We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elite Hotel Savoy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Elite Hotel Savoy to your Saves list
Elite Hotel Savoy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Norra Vallgatan 62, Malmo 201 80, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Malmo
Woking, Surrey
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I can't believe that I've not written in praise of this hotel before! This is my third stay in this well-placed, comfortable hotel. Perhaps it was because, on this occasion, I was honoured with the largest room yet - actually, it was a suite!
Despite its location just across from Malmo central railway station (and, therefore, its convenience to get to Copenhagen and the airport) this is a very quite and, as I've already mentioned, comfortable hotel. The staff are friendly and very helpful and it is positioned just to the edge (2 minutes walk) of the city centre, making it ideally placed to explore this pretty city.
Breakfast is simple but well presented (and usually included in your stay).
Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    104
    45
    14
    3
See reviews for
18
71
25
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frederikssund
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've stayed here from friday to saturday on the last weekend of januar.

We bought a deal for the hotel, and were really surprised of what we got. The hotel is under a maintance round, and som of the floors could use that. But our room was really nice and with no sound from other rooms. What so ever.

The room were kept in the old fashion style with a bathtub and really nice furniture.

I can recommend this hotel to others since its near centrum and in walking distance from almost everything in Malmo.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

We picked this hotel for its location to train station and square just round the corner, the hotel is a very nice hotel staff were good on arrival , even showed us to our room , as some of the rooms can be up one set of stairs jumo in a lift go down etc , but once you go to your room a few times you soon get your bearings, we had breakfast at hotel over 2 days really enjoyed it but very busy we found on the days we were staying, overall i would go back as enjoyed it also the pub below the hotel very nice open fire to sit and enjoy a few drinks in the evening, great for shops bars retaurants all close to hotel we will be back in the future

Room Tip: rooms at front best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedan2900, Hotelldirektör at Elite Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear Scotskev,

Thank you so much for your very positive review. Happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward welcoming you back!

Kind regards

Johan Åséll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristianstad, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

I visited this hotel for I had to take an early train to Copenhagen airport next morning.
I rented a single room, and the first impression of the hotel inside the lobby is very beutiful and in a older style. The lift was very small for a big hotel like this I think but I think it's because they have kept the old style from before. The single room was ok, it was not big the toilet in the room was almost the same size.
But if you travel alone I think it's not necessary with more space maybe if you stay longer than one night.
Unfortunately I didn't have time to try their breakfast buffé so I can't say anything about that. But the rooms are clean and fresh and the bed was very comfortable.

Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedan2900, Hotelldirektör at Elite Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear Kristian W,

Thank you for taking the time writing this review! Its a pleasure that you had a good stay and found our beds comfortable.

Its also nice that you appreciate the old and charming style of the hotel.

Hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Johan Åséll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

We live here almost once every year in late August when we usually visit Malmö in connection with a company event. The hotel is centrally located and is charming because of its old 'luxury history' - many famous personalities lived, from large international politicians to world-famous rock stars! But time has run away a bit from the hotel and even though it is driven by the quality assurance of the hotel chain Elite Hotels, the hotel feels a bit too trashy for being so old-fashioned elegant - the restaurant is created in an old elegant style and the lobby area is not large but simple. A bit up in the hotel corridors are met by old wood paneling and creaking wooden floors; the rooms are usually decently sized but very old-fashioned in style and feel. It's like being moved back 60-70 years in time, at least! If you want to stay here during the 'Malmöfestivalen' so please bring earplugs when noise from the street is quite pervasive. A big advantage is the proximity to the railway station.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedan2900, Hotelldirektör at Elite Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, March 13, 2015
Dear Thomas J,

Thanks for being a frequent visitor and for showing us the confidence to be your hotel of choice in Malmö.

I have with Interest read your feedback, and can happily inform that we have initiated a lot of renovation work for the past 6 months.

Keeping the ancient charm, but improving our general quality.

Hope we are allowed to welcome you back this August!

Kind regards
Johan Åséll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

The hotel is located very conveniently across from a bridge from the central train station in Malmo. It's also within an easy walk of restaurants, shopping centre and main town square.
The hotel has an old charm but it's been renovated nicely and offers a very good breakfast buffet.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedan2900, Hotelldirektör at Elite Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, February 20, 2015
Dear Ali_T0r0nt0,

Thank you very much for the nice review of our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoy our combination of old charm with a slight modern touch.

We feel honored that you allowed us to be the hotel of choice while visiting Malmö.
Welcome Back!

Sincerely,

Johan Åséll
General Manager

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Hi
if you look for old-type elegance with nice rooms in a very central location in Malmö, this could be right choice for you. The rooms are not too big but charmant, high rooms and good sights to river. Enjoy!
br Lassiedog

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedan2900, Hotelldirektör at Elite Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, February 18, 2015
Dear Lassiedog,

It was a pleasure reading you short review. We are happy that you like our style as we are proud of Savoys heritage.

We do have rooms in all sizes and categories if we could lure you to return one day.

Thanks again for your kind words!

Kind regards

Johan Åséll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elite Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Hotel Savoy

Address: Norra Vallgatan 62, Malmo 201 80, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#14 Business Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Hotel Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an intriguing history dating back to the 14th century, the carefully restored Elite Hotel Savoy is well positioned in the heart of Malmo, opposite the Central Train Station. The Bishop's Arms pub guests can experience a wide selection of genuine British whiskies and beers. Elite Hotel Savoy is well known for its beautiful and carefully restored rooms, comfortably equipped with many facilities including cable TV. All guests can enjoy complimentary wireless internet throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Elite Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Hotel Malmö

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elite Hotel Savoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.