We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay for the night before your next adventure. Next door to Arlanda airport.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jumbo Stay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Jumbo Stay to your Saves list
Jumbo Stay
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Jumbovagen 4 | Arlanda Airport, Stockholm SE-190 47, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay for the night before your next adventure. Next door to Arlanda airport.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Really nice and clean, a bit small rooms but hey, they are inside a jumbo jet! Good connections to Arlanda airport, free bus every 15 minutes most of the day, about five minutes ride there. Afternoon pass available, about half price, if you need to rest during the day. Checkout at ten. Breakfast included.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    71
    33
    9
    1
See reviews for
25
38
71
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bergen county NJ
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We got into Sweden late in the afternoon and had an early morning flight so this hostel was very convenient. It was about a 5 minute free shuttle ride from the airport to the plane. You cant wear shoes in the plane so they give you slippers. The way that they changed a plane into a hostel is really cool. The cockpit is a sitting areas with snacks and a reception. We stayed in a dorm style room which was cheaper then some of the other rooms. It was small but not claustrophobic. There are bathrooms with showers down the end of the hall and each room haw power sockets and a tv. They provide linens and towels. Its not close to the city center or any activities and the rooms are a bit small to want to make this your home base but it is really convenient if you have to be at the airport early, or you get in from a flight late. It is a neat experience and a novelty. The people who worked there were very nice and they start serving breakfast at 3am for the early morning flights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hostel is close to the airport (the 1st stop on the airport shuttle) and is great for novelty value.

We stayed there for 1 night and I think thats all you would want to stay, as it is very far from the city centre and it IS a hostel, so you are sleeping in small rooms with bunk beds and have to share a toilet with other guests.

However, it is very cool to stay on a converted plane, the staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast is included. I do not think it is GREAT value for money, but Stockholm is a very expensive city, so it is still a lot cheaper than other places.

Probably lots of fun if you have children.

Room Tip: We stayed in a twin share room (2 people share 1 bunk bed). Shared toilet. I would not want to go in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I spent a night here as I had an early flight out of Arlanda Airport the next morning. Jumbo Stay was a great hotel stay, in that it was an interesting novelty experience. The rooms are not big, but perfectly clean and comfortable. There are power sockets and bed lights next to each bed, and there is a tv in the room that had some Swedish channels available. It is quite fun to look out the windows and realise you're in a plane!

The food is nothing impressive (not unlike airplane food really!), there are some ready made meals that can be microwaved, and average sandwiches, along with packaged sweets and snack foods. The bathrooms are clean and well-kept. The elevator to get in and out of the hotel is a bit tricky, it requires the button to be held until the doors automatically open, but it's better than trying to climb the stairs! There is a shuttle bus to and from the airport that takes about 3 minutes, excellent for late arrivals and early departures alike.

All in all, it's an amusing choice for a night's stay when you have to get to the airport early the next morning, though not worth considering if you plan on exploring central Stockholm.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

very nice hotel, especially for kids who really enjoyed it. Rooms are obviously quite small
but did not expect anything different. Rooms and toilet are very clean.
Breakfast could be improved a little bit both in quantity and quality but anyway a good choice for a night
before an early flight

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I unfortunately missed my plane home in July 2012 and was looking for an inexpensive place to sleep. The Jumbo Stay was a very pleasant surprise, with a single room for round about SEK 480.-. I really loved the way they converted the airplane to a very clean and bright hostel.
The room had a large bed and a smaller bunk bed above. The bed was comfy and I had a very relaxing sleep. TV, free WiFi was included in the room. The WiFi signal was pretty weak in my room (at the end of the plane), but it still worked for me. Bathrooms were at the end of the aisle (appropriate word here, right?), and all three were clean and in flawless condition.
There was not enough time to taste the breakfast (served from 3 am). But I'll definitely return to check out the cockpit suite and spend more time in this great hostel. I'll just plan it ahead instead of an unplanned (and expensive) stay by missing a flying plane... ;-)

Room Tip: There currently a huge add on the plane's eastern side. If you want a completely unrestricted vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This hostel was amazing!! It is really interesting to see how they have converted a jumbo jet into a hostel... and it is much more spacious than I expected. The beds are so comfortable and everything is incredibly clean. The bathrooms are a decent size too, but I couldn't figure out how not to get so much water all over the place. The staff were so wonderful and helpful. The elevator seems a bit odd, but it works well once you realize you absolutely have to hold the down or up button the whole time you are in it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not so close to reception because it's near the airport, people check in at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jumbo Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumbo Stay

Address: Jumbovagen 4 | Arlanda Airport, Stockholm SE-190 47, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Jumbo Stay 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the only hotel located inside a real authentic Boeing 747, Jumbojet. The aircraft was first flewn in 1976. Last journey was from Dublin to Stockholm in 2002. We have a nice wing walk / terrasse on the left wing, perfect for plane spotting. Our bar and cafe are open for everyone all days in the week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jumbo Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumbo Stay Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jumbo Stay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.