We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldy worldy Swedish charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bullen - Tva Krogare

Bullen - Tva Krogare
Storgatan 35, Malmo 211 41, Sweden
040 - 12 12 41
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 567 Restaurants in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Oldy worldy Swedish charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This bar/restaurant is located in a lovely old building. It's quite large, but as it is divided into several smaller rooms the cosy charm of an old inn is retained. I think they advertise themselves as something like Malmo's oldest restaurant, so it draws the tourist crowd, but there were actually a couple of tables available when I went for dinner.
The menu was fairly short and, too be honest, I didn't find it terribly interesting, but found a few satisfying options. I wanted Swedish food, so I started with a salmon tartar which tasted nice and fresh, and was served on toast with a punchy wasabi creme fraiche and pea shoots. A little different and very tasty! The main course had to be their famous veal meatballs. They deserve their reputation, they were fab, served in a whisky cream sauce and accompanied by mashed potatoes and lingonberries. A hearty meal, and very nice, indeed! Accompanied by a beer and followed by an espresso (which was surprisingly good), the bill was SEK377 without the tip. Considering you are in Sweden, that wasn't bad.
Service was refreshingly prompt, professional, and friendly. The waitress spoke fluent English with a strong Irish accent, but denied being Irish, saying she picked up the accent working in an Irish pub. Who knows?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    54
    21
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not the #1 in Malmö!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

really not sure why this restaurant is ranked number 1 restaurant in Malmö. There are a number of restaurants that are much better - Plocke Pinn, Mysteri, Kin Long and Båstard to name a few.

Very average food here...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A taste of what Sweden used to be like”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic Swedish "Husmanskost"
Today I had kålpudding for lunch. The best I've ever tasted. A must for anyone who wants a bite of the delicious food culture from the 20th century of Sweden

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good home food, a bit overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I had a pleasant dinner at Två Krogare in July 2013.
The meatballs were excellent, although rather expensive.
It is a delicious homefood, much better than what you can find in most of the restaurants on Lilla Torg.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
374 helpful votes 374 helpful votes
“The Best of Swedish Comfort Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

It's no wonder this place is rated best! The old tavern that has stood the test of time, it has a charming and cozy atmosphere, almost like coming home after being away for a long time. The bartender/server greeted most customers like they were family - you could tell that this is a local favourite. At the table next to us, four old gentlemen (maybe in their 70s) gathered and exchanged familiar greetings - this seemed their regular gathering spot.

We came right after the lunch menu stopped being served, so we ordered from the dinner menu. We had silltallrik (herring plate - which my boyfriend had and liked), skaldjur (a bowl soup of shrimps drenched in garlic butter - delicious!), kottbullar (Swedish meat balls with mashed potatoes and lingonberry sauce), a sommersby and a guiness - and this all cost 565 kroner.
My favourite part of the meal were the meatballs - the meat was perfectly seasoned, not dry at all, very flavourful, and drenched in whiskey cream sauce. Perfection.
I would go back here in a heartbeat!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bullen - Tva Krogare also viewed

Malmo, Skane County
Malmo, Skane County
 
Malmo, Skane County
Malmo, Skane County
 

Been to Bullen - Tva Krogare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bullen - Tva Krogare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.