We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite of mine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Side

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Indian Side
Lilla Torg 7, Malmo, Sweden (Gamla Staden)
040-307744
Improve this listing
Ranked #344 of 539 Restaurants in Malmo
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Gamla Staden
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Favorite of mine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

A real great small Indian restaurant located on Lilla Torg in the center of Malmö. The food has some great flavors and is served fast. The menu is expansive with something for everyone. Staff is friendly and happy to help with your selection. Great outdoor seating area during the summer.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    12
    19
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Food & Location, Terrible service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We visit Indian Side restaurant regularly, as it is the only Indian restaurant in the popular part of Malmö.
Location is great, but like all restaurants in the area it is geared around outside dining. Inside is only recommended for the winter season.
Food is good at reasonable prices.
But the service...
It is consistent. But consistently bad is still bad.
Impossible to get eye contact with the waiters, forgotten orders, extremely long delivery time: 20 minutes for drinks to arrive (which they had forgotten), 45 minutes for poppadum's (after we asked again), 1 hour for standard main course to arrive.
Waiting for the check ? Do what most locals do when fed up waiting / trying to get attention, leave your table and pay at the bar.
We will probably be back, since the food and location are great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Hello, Can you See Us?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

On our third evening in Malmo my husband and I thought we would try the Indian restaurant located in Lilla Torg. It was a pleasant, mild evening for late April. A lot of diners sat near heaters and had blankets draped over their shoulders, but we opted to sit indoors. We did not relish eating dinner with our coats on. We were the only diners indoors and were given a table in the middle of the room.

It took some time for a server to come with menus. Maybe we were not noticeable indoors? We eventually ordered our drinks and water. My husband ordered beer and I ordered wine which came with a glass of water. We also ordered a jug of ordinary water.

We selected our meals and gave the server our orders and waited quite some time. We had a couple of poppadoms to start. When our food arrived it looked delicious. We found that the Raita was rather runny and did not resemble any that we had had in the past. The Tarka Dahl was also rather runny and not very tasty. My chicken dish was very tasty although just a little hot and my husband's lamb dish was also very good. The portions were ample and boiled rice was included in the price. It was a delicious meal although spoiled a bit by the Raita and Dahl.

The meal including drinks was around 700SEK which seemed to be average in Malmo. It was a pity about the slow service but when we were served the servers were very friendly. The loos were upstairs and well maintained. There was also an additional seating area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binningen, Schweiz
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Hot (spicy) Indian restaurant in Malmö”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

On the main square where you have a lot of restaurant, the Indian Side stood out and we went in for a lunch. The service was great, the waiter very friendly and helpful in the choice of the menu. We just didn't kept enough attention to the number of chillies close to the price... and... if you got two of them it is very, very spicy.... one chilly very spicy and if no chilly than it's spiced just a bit that you can taste it. The Tandoori chicken was delicious as the Lamm tikka karai.... just the hot chili chicken was HOT, very HOT but great taste!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazingly tasty Indian!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Came here for a 21st birthday, absolutely delicious dinner and large generous serves, varied dishes and was thoroughly enjoyed and surprised by how tasty everything was! Loved it! Everyone enjoyed too, around $30 each for entree, main, rice and naan.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Side also viewed

Malmo, Skane County
Malmo, Skane County
 
Malmo, Skane County
Malmo, Skane County
 

Been to Indian Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.