We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, central location. Very friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Master Johan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Master Johan Hotel to your Saves list
Master Johan Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Master Johansgatan 13, Malmo 211 21, Sweden   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Malmo
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Pleasant, central location. Very friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Exceptionally nice staff. Location very central . even too much so on a Friday night. Rooms are spacious and well equipped. Breakfast was wonderful. Bikes for rent in the lobby.

Room Tip: Best to avoid a street view facing the centre-
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    53
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
101
8
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Excellent location only 5 minutes walk from the station and right in the centre of all the action in malmo. Breakfast was great, good selection of Swedish variety. Room was large and comfortable, the bathroom a little old and needed a good clean,but would recommend for a stay in malmo.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This is a pretty good hotel, I had no real complaints about it. It was large for European standards, with a little living room section along with a bedroom. The tv has lots of American channels in English. The bed was decent and we slept fine. The bathroom is spacious and very nice. I didn't eat at their restaurant at all. The location is quite convenient, it's an easy walk to both the main squares of town. The front desk is nice and they speak English. Overall, I liked this hotel. I would recommend it if you find yourself in Malmo.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hafnarfjordur, Iceland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

A quiet clean and very nice hotel with big rooms and wonderful breakfast ! The coffee machine in the lobby was also very popular! Staff is very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

This hotel is lovely and great great value. We absolutely loved it! The location is perfect (close to the most lively square in Malmo, but not so close to be noisy), the room delightful, the bathroom really nice and with a window (not easy to find in hotels nowadays), the amenities high quality, breakfast was great, served in a beatiful court, and you can even rent a bike.

And on the top of it, the staff is simply excellent. Everybody was nice, helpful and always smiling. And we owe them a great service: we forgot our GPS in the room's safe and they sent it back to us in less than a week. So, thank you very much, Master Johan, we really hope to come back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Master_Johan, Owner at Master Johan Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2010
Thank you very much for the kind words and we hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

Nina Ulvinen
Owner and General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

In addition to the other positive comments, I'll add that this hotel is 4 blocks from the Central Train Station, near Malmo Haus Castle & Museum and other museums, and is surrounded by excellent restaurants, and is a short walk to the beach and promenade area. Great price for a great room. Loved the staff, especially the breakfast chefs. Great breakfast included with the room was served on Rorstrand porcelain - totally classy. Oh, and there WAS a yellow rubber ducky in the tile and marble bathroom - loved it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

Lovely hotel just one block off of Lilla Torg. Old fashioned rooms with wood floors and area rugs. Stayed in a standard room and it was just fine, unless you would like a sitting area, then go next size up. I absolutely loved the way the breakfast was served, in a European style kitchen, all the food layed out just like you would at your own home. Loved it!!! Very lovely lady serving you at breakfast (sorry I didn't get her name). All in all, great room, lovely service and excellent location!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Master Johan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Master Johan Hotel

Address: Master Johansgatan 13, Malmo 211 21, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
#3 Business Hotel in Malmo
#9 Family Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Master Johan Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mäster Johan is a modern boutique hotel with 69 rooms. Constructed following time-honoured guidelines to give our guests the perfect atmosphere for living pleasure. Our goal is to offer the very finest in personal service and consideration. Mäster Johan is centrally located, within easy walking distance to the Central Railway Station and trains to Copenhagen Airport, buses and a wide variety of excellent restaurants. Visit our web page for our best prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Master Johan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Malmo
Malmö Best Western
Best Western Malmö

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Master Johan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.