We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular, friendly and with filling food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pelikan

Pelikan
Blekingegatan 40, Stockholm 116 62, Sweden
+46 8 556 090 92
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #165 of 2,173 Restaurants in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $40 - $75
Cuisines: Brew Pub, Bar, Swedish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Popular, friendly and with filling food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Ate here on a busy Saturday night and had an all-round good experience. Found it in guidebook, passed by Saturday late afternoon and it was quiet. Didn't book - should have. When we got back c7pm it was heaving, full and busy and we got a table for 8pm. Had a drink in the bar waiting and it was fairly loud because it was full but we got a seat. The manager and the staff were very efficient and friendly and the manager who took our reservation came and hunted us out in the bar when our table was ready. The food was well presented, promptly served and really tasty. Like most of the restaurants we went to in Stockholm the wine list was fair to middling in terms of content and prices were high for what one got. But the food in Pelikan was excellent. Pork knuckle and meatballs were our two main courses and my wife had a pickled herring starter which she said was superb. No need for a desert after that. The crowd seemed mainly local but with a good smattering of tourists.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    334
    89
    32
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“solid Swedish food, untouristy atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Food was amazing, lamb and jerusalem artichoke soup. Atmosphere very cool, mostly locals who are happy to strike up a conversation at the bar and also at adjoining tables.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Overated - would not recommend”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Waitress seemed annoyed that we didn't know how to speak any Swedish.

Starter was good but the main course was simple and seemed overpiced.

Heard some other English people complaining about the lack of value in the toilets.

Impressive dining room though.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic food but a long wait!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The food was absolutely fantastic and really good portion sizes. That said we were promised a 40 minute wait which was more like 1hr20mins, but there's a bar attached which is a nice place to hang out while you wait.

Food-wise, we had some Elk which was perfect and the must-have Swedish meatballs which our Swedish friends insisted on us trying! The atmosphere inside is good (though book a table and ask for one away from the door so you don't get the occasional chill!)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best place I've been in Stockholm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

my first dinner in Stockholm couldn't have been better. fascinating vintage ambiance, great food - and drinks - showcasing the best of Sweden's tradition in style. and quite possibly the best waiter I've ever met - seriously. price is a bit of an issue - as everywhere in Stockholm - but it's worth every penny. in my short experience in the city, you'll have a rather hard time finding anything on a par.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelikan also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Pelikan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelikan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.