We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soo cool!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Story Hotel Riddargatan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Story Hotel Riddargatan to your Saves list
Story Hotel Riddargatan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riddargatan 6, Stockholm 114 35, Sweden (Östermalm)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brindisi, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Soo cool!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoyed it: cool an young atmosphere, amazing breakfast (can't help to eat salmon in the morning in the Nordics... And this was soo fresh!), original design for the rooms. Plus a lot of cool pubs around. But best of all, the elevator: get a room on the second floor, and it will tell you the lyrics of my name is luka! U can't help doing up and down a couple of times ;)

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    193
    41
    16
    6
See reviews for
26
217
30
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Firstly, the Story Hotel is in a very good location. Secondly, the breakfast is good.

However, the hotel is very self consciously 'cool', a bit like a teenager wearing a baseball cap sideways.

The rooms are tiny, we were in a standard room, which might have been bearable for a one night stay, but which became very irritating after a couple of days, and infuriating by the end of a six night stay.

The bar is very expensive, even by central Stockholm standards, and is subjected to booming club music, which is quite inappropriate for a hotel bar. We are not against music in bars, but it is nice to be able to talk, rather than have to shout, as if in a club, or a student disco.

The are better hotels nearby at similar prices, perhaps less 'cool', but rather more practical.

Room Tip: Take the biggest room you can get. Do not take one of the rooms above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Story Hotel in a trendy areas of Stockholm. It is a visually interesting hotel with artistic and cool design elements employed in the rooms and throughout the hotel- we particularly enjoyed the voice over that greets you each day in the elevator- very funny. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice including our favourite a Swedish delight= smoked salmon, gravalax. It is well located within walking distance to most interesting sights throughout the city. We recommend doing a day island cruise and definitely visiting the VASA Museum. The bar attached to the hotel is very popular with the after work crowd and a fun and energetic place to stop by for a drink. We highly recommend the local restaurant on the same street up the hill (sorry forgot the name of it) it looks dull on the outside- the food is beautiful however. We indulged on our trip for my partner's 40th birthday and went out of the city centre to an amazing restaurant "Restaurant Lux" -a special treat that requires advance booking. Gamla Stan the historic quarter is absolutely gorgeous and we spent a couple of days meandering through out this area, eating, window shopping and of course drinking our way through the winding cobblestone paths. Stockholm is pretty and the Story Hotel was a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Story Hotel has everything: cool & chic design, friendly staff, wonderful food - breakfast, lunch, and dinner (this is the first time I dare say I'd rather eat hotel food!), fast working wifi, affordability, location, etc. etc. you name it! I will definitely stay here again if I ever go back to Stockholm. Thank you everyone at Story Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We spent 5 days in the Lily Dam Suite. The hotel looks lovely, and has the novelty (and cost cutting exercise) of asking guests to check themselves in. This is all very easy, but as the hotel has a popular bar and restaurant, there is no way of telling who is a guest and who is a customer. You do encounter staff, but there is no sense that they recognise you as a guest. It all feels a bit lacking somehow.

The Lily Dam Suite (room 511) isn't as big as the pictures on the website suggest. There was just a standard clothes rail with a few hangers for storage. There were 3 TVs, but one wasn't tuned in and another didn't work at all. The balconies were grimy and dirty and felt more like you had just crawled out onto the roof. One had a drain pipe that actually fed water into the middle of the balcony. The water then just collected and eventually seeped away. Both balconies are in desperate need of painting.

The mini bar was an empty fridge with a note saying that we could buy stuff to put in it.

The bed was king size, but with two child size, thin, single duvets, and the flattest pillows I've ever seen.

In the 5 days we were there, the room was made up twice, but the complimentary Face toiletries were never replenished. It would be best to bring your own.

When we checked out, we left our bags and had a last 6 hours in Stockholm. During this time we got caught in the most torrential rain storm. We limped back to the hotel literally soaked to the skin. We found a member of staff. She looked at us and said 'Oh. You want your bags?'. With water running down our faces, we asked if we could possibly use a room to change in and dry our hair. She said no but that we could use the public toilet in the restaurant. Having spent £320 a night for 5 nights, I had hoped for a little better service.

When we finally left, the girl was still there. She looked at us but said nothing.

We won't be returning to Story. The hotel is more like a fancy hostel. There are no amenities. No gym. Extremely weak WiFi that cuts out every 20 minutes. Indifferent staff. There is no wow factor.

Room Tip: Don't get flash and fork out for the most expensive rooms. Just use it as a place to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This hotel is the perfect base from where to explore Stockholm city. Right around the corner you have the main shopping street - Haute couture and then some. Within walking distance you have numerous restaurants, bars and shops. Mathallen - the place to go for fresh produce is close by - must be visited. The hotel has an internet check-in - but there is also a person there to help you. There are no keys, just a code - perfect! The bar is very popular, and the restaurant serves delicious food, and if the weather is nice - book a table in the backyard. There is a small french restaurant next to the hotel - I do recommend it. The food is to die for, and it is as noisy and packed with interesting and lovely people as a restaurant would be in St-Germain-des-Pres-Paris. The bed is perfect for a good nights sleep. Just be sure you don´t get a room over the bar - it can be too noisy. The breakfast is wonderful - fresh orange juice, musli, croissants etc. They sell these amazing teacups with their logo on - made by a swedish designer...I already have one.

Room Tip: Stay away from the lower floors - if you don´t like music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Hip but not too styled.It manages to still feel comfortable and homely.
I stayed in the super squeeze room, and although it has a single bed it still had a beautiful bathroom and plenty of space for luggage etc.
I knew about the automated check in but was pleased to find that there is always a friendly member of staff available at the door.
I was travelling alone for business and found the bar a great place to hang out and people watch, and the location is perfect, right in the heart of the fashion district.
Breakfast was good plenty of choice.
I have just booked this hotel again for my next trip and am looking forward to it already!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Story Hotel Riddargatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Story Hotel Riddargatan

Address: Riddargatan 6, Stockholm 114 35, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Östermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#8 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Story Hotel Riddargatan 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very unique hotel in the very city center of Stockholm. The style is inspired by a combination of urban New York restaurants and bohemian Paris hotels. Located just steps away from Stureplan the Story Hotel provides full service:A lively bar and restaurant, 24-hour room service, free wireless Internet, luxurious Jensen beds, sheets made from organic wool, a safe and a fridge in every room. You should try it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, T4B, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Story Hotel Riddargatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Story Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Story Hotel Riddargatan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.