We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lydmar Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lydmar Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lydmar Hotel
Sodra Blasieholmshamnen 2 | PO Box 161 96, Stockholm 103 24, Sweden (Norrmalm)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 160 hotels in Stockholm
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The rooms are big and very comfortable, the breakfast is very good and excellent staff. The location is perfect! Walking distance to many interesting places in Stockholm ..............................................................................................................

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex G, Director of Sales at Lydmar Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Welcome back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    34
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
97
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed in the this hotel recently on a business trip. When I first walked in (albeit) late at night from the airport - there was noone on reception which annoyed me. Also there was a large picture of a woman breastfeeding behind reception...not a painting...a photo!

The a very scruffily dressed but lovely girl showed up (jeans and a vest top) and directed me to my room.

In my room there was another photo of a naked woman in thigh high boots on the wall behind my bed.

Naked photos aside (why are they never of men btw?) The hotel has a lot of edgy but cosy Nordic charm. Its cosy enough to feel like home but edgy enough to let you know that some thought went into it's design, although I am not sure what those thoughts were! Nudity doesn't bother me but perhaps this hotel isn't for the easily offended.

Service is breezy and sweet. Very informal for such an expensive hotel...

I liked it but I would say it was the world's safest bet for recommendation!

Location is perfect however and I slept like a dream.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I came here at the end of the summer and could not have been happier. The staff was so helpful from the moment we walked in and once the doors opened we knew we were in for a special experience. Everything about this hotel is very unique and trendy. It really makes you feel like you are in a special hotel. From the beautiful breakfasts that make you feel right at home to the comfortable beds and decorations in the rooms. We looked at many places to stay while in Stockholm and we could not have been happier that this was our choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Located next to the Grand Hotel, the Lydmar equals the Grand only as to location. It surpasses it in many other ways as far as we are concerned. It's entrance is modest but once inside, it has the feel of a small club. The high ceilings and large windows add to the ambiance. We stayed in the Classic room and though small, it was well thought-out in terms of space usage. The bathroom was spacious and had a great shower. The breakfast was included and consisted of a buffet and made-to-order items. Very good as well. We'd return without question.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The Lydmar is one of the few high-end options available to the discerning traveler who wants something in the centre of Stockholm -- we will probably try one of the other options next time. We tried it on the recommendation of Andrew Harper, who rates it as the best hotel Stockholm.

Location is perfect - right in the middle of the centre, one block away from Stockholm's traditionally "best hotel" - the Grand.

The Lydmar is very trendy and service is delivered with a kind of detached sleek casual chiqueness in which modern Stockholm specializes. We're not really boutique kind of people - it's a certain concept, not entirely "us" - but we're willing to overlook at this when things are perfect.

In the Lydmar, they are not. Our experience wasn't entirely to satisfaction. First, we booked on a popular website after trying, in vain, to reach the hotel by phone. Each time we called, we got an answer machine. This is unworthy of a top hotel. Of course, we had a similar problem once actually checked in.

We made the mistake of accepting a room on the top floor - please avoid this. The top floor is too close to the roof so the ceilings are low - whereas the 4th and 3rd floor have nice high ceilings. Our room (Medium) was a bit awkwardly laid out, with a narrow winding corridor and no desk - and definitely much smaller than we had expected.

The bathroom looked nice but was too small. When you took a shower, the water spilled onto the floor. The room was not equipped with an ironing board. No 24hr express dry-cleaning service was available. The water for some reasons didn't get to hot. We were cold most of the time we stayed there.

Good points: fast, free wireless internet; a very nice bar; a trendy, cool atmosphere. But to visit a bar or hang out in the lobby you don't need to book a hotel room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

perfect location, friendly staff, very comfortable rooms, great sound insulation, super cosy, almost like staying at home which is super important when traveling. the only thing is i feel the hotel is rather poorly maintained in the last two years. it feels a bit dated compared to the last time so hurry!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford on Avon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel is well located with a very good restaurant for both breakfast and Dinner. It is low key luxury in style and the room we had (medium) was a good size, minimally furnished but very comfortable. The bathroom was a very good size too. It is obviously popular with well heeled, cool Stockhom residents and bar and restaurant was busy all the time. Could imagine it could get very noisy at the weekends when the hip crowd are there.

Room Tip: Looked at a Suite and didn't think it was worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lydmar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydmar Hotel

Address: Sodra Blasieholmshamnen 2 | PO Box 161 96, Stockholm 103 24, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#5 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#7 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms are individually furnished and no rooms are alike. On the 5th floor you can enjoy the feeling of a penthouse with wooden beams in the sloping ceiling. The furnishing is meant to give you that homey feeling, with furniture in different styles. The rooms have different views such as street, park and waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Lydmar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydmar Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lydmar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.