We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“na” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Malmo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel Malmo to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel Malmo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadiongatan 21, Malmo 217 62, Sweden (Formerly Ibis Hotel Malmo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“na”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Building site. Should be discounted as long as they are re-building. You get one price when you call them, another, better price, is available on-line. Parking fees are horrendous and it´s still NOT A SAFE parking area...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorseHotels, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Malmo, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank You for Your review. We are always grateful to get our guests positive or negative experiences at our hotel, in order to be and do better.

We have been, since the past year, totally refurbished the hotel, both inside and outside and we are very happy with the result. The work left to be done is in the hotel corridors and we close the actual corridors from guests, while working there until it is finished. All the rooms and public areas are ready and very nice renovated.

Yes, we sometimes have better price offers online, these rooms are numbered and they are non refundable with no cancellation. These offers are out when the demand is low and is not bookable otherwise.

We have good parking spaces for our guests, both inside locked garage and on the parking roof with code access and good lighting. We charge a lower fee than the hotel garages in the city center.

Thank You again, I wish You welcome back to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    119
    70
    19
    6
See reviews for
37
84
32
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed one night at this low budget hotel which at the discounted price I paid (SEK 500) was acceptable. The hotel seems to be under renovation with building materials etc laying around. I probably lucked out as I did not get disturbed and the room I stayed in seemed like it recently got a facelift. However, it was quite noisy and both the general atmosphere and location left me somewhat unimpressed. At any rate higher than what I payed I would recommend shopping around for alternatives.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Location: easy to find by the highway, but in a residential area, and suspect not the best. Front of the hotel dominated by refurbishment workers dossed out smoking.

Parking: extremely complicated, pay extra for parking, must get code from the hotel receoption. Once in the car park it is difficult to get out as a pedestrian: there is a pedestrian exit but the code pad is so temperamental it takes about 10 goes to get the gate to open. Considering what they charge they need to invest in the car park.

Rooms: ours was newly refurbished in the new Ibis style with wooden floors. Quite nice. However the window was covered by an advert draped over the hotel so didn't really function as a window. I'd rather they didn't do this.

Bathroom: newly renovated and clean. Unusual shower door design. Heating was on in the bathroom and could not be turned off: so unnecessary for August!

Restaurant: the hotel has a large and closed restaurant. Instead a limited range of pre-packaged, expensive, microwaved meals are available. Not much alternative around the hotel.

For a newly refurbished Ibis it is disappointing that the ancillary services are such poor value for money.

Room Tip: Another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorseHotels, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Malmo, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hello,
thank You for Your review. We are grateful for opinions about our hotel, either they are positive or negative.
It is right that our hotel is under construction and we have, during this year, totally renovated all parts in the hotel. We are very proud to soon have a very nice, modern and fresh product in the middle of Malmö area. There are still some work to do, that is why we have workers and also construction material at some dedicated areas outside and in the hotel.

Concerning our code pad at the parking area, we had a look and have fixed this, though it works with pressing the numbers hard and with slow moves.

The banner which hangs on a small part of our facade, is made in a material which lets air flow through the cloth, so even if the guests open the window, it will be fresh air in to the room.

Our a la carte restaurant is open every night Monday to Saturday until 23.00 PM and on Sundays we have the bar open and offers a smaller menue with home made meals. During the summer period this year, we had fresh sousvide food at Sundays. We have changed this from September.

We are happy to hear that You liked our new style after refurbishment. We are always working to be at best service and the guests opinions are very valuable. I wish You warm welcome to us again.

Susanna Bodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I travel a lot for work and wasn't able to book my normal hotel as it was fully booked so came here. It is going under reburshisment at the moment but this was not on their website.

The rooms are very basic and while I found it on the whole clean, I found that I had to ask for everything I needed and then a lot of time I the answer was it was chargable.

The service wasn't very good and I had to wait 45 minutes for a taxi although I requested one three times and there were lots coming that morning, just not mine, even when I reminded the reception staff.

There was no air-conditioning in the rooms and the windows would barely open. When I asked for a fan I got a very blank look from reception and then given the smallest fan possible which didn't do anything. I found all the reception staff I met not particulary friendly and they were hard work.

I wouldn't stay here again, you get a much better hotel for not much more money available.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halden, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

When the hotel is doing a lot of maintaining work. it would be nice is they informed about it on the net. It was not pleasent that when we slept a little in the afternoon, somebody (worker?) just entered the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Rooms were clean but quite ugly and a bit smelly. The bedcloths smelled as if they fell into an ashtray (they propably did). The staff varies: Our checkin lady was neither helpful nor friendly, but her colleagues (later in the evening and the next morning) were.

Ergo: If you spend 10eur more ( and you calculate everything they charge extra in Ibis: Internet, Parking) you can most likely do much better!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

An above average IBIS located on Stadiongaten outside Malmo City Centre, handy for the nearby FF Malmo football stadium. Good value particularly for Scandinavia i spent three nights here for £44 a night. Rooms are standrd IBIS type, with bed, TV, wardrobe etc with a modern shower. Breakfast is available at extra cost in the restaurant on the ground floor and is buffet style with hot and continental options. The hotel is very close to Malmo's Swedbank Stadium and may attract football fans when Malmo have an home fixture.

The hotel is a couple of KM from Malmo Centrum and the number 6 bus runs from near the hotel to Triangein.

Overall a good value Ibis, no complaints, friendly staff and a good stay.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel Malmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Malmo

Address: Stadiongatan 21, Malmo 217 62, Sweden (Formerly Ibis Hotel Malmo)
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hotel Malmo 3*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hotel Malmö is in the southern part of the city centre, 1.5 km from the central station, 5 min drive from Hyllie station and the E6. 259 rooms for 1 to 3 persons with shower and flatscreen TV. Restaurant with Le Bistro a la carte service, bar menu and snacks.Conference rooms, sauna, relaxation area and small gym. Garage and outdoor parking. Free WiFi in entire hotel, meeting rooms facilities and business corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Hotel Malmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Malmo
Malmö Ibis
Ibis Hotel Malmö

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Malmo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.