We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice rooms, average food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Stockholm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Stockholm to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Stockholm
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ralambshovsleden 50 | Rålambshovsleden 50, Stockholm 112 19, Sweden   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #16 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Hook, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice rooms, average food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel is nicely situated between 2 of the metro stations only a few minutes away. This makes it convenient to get into the city centre. The room was extremely clean and the plumbing in the bathroom was exceptional. The panel near the TV to plug in your own devices was a nice touch as it did make things easier rather than have to reach around the TV as I have done so many times in other hotels. The breakfast was average. It was in the continental style and served bacon, eggs, saussages etc as well as bread related food. Again, the quality was average. In summary, I had a pleasant stay there and would stay again if I am ever in Stockholm again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    367
    62
    15
    7
See reviews for
110
305
61
207
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My friend and I stayed July 7-9, 2013. We arrived about 10 am after tired after an all night flight from Washington, D.C. We were pleasantly surprised that our room was ready for us. The front desk staff, specifically Cecilla and Marta were lovely and very helpful and answered all our questions from directions to the Metro to where to have an authentic (non-touristy) dinner, to what bus we needed to take to get to the terminal for our cruise ship. They were accommodating and friendly and made our introduction to Stockholm delightful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Stockholm, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Stockholm. I will make sure that the staff mentioned in your review will be extra recogniszed.
I hope to see you with us again in the future and wish you all an onward nice summer.
Martin Åkesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on holiday. The hotel is quite a far walk from the tourist attractions, however, with 2 of the metro stations close by (5mins walk), we found the location very convenient as we had the 72hour public transport passes. Hop on the metro and every place in Stockholm can be easily accessed quickly.

Remember to buy the package with breakfast as there is nothing much around to eat breakfast at. In addition, the breakfast served each morning was very good and there was a large selection of food. It was very good value for money (we paid £10/person to add on the breakfast when we booked the hotel). We loved the mini croissants! If you don't like scrambled eggs, you can also order omelettes, sunny side up eggs from the cook or waitresses around. They even cook eggs with egg whites only if you request it!

There is free wifi at the hotel and we also appreciated the fact that they provided computers and a printer on level 3 so we could check in online and print our boarding passes for free.

The room is new, clean, large and has a king sized bed which was very comfortable to sleep on. It has all the necessary amenities: air conditioning, fridge, hair dryer, coffee and tea facilities.

The only hiccup to the stay preventing it from being rated 5 stars overall was that on the last night, the room was not made up properly. They forgot to refill the milk, only provided one face towel and did not replace the used glasses and mugs (there was only water in them but I would still have expected these to be replaced as they are used).

This hiccup does not detract the fact that we enjoyed our stay in the hotel. The hotel was also very reasonably priced. Our stay was approx £100/night with breakfast for 2.

Would stay in the hotel again if i visited Stockholm again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Stockholm, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you so much and I am happy you enjoyed your stay.
Most welcome back!
Martin Åkesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungary
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Courtyard Marriott Stockholm is a very nice hotel that is well presented. Rooms are nice, clean, and comfortable although the beds are too firm for me (as are the beds and pillows in other Courtyard Marriott Hotels where I've stayed).

Good air conditioning, a mini fridge, and beautiful view from the room overlooking the park in front. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful which was a big plus.

The negatives:
1. The hotel sits just far enough outside of town to make it a bit inconvenient although it's in a very quiet area.

2. Location of hotel is down a steep hill from street level and accessing it is difficult, especially with bags, luggage, etc.... a hill full of steps on one side of the hotel and a very steep walkway on the other. Either way is difficult particularly going up! Even with just one carry-on bag, it was extremely trying and frankly unpleasant.

3. Very disappointed with the breakfast buffet. It was very lacking the day I was there with not a lot of selection and variety, especially compared to other hotels in Stockholm. In addition, the scrambled eggs were horrible... tasted like glue was used and made it virtually inedible. I mentioned this to the breakfast hostess/manager, but offered me nothing other than telling me she would mention it to the chef. For me, the whole breakfast experience was completely unacceptable for a hotel of this caliber.

