We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best thing to do in Malmo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moderna Museet - Malmo

Moderna Museet - Malmo
Gasverksgatan 22, Malmo 211 29, Sweden
040-685 7937
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 28 Attractions in Malmo
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the best thing to do in Malmo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

It was a big surprise! this museum is really interesting , there was a soviet exhibition with some hippie exhibition too , the building it is very nice as it has a modern part added to it s facade , everything inside has a different colour , orange reception yellow lockers ect a small museum though with cheap entrance especially for sweden

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    14
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A wonderful small modern art museum in an attractive city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a very interesting small museum with reasonable space for temporary exhibitions. When we visited there was a very interesting piece on surrealism, which ended with a section on the roots of surrealism - including interestingly the gothic and such artists as Piranesi. Lockers are useful if you are travelling and the staff were helpful and spoke English

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Interesting but small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We went here on our mast day as we had 'time to kill' before our flight. The exhibitions were a bit strange although one, Scandinavian Pain we found interesting. However there is not a lot to see and it seemed difficult to spend more than an hour here. One tip though seniors seems just to mean you have retired and reduced the price from 70 to 50 kronor which made it less expensive but otherwise quite dear

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“so so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Its not a bad museum, its just not that big and you feel as if you dont get value for your money. We went to see the latest exibition with Edward Munch. Its was ok. Nothing speciel, but yet interresting, as its was displayed in a barn. But all in all an average museum.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I paid 70 SEK to come see this, spent more time walking to the museum than I did inside it.

Here are a few installations and exhibitions but nothing to write home about.

Spend your 70 elsewhere or come on a Friday when it's free.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moderna Museet - Malmo also viewed

Malmo, Skane County
Malmo, Skane County
 
Malmo, Skane County
 

Been to Moderna Museet - Malmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moderna Museet - Malmo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.