We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for budget-minded, but otherwise nothing to recommend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kungsbron Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kungsbron Hotel to your Saves list
Kungsbron Hotel
Vastra Jarnvagsgatan 17, Stockholm 111 64, Sweden (Norrmalm)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Vilnius
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Perfect location for budget-minded, but otherwise nothing to recommend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I usually do not pay much heed to the moods and graces of the receptionists, but at Kungsbron it was somewhat exceptional. In all my experience I have never seen such a sour-faced young lady -oh, maybe only in olden times in unlamented Soviet Union where staff rudeness was notorious. I had distinct impression that we were not guests at the hotel, but unwanted intruders who had interrupted something interesting and pleasant.
Windowless room was not a shock to me, I knew what to expect. And, apparently, the ventilation has improved since the last visitors, because though it was warm outdoors, the room was not stuffy at all. Actually, the room was a pleasant surprise, as it was spacey enough and very clean, as was bathroom. We did not have breakfast, so I can’t comment on that.
Adding to unpleasant things, there was everlasting (or so it seemed) clutter of cleaners’ trolleys in the maze of narrow corridors, so that you got stuck with your luggage in the morning, early and late afternoon. Though, one has to admit, the cleaners, contrary to the receptionists, were nice, smiley and apologetic. Another thing is elevator, to operate which you had to spend some time reading instructions (naturally, no-one bothered to come up and offer an explanation).

Room Tip: If you never had experience in a windowless room, take care when booking for more than one night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    89
    68
    25
    14
See reviews for
19
55
24
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was stayed for 3 days and 2 nights and my first impression was ruined since I need to wait 2hrs before I got my room in 3.30pm. After I got my key and go to the room my impression was even worst. It just like a small room in a bunker, no window, no ventilation, at all.
The wifi service is acceptable and its for free. The breakfast was ordinary, but it taste good.
The good thing is this hotel is near to the central station and that's it, nothing more.
You better think really carefully to choose this hotel, especially if you have a breathing problem or a closterphobic. If there is no other option, perhaps you can pick the room with window, at least there's some air circulates in your room.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows are highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

A friend and I booked a twin room (two single beds) for one night at Kungsbron Hotel for a weekend trip to Stockholm. Whilst we were pleased with the location and good accessibility to the Central Station, the hotel has some areas for major improvement.

Let me start with the hotel reception staff: they were generally rude and entirely unhelpful. Asking for directions was met with hostility and disregard. In particular, hotel reception clerk, Yvette, had a totally unprofessional and rude demeanor throughout our stay. She argued with me when I asked for directions to Old Town saying "it was impossible to get lost". From observation, she a is very impatient and hostile person who should not be working in a hospitality role. Other hotel staff were not as rude, however still incompetent and had no knowledge of Stockholm's sights, etc. Upon asking about how to get to Djurgarden which is a highly popular and well known park and gardens with museums, etc., we were told by reception staff "I don't really know about anything in Stockholm, check with the tourist office". And finally, when asking for simple directions via the Metro to one of Stockholm's other well known sights, reception staff directed us to an area outside the city and we had absolutely no idea where we were. Needless to say, one would expect hotel staff to be knowledgeable about directions and general sightseeing information. Don't expect that at this hotel. You will be on your own!

Next the room itself. Like may other reviewers, our room was located below ground in windowless room. We didn't think this would be an issue until we checked in and noticed how hot and uncomfortable the room's temperature felt. Be aware that in summertime this can be quite uncomfortable and the rooms can get very stuffy. On the plus side, the bathroom was nice, clean and spacious. Also, the beds were comfortable, and there was a large high quality television in the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights, and I wish to have changed hotels after the first one.

Hotel: Good location, but there are many others around as well. Bad WiFi connection. Uncomfortable reception area. And best of all, to get to the rooms you go downstairs, which combined with the lack of windows gives a very strange/bad overall feeling.
Rooms: Small does not start to cover it. If you open the suitcase on the floor, you have to leave the room. Bed enclosed by the walls on 3 sides, NO windows, NO wardrobe or similar.
Breakfast: Way too basic, mediocre quality.
In general a very bad experience that I will not have again.

Room Tip: If you really must stay here, beg for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

If you are closterphobic, then do not book the lower priced room with no window. The room is small, bed is up to the wall, so if you need to get up and you are the one "against" the wall, you have to maneuver your way to the foot of the bed.. But it does have a great location right behind the Central station, and near restaurants, busses etc.. Breakfast is extra$, but very good. For just an overnight, it's OK...I am not closterphobic, but I felt like I was in prison or something... Strange setup and for a few more dollars get a nicer room in Stockholm.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel has the best soundproofing I have ever experienced at a hotel! Even though the central station for Stockholm is across the street, I couldn't hear a single thing through the window. The rooms are small, but the price, location, and green environmental initiatives make it worthwhile. Since many commuters go through the central station, there are plenty of convenience stores and coffee shops. Transport to the airport and tourist attractions is simple.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hayle
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Recently stayed here for two nights whilst having the pleasure of seeing Justin Bieber in concert in Stockholm and I couldn't fault it. It was a lot cheaper than other Stockholm hotels and the rooms were funky, modern, clean and comfortable with the added bonus of a lovely flatscreen tv as well( which had the added bonus of showing live premier league football). The bathroom was also a good size and had the most wonderfully powerful shower which was invigorating and refreshing.

The only drawbacks is that there is no windows, and the rooms are very dark with the lights off and believe me you have no idea of what time it is when you wake up with no natural light to guide you, and also found the hotel difficult to locate, as if you happen to walk out the wrong exit of the train station(as we did) you can spend hours looking for it !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kungsbron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kungsbron Hotel

Address: Vastra Jarnvagsgatan 17, Stockholm 111 64, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Kungsbron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kungsbron Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.