All in all, it's a very nice hotel with great front desk staff, but given the price, location, bad breakfast experience, and very poor accessibility, I will not choose it again when I return to Stockholm.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher level overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Stockholm, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your review and I hope that the overall impression of the hotel wasa good one.
I do understand your opinions abouth that it might be hard to access the hotel from the backside of it with suitcases and so on. It iis some extra metrers to walk if you do not carry your bags down the stairs. For your next visit also the metrostation Thorildsplan might be a better alternative if travelling with heavy bags. That is located more in the same level as the hotel main entrance.

Please accept my apologize for not finding any delicious alternatives for breakfast. Usually we get really great review for our selection and variety for breakfast. I will see to that the standard is as always at our breakfast and make sure this standard is kept, always.
Please accept my sincere apologize for the problems experienced.

I hope anyhow that you will give us a second chance and hope to see you with us again in the future.
Best regards
Martin Åkesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our pre-Christmas family weekend in Stockholm at the Marriott Courtyard. The hotel is reasonably centrally located at a pleasant (but for us cold... well it was December!) 20-minute walk to the Old Town and its cobbled streets, pretty shops and market. The hotel is modern and having stayed several times for business we chose to stay for our family trip... and we had a great weekend in beautiful Stockholm. The Hotel staff were friendly, helpful and polite... the restaurant was a little pricey but the food was excellent and although a chain hotel, it has a clean modern feel with plenty of areas to relax and have a cocktail made by the super-friendly bar team. Hotel rooms/beds are equally modern, clean and comfortable - all good. Loved our stay and would definitely choose the hotel again when we go back to Sweden.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Stockholm, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and remembering us so well half a year after you stay. Must have been memorable then!
Hope to see you with us again for more Christmas holidays.
Martin Åkesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Using Tripadvisor's advice we booked the Courtyard Marriott in advance via booking.com and were delighted when we finally got here. It is a new, spacious and very comfortable hotel in a pleasant parkland area within walking distance of the City and Old Town. The subway is a 5 min. walk away and only two stops from Central station. The breakfast buffet is excellent with a wide-range of everything, including a great range of fresh bread types. The same area operates as a restaurant in the evenings and the food is good, presented in interesting ways and in very generous helpings. Stockholm is an expensive city and the Marriott is not cheap, but it is very competitive, and the friendliness of the staff is a big plus.
We arrived at 9.30 in the morning and were delighted to find that rooms were available, and similarly when we left for a late-afternoon flight an extended check-out until 3pm was not a problem.
We wanted to visit the ABBA museum where it is recommended to book on-line, and the concierge helped with the whole process including printing out the voucher which you need to then print-out your tickets from a machine in the museum lobby. We leave today to return to Australia and will be sorry to leave. Also if you would like a change of scenery, the La Brezza Restaurant in the street immediately behind the hotel is recommended. It produces a range of genuine Italian dishes, again not cheap, but very nice all the same.

Room Tip: The hotel is situated in a pleasant parkland area and noise was never a problem. All rooms should b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Stockholm, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
I am happy you enjoyed both he hotel and the suroundings of it.
Hope to see you with us again in the future.
Martin Åkesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Easily one of the best experiences we've had in a hotel. First time in Sweden and am completely impressed by their courtesy and friendliness. No matter what time, day or night, they were more than eager to help us in any way possible. Treated us with the respect and kindness that you would like to expect as a customer, but seems so often lost in modern society. You get the feeling that they actually care for you while you're there. In particular, a trainee, Martin, who was more helpful than most other experienced staff I've seen in other hotels.

As for the actual amenities and facilities - no complaints whatsoever. Good location, easy access, decent view (from the higher floors), clean, spacious, comfortable.

Would go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: Choose one of the higher floors for a good escapism feel and view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Stockholm, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for stayng witgh us and I am happy you enjoyed your stay. I will make sure Martin get special recognistion for his Spirit to serve also!
Best regards
Martin Åkesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Stockholm

Address: Ralambshovsleden 50 | Rålambshovsleden 50, Stockholm 112 19, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#11 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#12 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#12 Best Value Hotel in Stockholm
#14 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Stockholm 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Stockholm Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Stockholm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.