We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good tapas menu : great for a night out in Gamla Stan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe/restaurant Tabac

Cafe/restaurant Tabac
Stora Nygatan 46, Stockholm 113 48, Sweden
08-20 53 40
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #627 of 2,173 Restaurants in Stockholm
Cuisines: Spanish, Swedish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
durham, england
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very good tapas menu : great for a night out in Gamla Stan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This café/restaurant is opposite the very expensive Frantzen and occupies a different world.
If you don't book you may have to wait for a table or sit outside but it is worth it. We ate here twice in five days and enjoyed both meals enormously. The food is reasonably priced, well cooked and presented, and would go down well in Madrid. Like most of Stockholm wine is about five times what you would pay at the off licence; this is not a specific criticism of this eatery but is annoying for tourists from abroad.
The service was very friendly, helpful and efficient.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    32
    23
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Easy going but lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had walked past this place a couple of times and it was always busy so we decided to give it a go. We went for the tapas which were somewhat disappointing but they do other food too such as burgers and pasta dishes. Its the kind of place that you can get an OK bite to eat at a reasonable price but there are better choices.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“The best sangria ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We had the best sangria ever! We prefer it in white wine - this one had some great orange flavour to it!

The food was good. Much appreciate the variety of vegetarian options.

We were here on a Saturday night and the place looked lively .

Service - good, considering they customised our drink and we didn't have to wait too long for our food!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The name sounds French, but the menu and wine list are decidedly Spanish. This is a casual place, apparently popular - reservations helpful because it was crowded the evening we stopped in. There is outdoor seating and a nice view out to the water. Some of the tables are bar-height so be prepared to hoist yourself up on the chair. Service was brisk and the small plate selection familiar and well executed. We enjoyed it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Soft atmosphere but below average tapas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We decided to try the Tabac restaurant although it got mixed reviews from both friends and on the internet. The atmosphere was nice and the staff very friendly (although they could pay more attention to the customers).

The tapas we ordered looked really nice but they were very tasteless. If I compare to tapas I tasted both in Sweden and other countries (of course including Spain) they dont even come close.

Looking at Stockholm there are much better tapas restaurants.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe/restaurant Tabac also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Cafe/restaurant Tabac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe/restaurant Tabac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.