We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Eigg !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glebe Barn

Glebe Barn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Eigg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glebe Barn
Save
You added Glebe Barn to your Saves list
Glebe, PH42 4RL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Isle of Eigg B&B and Inns
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Eigg !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012 via mobile

We came here in Eigg just by randomly putting our finger on the Scottish map !! It was an amazing experience !! We came from Mallaig with the Caledonian ferry and ordered our rooms two days before !! So peacefully, so untouched and beautiful landscape !! The hostel was very nice, got a kitchen and we could make our own food !!

Definetly go up the mountain, visit the creepy cave and go to the very end of Eigg to a beach called Singing Sands !!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed for a week in the Glebe Barn flat. It is very well-designed and built, clean and the woodwork and fittings are of a high standard. The shower is spacious. It was pleasing that there are plenty of hooks, including in the bathroom. The adjoining hostel was empty but we could use its drying facilities. It is in a lovely and quiet location. We cab recommend it highly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed at the beautifully clean Glebe barn as a group of 18 and hired the whole hostel including the immaculate separate two person flat. The isle if Eigg was stunning and the accommodation was perfect. The facilities are all well maintained and the location is excellent for exploring this beautiful island.We all had breakfast which was a full Scottish fare and was a great way to start our day. Really recommend for large groups and would stay again.

Room Tip: Strongly recommend the two bedroom flat which was slightly more expensive than the hostel rooms, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed just a couple of days on Eigg at Glebe Barn in the Annexe flat which was very pretty and very comfortable, well equipped, etc. Lovely views. Booking and getting hold of SImon proved a little challenging however. It took several calls to get a response and just prior to our arrival we couldn't contact him at all to arrange pick up when the ferry got in. However, all was resolved on arrival and we had a great time.

The island itself was wonderful. WE had a fantastic day at Singing Sands beach and husband and son enjoyed a wee bit of mountain biking. We'll be back for more I think.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

For my partners birthday a group of friends and myself hired out all of Glebe Barn for exclusive use, including the pretty and nicely appointed annexe that is attached. It was very reasonable, it cost £16 pp per night for the Barn and £85 for the annexe for the weekend (a refundable housekeeping deposit also had to be given but it was reasonable). The owner of the Barn, Simon, gave us lots of advice prior to our visit as regards to ferries to the island and getting bits and bobs like milk and charcoal for the BBQ delivered to the barn for us from the local shop. The local shop is very expensive as you would imagine on such an isolated island so we brought a lot of heavy bags with us filled with wine, beer groceries etc, but Simon picked up all our luggage from the pier and took it to the barn for us so no problem! The barn itself is beautiful, panoramic views surround the quaint property, there is a picture perfect view from every window infact. A nice sized fenced off garden surrounds it with views of the sea, the other small isles and the famous An Sgurr landmark, which was great for us to have bbq's in, and for the dog to run around in. It truly was a spectacular place to be with your loved ones. The location of the barn is only a 10-15 minute walk from the pier, the shop, the licensed cafe and the busstop where you can catch a bus to the other side of the island if you do not wish or are unable to take the stunning walk. Many of the guests expressed their wish to return and I would strongly reccommend it. They have a well laid out website that allows you to see photos of the rooms, although I felt they all looked much more attractive and larger in real life. Happy holidaying!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

A lovely bunkhouse fully equipped for selfcatering. The shop on the Isle of Eigg is providing all the food you need. Walking is enjoyable and all people you meet are friendly and relaxed!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glebe Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glebe Barn

Address: Glebe, PH42 4RL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Eigg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Eigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide comfortable self-catering accommodation for large groups, families and individual backpackers. Full catering is available to groups by arrangement. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glebe Barn Isle Of Eigg, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glebe Barn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.