We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year in Sweden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mosebacke Hostel

Mosebacke Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mosebacke Hostel to your Saves list
Mosebacke Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Hogbergsgatan 26 | Sodermalm, Stockholm 116 20, Sweden (Södermalm)   |  
Hotel amenities
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“New Year in Sweden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Nice place with good design, modest breakfasts and lack of windows in the rooms.
Even though, we very very satisfied with doubles and wi-fi works great

Room Tip: not on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    21
    24
    6
    6
See reviews for
3
27
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011 via mobile

This hostel is clean, modern, the staff are friendly. The breakfast is great. The only downside is the lack of bathrooms and the walls are very very thin, so fingers crossed you dont have a noisey neighbour! Overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed in a double room for a few nights - it seemed to be the only affordable and clean choice with a private room that we could find.
But, with no windows in our room, it felt really small, and the ceiling's really low. It was also in the summer and got unbelievably stuffy in there, since there was no fan and no way to control the central air conditioning. We ended up propping our door open overnight, but the hall just outside our room was also really stuffy. We borrowed a fan from the very helpful staff for the next nights and that was much nicer.

Other than the room, the design of the lobby and space was stylish, nice, and the location is excellent -- walking distance to many things.
There only seemed to be one bathroom in the front lobby for everyone upstairs, and the floor was constantly wet, but it wasn't super busy.

I'd recommend it as a budget choice, but warn tall or claustrophobic people. It's not a loud hostel with rowdy party-goers, so that was nice, but the walls are definitely thin.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We booked a twin room. The beds were really nice and comfortable. The room was clean and nice.
The room didn't have any window but we were aware of that when we booked, so it didn't really bother us. And there was a fan in the room so it was alright.
The toilets weren't that clean, which is probably the only down side.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, nice to talk to. The breakfast was ok, corn flakes and toast.
The hostel is located at Sodermalm, close to great bars and clubs.. Easy to walk to Slussen and Medborgarplatsen.
So if your looking for a central and budget friendly yet nice and clean hostel, you should definitely go for Mosebacke.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Due to a late change in plans i had to find someplace to stay. Mosebacke was the only available option with a decent price but I wish I had stayed somewhere else.

Small rooms without windows. An A/C-system that was very weak, bad sound insulation and a breakfast that left quite a bit to wish for.
As the previous poster said, the bathrooms and shower areas are terrible. Always damp, due to lack of door between showers / wash baisins. Often no paper on the toilet, dirty in general with dead ants in the ceiling.

The only positive is the location. Based in the best part of Söder, which i think is the best are to stay when visiting. If you have good weather it is doable, but if you have rain and cold weather and have to stay in the hostel, it really is a poor place to stay.

If the cost was 300-500 Kronor (30-50€) for a double room I would be more "understanding" (except for the toilets!), but we payed 800 kronor/night and it was not worth it

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geldrop, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed in a doublebed-room, including breakfast (kosts 40 kr. if you book only a bed). The room was small, but nice and clean. The beds were nice and soft. There was no window in the room, which made it a little bit claustofobic. There is WiFi in the hotel, but no computer, so bring your laptop if you want to have internet.
The bathrooms are clean and have a lot of showers, but they are together in a big space, not separate.
The hostel is in Sodermalm and it is about 15 minutes walk to the old town and about half an hour from the central station.
We hade late check-in and the key for our room was in a key-locker. We should have received a code for the door and key-locker, but we didn't and were lucky that someone from the hostel was still there to open the door and the locker. Monday after a day walking around we couldn't come in to the hostel, because they changed the code, but didn't tell us. Another visitor opened the door.
The breakfast was ok. There was bread, knackebrod, and muesli and cornflakes, cheese, meat, milk, yoghurt, tea, coffee and orangejus.
If you just want to visit the city and don't be in your room the whole day, it's a good hostel!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

I stayed at this hostel with my fiancé as we visited Stockholm briefly in early May. The place is trendy and modern, has free wi-fi, breakfast included in the price, friendly staff and clean rooms and it's located in a beautiful area. The shared bathroom wasn't great but that's the only minus.

Gamla Stan (Old Town) is within walking distance from the hostel and so are nearest metro and bus stops. The famous and amazing vegetarian buffet restaurant Hermans is just around the corner and Viking Line terminal is 20 min walk away in case you are taking a ferry to Finland.

Warmly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mosebacke Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosebacke Hostel

Address: Hogbergsgatan 26 | Sodermalm, Stockholm 116 20, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mosebacke Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Mosebacke Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mosebacke Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.