We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, great staff, Scandinavian design” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Master Johan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Master Johan Hotel to your Saves list
Master Johan Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Master Johansgatan 13, Malmo 211 21, Sweden   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Malmo
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, great staff, Scandinavian design”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed at the Master Johan for one night this spring. The hotel is a short 5min walk from the Central train station (which is only a 20 min train ride from Copenhaguen airport) in a nice old city area. The staff was very friendly an d helpful and the hotel is very nicely decorated.

Great hotel, will come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Master_Johan, Owner at Master Johan Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thanks for your nice review, I hope i will be able to welcom you back to Malmö and Hotel Master Johan.
Best regards
Nina Ulvinen
Owner
Hotel Master Johan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    53
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
101
8
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
padova
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The hotel is a mix of tradition and design. Really really confortabile and located in a perfect position, just 50 meters from the nicest square of the city named Lila Torg and few minutes from the Train station. The rooms are really big and clean and the breakfast is appreciable. Next time theatre I Willemstad be' in Malmö I willemstad chiose for this accomodati in without any . Wi-fi for free in each room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I love this place!!
And the breakfast was the best. They have it all!
Nice beds and everything!

- a happy guest

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I'd heard good things about this hotel, and with the reviews and the awards perhaps expectations were high. Sure, very good standard all the way through, but still did get a bit disappointed with the pricing they have. If you are looking for that 'home away from home' feeling some hotels give you, or a hotel with that finnishing touch, this is not the place. The room was very spacious, good quality furniture, but not cosy, lacking finess in decoration. The best thing was the very comfortable bed and the very quiet room (double doors to the room). Breakfast perfectly alright with all the usual offerings, but not one to add value to the visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Master_Johan, Owner at Master Johan Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Sir,

I read your review and I’m very sorry that we didn’t live up to your expectations
I would very much appreciate if you would like to give me some tips to help us improve what you think is missing. If you would like to contact me you can reach me at nina.ulvinen@masterjohan.se and I hope to see you as our guest again.

Best regards

Nina Ulvinen
Owner of Hotel Mäster Johan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend away and we weren't dissapointed. Large room with a homely feel with great rugs on beautiful wooden floors. ! even a little rubber ducky for our bath. The staff were great and Professional. We had a great breakfast next morning. We are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Conveniently situated an easy 10min stroll from the railway station, this delightful hotel is one of the best we've ever stayed in. We stayed for 5 nights and found the staff generous, polite and helpful. The room was very quiet despite opening onto the central atrium as the rooms have two soundproof doors. Our room was spacious and well appointed and we were delighted to find a fresh flower in our room. The breakfast is excellent. The hotel has a focus on attention to detail. There are all day espresso coffee and tea facilities, along with fruit and biscuits provided free for all guests in the atrium. We found it wonderfully refreshing to be able to put ones feet up in lovely surroundings after a day out and about. The Hotel provides free business centre access.

We were lucky enough to be there for an annual art exhibition the Hotel hosts in the atrium. It was great to see the work of local artists.

We were obliged to catch an early train on our day of departure and needed to leave the Hotel before breakfast was available. The staff offered to provide a 'sandwich' instead at no additional cost. We were delighted to find a table set out for us early the next morning with freshly made coffee, tea, juice and a lovely open sandwich with beautiful ham and cheese. This was totally unexpected and further reflects the Hotel's ethos. We would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel and would happily return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Great location a short walk from the station and the central square, also near to great restaurant B@stard. Excellent breakfast and service. We had a business room which had a separate bedroom and also roomy lounge, tastefully appointed.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Master Johan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Master Johan Hotel

Address: Master Johansgatan 13, Malmo 211 21, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
#3 Business Hotel in Malmo
#9 Family Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Master Johan Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mäster Johan is a modern boutique hotel with 69 rooms. Constructed following time-honoured guidelines to give our guests the perfect atmosphere for living pleasure. Our goal is to offer the very finest in personal service and consideration. Mäster Johan is centrally located, within easy walking distance to the Central Railway Station and trains to Copenhagen Airport, buses and a wide variety of excellent restaurants. Visit our web page for our best prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Master Johan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Malmo
Malmö Best Western
Best Western Malmö

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Master Johan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.