We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, nice area of Sodermalm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skanstulls Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Skanstulls Hostel to your Saves list
Skanstulls Hostel
Ringvagen 135, Stockholm 116 61, Sweden (Formerly Skanstulls Vandrarhem)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Bucks
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, nice area of Sodermalm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This is definitely one of the better hostels I have stayed in. At 250- 300K per night (£25 - £30), it is definitely not the cheapest but these prices are consistint with other budget accommodation in Stockholm.

I had a 6 bed dorm complete with own locker and padlock (yes you don't have to bring a padlock!) the room was spacious enough with room to put items under bed a d a small table and chairs. The beds were comfortable and each berth had its own night lamp. The kitchen was clean, homely and kept clean by staff and patrons alike - it was nice to see other people keeping it tidy for everyone else (unlike the Brits and Irish travellers in Australian hostels)! Bathrooms were equally clean, plenty of toilets and showers - all clean.

Reception shuts at 8pm and there is a night door for access, reception staff are very friendly. There is free tea and coffee (you need to provide your own milk or do what I did and use milk on the free food shelf :P), free pasta as well.

One downside is you have to provide your own sheets (sleeping bags forbidden), if you don't, you need to pay 50K (£5) for bed sheets. This appears to be the norm among other hosts in Stockholm but a foreign one to me as usually sheets are included in the price and at almost £30 a night I rather think they should be, never the less I took my own.

This is not a party hostel and to be fair everyone was quiet around 10.30-11.30pm, slight noise from the street but I still slept well.

The location is good on Sodermalm and near to the SoFo area which has some nice and unique cafes, bars and boutique shops. Nearest subway is Skanstull and from here you can go to Gamla Stan, Slussen (for the boat to Djurgarden and Vasa) and Central area for the main shopping area.

All in all a good choice and if I have the chance to come back again I would stay here again :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    88
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
4
41
67
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The ensuite double room is better than some budget hotels in Scandinavia, albeit it has no window. The room is good size, and the bathroom is excellent. It is clean, but the bed is a bit soft and you have to rent bedsheets if you don't have your own. It has an excellent kitchen and cozy dining room with free coffee/tea/pasta so you can save some money by cooking your own or buying food from grocery store and eat here. It's about a block from the Skanstulls metro station, which you can take to the Central station and hop on the Arlanda express train to the airport. You can also walk about 2 miles to Central station and 1 mile to old town, or just hang around the not-so-upscale shopping street of Gogatan (the hostel is toward the far end of this street).

Room Tip: the ensuite double room is obviously the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed in this hostel in a double room with private facilities. It 'was a very pleasant stay for three nights and the room is very quiet. and I also liked the Swedish style. Wi-fi services in general and well functional.

Room Tip: remember your key
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a really good night at the hostel. We met a lot of people from all over the world (Germany, Switzerland, Brazil, Finland, Sweden,...) and had a great night in the kitchen! :)
It was really nice, clean and comfortable, computers and internet available, a clean kitchen with a lot of free stuff (tea, milk, juice,... from previous guests)
Just a 5 minute walk from the metro.
Great place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We all loved this hostel. Great room (4 of us in 4 bed room). Staff were really helpful. Facilities well maintained and clean. Kitchen really groovy, more like a restaurant than a hostel kitchen. Close to metro and city centre, great shops, cafes and restaurants. This place is up there with best hostels we've ever stayed at. Scores of books to borrow or swap. Excellent value for money and highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed at this hostel for three days and it was very nice and clean and everything was well organized, just what you would expect in Sweden. The dorm beds were really clean and comfortable, and in general it was fairly quiet in the room despite people coming and going all the time. There was free internet and computers that you could use, which was great. The toilets and showers were also clean. This wasn't the most cosy place though and doesn't feel like a place you want to hang out for long periods of time but the location is absolutely great and you can walk everywhere really fast. Good choice for few nights!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great location on the green metro line and in a nice neighbourhood with good shopping and amenities. I was travelling alone and and one of the private rooms with a bathroom but no windows. As it was super sunny outside I found it hard to go indoors but once there settled
Into my cave. Great decor and room. Kitchen nice and friendly. Staff were fabulous and helpful.

Nothing ba o say a about this place at all

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skanstulls Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skanstulls Hostel

Address: Ringvagen 135, Stockholm 116 61, Sweden (Formerly Skanstulls Vandrarhem)
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Skanstulls Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skanstulls Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.