pay additional for linens and towels and you have to do it yourself after check-in. As all the room are very well ventilated, it is not a problem to have no windows. For the bath-room bring along thongs or s. e. when you used the shower everything is wet. But it dried very fasten because of the ventilation.

Room Tip: With kids ask for a room located directly to the kitchen (f. e. No. 11)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Great experience. The staff was friendly, helpfull and super nice.
Location is perfect, easy acess. We stayed in a in suite room that was spacious, clean and very confortable. Really recomend it. Good value too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niclas F, Manager at Stockholm Hostel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you!
Welcome back any time :-)

Best regards,
Niclas
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland, Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

This Nobis hotel is situated in the city centre of Stockholm, when we arrived one of the receptionists was coming to welcome us and checked us in. The lobby is very nice decorated and when we arrived in our room (401) we where surprised. The bed is AWSOME with these knispering sheets and the bathroom was very clean en lovely products from Byredo to use. (I couldn't take them with me because I only carried hand luggage which is such a pity..!!!!!).

The guys at the reception where very friendly and booked our restaurant (Pa&CO) and even the guest list for club V was no problem.. BRAVOO!

Also the breakfast is a really good deal (175 SEK), with fresh bread, croissants, eggs, pancakes, fruits, yoghurts (normal/low fat/goat), Swedish newspapers ;) and I think 6 choices of fruit juices. The waitress was so nice and brought us a lovely cappuccino in the morning. Mjammie!

The first day we had lunch in the Italian lunchroom, which was very good as well!

I would recommend this hotel to everyone because of the high standard of service, situated at walking distance from all highlights and the good food.

Thank you staff of the Nobis, it was great!

Room Tip: We had a room with a view to the city..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niclas F, Manager at Stockholm Hostel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you! Very kind of you!
Hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Niclas
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Stayed at the hostel for one night late August, family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids). Staff is friendly and helpful.

The hostel itself is clean. Room consists of 2 bunk beds, very small and small bathroom also, no window. You will have to pay for linens and towels. We got our own shampoo/soap - bought it from a nearby pharmacy.
internet Wi-Fi is free only in the kitchen and there is also a TV in the kitchen.

Good location, near the subway station.

Stockholm itself is a very expensive city. So in comparison to other cities and what we paid for hotel, this was very expensive. But for Stockholm, this is a basic hostel, no frills, I can fit 4 people in a room, and only one night, it was fine. Don't expect it to be a hotel though, this is a hostel. Everything is basic.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stockholm Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stockholm Hostel

Address: Alstromergatan 15, Stockholm 112 47, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Kungsholmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stockholm Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stockholm Hostel is probably the most modern and tailored hostel in Sweden with a private bathroom in every room. We strive to deliver the best hostel experience in Stockholm and give you most value for money. We have 29 rooms. Everyone features flat screen television, internet access, comfortable beds and a unique design bathroom. The rooms range from 2 beds to 6 beds/room. We got a big beautiful social area in the centre of the hostel for people to meet each other. A big spacious kitchen for cooking any type of food. The location is just perfect. Restaurants and bars are around the corner as well as buses and subways. Shopping centre 50 metres away. According to our guests the best feature we got is our high service minded staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Stockholm Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stockholm Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.