We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Stortorget

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Stortorget to your Saves list
Scandic Stortorget
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stortorget 15, Malmo 211 22, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Malmo
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Wonderful place to stay in when in malmö. Friendly staff, nice rooms, beautiful breakfast, great location close to the central station and near stortorget and nice pubs and cafees.
The room gies the convenience and comfort you need, a real minibar, pillows, shampoo, etc.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    72
    46
    10
    1
See reviews for
17
57
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We arrived after a 30+ hour journey via Sydney/Kuala Lumpur/Amsterdam/Copenhagen, and it was of little surprise our luggage didn't make it all the way with us.

After walking the two blocks from the Centralstation to Stortoget, we found the Rica placed ideally next to the main square, and the gorgeous Lilla Torg, a bustling smaller square full of restaurants and bars.

The receptionist informed us our room wasn't ready (it was only 9am so we weren't expecting it to be) but very kindly let us use the showers in the basement gym/sauna.

Throughout our albeit one night stay, the receptionist was incredibly welcoming, and gave us continual updates as to whether our bags had turned up, alas, they hadn't.

After a walk we came back to the hotel and picked up our keys, the room, while on the small side was very well presented, however the double bed was very snug.

The classic black and white tiled bathroom was sparking clean, and all the neccesary amenities were there.

Breakfast was an impressive buffet of hot and cold, however I was surprised the kitchen didn't know what a poached egg was.

While only there for one night, and despite spending most of our time enjoying what a glorious town Malmo is (in mid July, I can imagine it'd be somewhat different in the depths of winter) I couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough.

I would say I'd definitely use this hotel again if we went back to Malmo, but if you've spent two days there, chances are, you've seen pretty much all you need to see.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystad, Sverige
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Standardroom is quite small. Beds are comfortable. There are a lot of small things in the room that you may need as bath robe, slippers, shoehorn, umbrella etc. There is also a cooker if you want tea or coffee. The breakfast buffee was very good. The location is perfect. Just around the corner you will find plenty of restaurants. It's also very near the train station. Staff at reception desk very welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The room was nicely decorated, but very small/cramped and lacking several features expected in Swedish hotels, no complimentary showergel/shampoo and most importantly, no air condition!! The effect of a small room without air condition in the summer time, is that the air gets stale real quick.
There were spots on the bed linnen (looked like asphalt), the bathroom had cracked tiles, sloppy repairs, mildew in corners and rusted holders for hand soap. Aditionally, the shower was made for hobbits (almost got claustrophobia when I went inside).
The breakfast was huge (as it is in Rica hotels), but small details made it less than perfect. The meatballs shared the bowl with smoked sausages which made them taste smoked as well, the glasses for juice were hot instead of cold (how much is a cooling plate these days, really?) there were no crisp in the bacon what so ever....
All in all... You can do better for the same rate!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This was a one night travel stopover on a Saturday night and a first at the Rica Malmø. where we were received very warmly by a friendly and helpful Receptionist. The hotel has an excellent location in the heart of the city and on Saturday evening, parking is free in the square. The room was small with an equally small bathroom in the eves. An open window let in the the sounds of the late-night revellers but in the silence of a closed window the room became unbearably hot. The upside was a wonderful view.
The breakfast was great with a good selection of breads, hot and cold dishes and an appetizing selection of fresh fruit and juices. The pavement terrace was a plus on a hot sunny morning..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Spent a night at this hotel in Malmo before travelling on to Copenhagen. The room (a twin) was a good size and had excellent facilities. The breakfast spread was superb. My only trivial complaint was that the wifi could be a bit erratic but then it was free - a rarity I tend to find in hotels nowdays. Excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We spent 2 nights (1st - 3rd May, 2012) at the Rica Hotel Malmö, and the reason for us visiting the city at this time was that my wife was celebrating her birthday. Lucky enough, the weather was the absolutely best during our visit (sunny weather and +23 C / 73,4 F during daytime).

We were very warmly and professionally welcomed by the front desk staff, and during our stay every one of the employees that we met was extraordinarily outgoing, friendly and positive.

Our room was large and very nice with a hardwood floor, a very comfortable and nice king size bed and with bathrobes & slippers. The bathroom, in the colors of white & black, had a shower as well as a bathtub. A minor negative thing was that the floor had no heating.

During many nights every year I stay at different hotels, especially in Sweden, due to my work.
The breakfast served by the Rica Hotel Malmö is one of the very best I’ve experienced at a hotel in Sweden!
And the staff present in the restaurant was so attentive and enjoyable!

The hotel itself is situated very centrally in Malmö, at the “Stortorget” (i.e. the large square), within walking distance to everything.

I have been staying at other hotels in Malmö before. However, after our stay this time, the Rica Hotel undoubtfully will be my/our first choice even during my/our next visit.
And I have no doubt in recommending the hotel to others as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Stortorget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Stortorget

Address: Stortorget 15, Malmo 211 22, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Stortorget 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turn-of-the-century beige-and brown brick, overlooking Stortorget - Walk to train station, and bridge to Copenhagen Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Scandic Stortorget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Malmö

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Stortorget, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.