We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little jewel in Malmo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Duxiana Malmo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Duxiana Malmo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Duxiana Malmo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Master Johansgatan 1, Malmo S-211 21, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 35 hotels in Malmo
Waynesville, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A little jewel in Malmo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Recently stayed at this wonderful hotel in Malmo. We normally stay at the Savoy, but it was full at the time. I am glad it was! The rooms are modern, comfortable and really show off Scandinavian design features. The beds were very comfortable and I especially liked the chairs in the room. There is a darling little courtyard outside, which is a great place to relax or take a drink before dinner. The lobby is also a great place to relax. Lots of windows, soft music, candles (even in the daytime) . Very comfortable furniture. This is also a small showroom for selling the furniture made by Dux which can be ordered through the front desk. The service could not have been better. We met three front desk people, two young ladies and a young gentleman. All were extremely attentive and helpful. There buffet breakfast, which is included with the room is delicious and a feast for the eyes as well. Lots of healthy choices as well as traditional fare. Close to several restaurants and the central station, where you can take a 20 minute train ride to Copenhagen or other destinations in Sweden. This hotel was a breath of fresh air and I can't wait to return. We stayed in hotels in Stockholm and Gothenburg on the same trip. This hotel was by far the best and the price is fair. Hope to see you all next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    40
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
29
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I really couldn't fault this little hotel. Close to the main areas of interest in town, really comfortable rooms, and a great buffet breakfast. The hotel style is cool and funky and I definitely would want to buy one of their beds when money can afford. If traveling by train it's close to to the station, we drove and had no problem parking in the hotel recommended underground carpark, which was a short walk away. Price wise I thought it was money well spent. I would recommend it to anyone wanting a hotel that has style, in the town centre, and is different from the normal ' bed factories'.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Excellent stay. We had a few minor issues with things not working and the girls on the front desk tried really hard to help out and get them sorted. We were upgraded to the biggest room, which was very good and was impressive customer service. Unfortunately in there I was cut on my hand by one of the window handles which had come loose. The manager was informed (I really should have had stitches as the cut was pretty deep) but did nothing for 2 days about the problem, despite a reminder the second evening. We kept having to use the window handle despite the issue. Eventually we spoke again to the desk staff and one of them sorted it out for us by taking the matter into her own hands. It did seem that the staff were much more attentive than the manager in general terms, but this wasn't a major issue for us in enjoying the hotel, which was lovely.

Room Tip: Can't really comment as our room was an upgrade. If you're lucky enough to be able to afford...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were upgraded to a bigger room on highest floor with 3 beds. Very nice room with kitchenette (unusable, though due to being equipped with only a few glasses) and a small fridge. Good location across the central station and close to city centre and harbor. But the room was cold due to the radiators not working in both the bathroom (very cold bathroom) and one of the bedrooms. We asked for an electric heater and got it but it overloaded the system and the puff ... no electricity! This happened many times while we were there, which meant we had to call the staff after having gone to bed or still being in bed in the morning. The staff couldn't solve the problem so we had no heating for several hours. This was of course quite annoying but we were compensated when we paid the bill. The service here was very good and so was breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel was lovely. The young woman at reception was very helpful, pointing out several sites of tourist interest on the map and perfectly fluent in three languages. We stayed in the family room, which turned out to be a wonderful suite with a tiny balcony and views towards the water. There was a tiny kitchenette as well, but without dishes, however since I wasn't even expecting it, this was not an issue. The furniture is modern, and the famous beds are very comfortable. The hotel seemed very private, we hardly saw nor heard another guest until breakfast, which turned out to be quite crowded. The breakfast buffet was delicious. The hotel is perfectly located in the charming old district and a fifteen-minute walk from the revitalized modern port area. The hotel price was very reasonable, and I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferney-Voltaire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed in Duxiana in April for the 2nd time, first time was in February 2012. Hotel now has 24hr duty so one doesn't need to enter in the evening through a side entrance using a code. They changed the breakfast area, it is now facing the street and much nicer. Breakfast itself is a delight. Beds are same, comfortable Dux -beds. Single rooms are tiny. Location is great, a short walk from the train station and old town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Great little boutique hotel close to Lilla Torget an old square with a good selection of bars and restaurants and great old architecture. Only a 5 minute walk from the central station for those travelling in by train
Rooms were a decent size with big windows, decent sized bed if a tad short for a relatively average sized person but very comfortable. Not surprising given this has chain has been in out of a bed brand - Dux.
Style is modern but sympathetic to the old building.
Breakfast was a simple offering but something for everyone including cereals, cold meats, cheeses and cooked bacon & sausage. Excellent coffee as is usually the case in Sweden.
All in all a good option and good value for money at just over €100. Only gripe was the painfully slow wifi connection in the room.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Duxiana Malmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duxiana Malmo

Address: Master Johansgatan 1, Malmo S-211 21, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#7 Business Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duxiana Malmo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Duxiana is a concept hotel with an integrated Duxiana shop. Contemporary interiors smoothly interact with classical detailing as comfort and professional service is key. Ideally situated in the city center with its wide array of restaurants, shops and museums, Hotel DUXIANA is just the place for the world traveller that appreciates a good night's sleep in a stylish and sophisticated setting. The rooms are equipped with DUX beds and the atmosphere is further enhanced by DUX furniture as the hotel blends the science of sleep with the ultimate in comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Duxiana Malmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxiana Malmo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Duxiana Malmo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.