We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopped on...and stayed, but missed the last one.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stromma Open Top Tours Hop On – Hop Off Bus

Stromma Open Top Tours Hop On – Hop Off Bus
Svensksundsvagen 17, Stockholm 111 49, Sweden
+46(0)8-12 00 40 00
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$32*
and up
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since the end of the 90´s Open Top Tours have run sightseeing tours with the characteristic double decked busses with open roofs. The busses have always been in use for so called Hop-on Hop-off tours where you choose where you like to get on and off to visit the different sights at your own pace.
Lohja, Finland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Hopped on...and stayed, but missed the last one.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We arrived in Stockholm in mid-December; a very snowy day, and had pre-purchased our tickets from Viking Line on board. The bus was waiting when we got off ship, and luckily still there, as we docked late. The driver spoke English well enough, and we went aboard to top level. Great way to see the city, when you only have 6 hours, before having to be back at the boat.
What he didn't tell us, was that the last bus to get back to the boat was at 2:30, and we should have probably thought enough to ask as well. So by the time we walked around a bit, found the next stop, and saw the times, we were too late, and ended up having to catch a taxi, in a snow storm to make it to the boat in time. Lesson learned.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna K, Web communicator at Stromma Open Top Tours Hop On – Hop Off Bus, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Hello, and thank you for your review! We´re sorry that the information was poor, but happy that you got back to your ship in time. Welcome back to Stockholm, maybe in the summer... :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    33
    17
    32
    48
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skala Kallonis, Greece
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
87 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Hop on hop off boats-most splendid way to see stockholm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

As we were on a cruise, and Stockholm was a port of call, the hop on/off boats were a brilliant and most easy way to see all we wanted to see quickly, and inexpensively- 30euro for a family of 4, with all day access around Stockholm- they pick you up right outside the port area(depending on where you're docked), we got to see the vasa museum (go first if you plan to do this as it gets really busy after 11am), the gamla stan and the palace and go back to our cruise ship- we even got in the changing of the guards ceremony which was great, and a free tour of their parliament! The only negative was that be forewarned- leave at least a couple of hours earlier than you're due, because the boats get really hectic after around 2.30pm, and getting to the ship on time is essential! These boats helped make Stockholm one of the hightlights to our trip!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna K, Web communicator at Stromma Open Top Tours Hop On – Hop Off Bus, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Hi! Thank you for your review! Nice to read that Stockholm became one of the highlights, and that our hop-on hop-off boat helped with that! Take care and welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good views but old equipment and no boats in September”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The bus was quite old and many of the headsets didnt work on one route. Off peak there are big gaps between buses, so prepare to wait in the cold!! However, the commentary is interesting and the route is well thought out. Tickets last all day and can include boat tours in the summer (none in the autumn sadly)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna K, Web communicator at Stromma Open Top Tours Hop On – Hop Off Bus, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments. It sounds as though you liked our tour even though some things were not perfect. The headsets are checked daily, but break downs happen on rare occasions. We hope you still enjoyed the tour!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stockholm City Hop-on Hop-off Boat Tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked this boat with a pre-paid voucher from Viator. It was very easy to reach from the cruise terminal, however as we approached we were heckled from two kiosks both screaming for our business, it was difficult to know which one to go to, and when we showed our voucher they said it didn't have enough info. We insisted and were eventually given tickets but still had to decide for ourselves which boat to get on. Having found it, the trip was very good with headphones etc for commentary and a heater which helped to dry our wet clothes! I would recommend paying on the day and not pre-booking, as it was 10 euros at the kiosk and we had paid £9.50 to Viator.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna K, Web communicator at Stromma Open Top Tours Hop On – Hop Off Bus, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
The competition is rather hectic on some days, and sometimes it is more like a market place than a departure point. We work closely with the harbor authorities in making the right arrangements for all companies to respect certain basic rules and regulations that keeps our possible clients free from situations that are more of a chaos than a good marketing environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Interesting tour,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Good tour, gave a good overview of Stockholm, recommend the combined tour which ncludes the harbor tor which we enjoyed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stromma Open Top Tours Hop On – Hop Off Bus also viewed

 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Stromma Open Top Tours Hop On – Hop Off Bus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stromma Open Top Tours Hop On – Hop Off Bus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.