We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice Irish Pub in the Old Town in Stockholm.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Liffey Irish pub

The Liffey Irish pub
Stora Nygatan 42 | Gamla Stan, Stockholm, Sweden
08-21 80 25
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
The Liffey Irish pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #250 of 2,118 Restaurants in Stockholm
Price range: $14 - $22
Cuisines: American, Irish, International, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
“Really nice Irish Pub in the Old Town in Stockholm.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Very nice Irish Pub in Stockholm, situated in Gamla Stan (Old Town). It's lying on a calmer street, and the interior is giving you that real pub-feeling. I have been here twice, and I really liked the visit both times. The food is really very good, and the staff is friendly. It's really worh a visit!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    25
    6
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Food & Great World Cup Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Was in Stockholm on business during the early stages of the World Cup, and my Irish colleague recommended The Liffey for both atmosphere and food. Happy to report he was right. The atmosphere was great for a World Cup match, with the place filling up starting around 5 minutes prior to kickoff. The beer selection is decent, featuring Scandinavian and German options as well as the expected Guinness. My fish'n'chips were very good (nice filet, crunchy crust, not greasy, over proper chips), and my colleague reported his sirloin and potatoes as being quite good as well. Service was slow, but the servers and bar tenders were all quite friendly. Great location in Gamla Stan, which made for a nice mid-summer evening walk back to the hotel.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Excellent food and good service in the old part of Stockholm, worth a visit. Cost about £60 for 2 courses each and 1 alcoholic drink each.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“There is nothing Irish about this pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Me and my boyfriend called into this pub to watch a football match while we were away. It's really nice pub, lovely interior, more than one toilet which I was pleased to see and another quieter bar downstairs. However how it can call itself an Irish Bar I have no idea. The furniture was dark and square exactly like what you would see in ikea., there was a tokenistic bodhran hanging on the wall and the window art was over the top with Paddy's day paint despite it was two weeks previous. The art on the wall, although pretty resembled a hotel bar or hallway and certainly not an Irish bar. If you can ignore the name then it is a lovely pub but Irish it certainly is not.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worth to go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

İf you are traveling alone, a nice and confortably spacious bar to sit and have a dinner has a friendly athmospher. Service were a litle bit slow (it took 30minutes ) but it is quite normal for a friday night..

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Liffey Irish pub also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to The Liffey Irish pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Liffey Irish pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.