We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but doesn't live up to its name” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Elite Hotel Savoy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Elite Hotel Savoy to your Saves list
Elite Hotel Savoy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Norra Vallgatan 62, Malmo 201 80, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Hertford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Okay but doesn't live up to its name”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Old fashioned hotel with the decor to match! Very dated and in need of some tlc. Good service and superb location but my room was very small with a single bed and a view onto the fire escape and the backside of the building - not exactly a room with a view! I managed to get a good rate for the room so it actually represented very good value but I would not pay the full rate for what's on offer. The bathroom was well equipped and quite spacious for the size of the room. All in all, if you can get a good deal on this hotel, it is worth it; if not, there are better hotels for a better price than their full rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel if you want a view otherwise expect an ugly concrete wall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    92
    40
    13
    3
See reviews for
17
63
23
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

2014 Dec 08 check in
Elite Hotel Savoy Malmo:
A very Historical & elegant Hotel and perfect location at Malmo!
This is 2nd time that I stay this Hotel.
One of the reason my wife read a Swedish Dedective Book that story is happen at this Hotel. The other reason that I notice that is because of its perfect location that is just opposite river side of Malmo Central train station , that is took 5 minutes walks only!

The room is very comfortable, clean, Free wifi (but signal is not so strong)
 
Ground floor has a Bar and Restaurant called "BishopArms" ..you can take a drink or a local couzine.

It also equip a very simple Gym and Sauna!

BreaKfest is located at 1 floor. A very classic decoration with full corner glasses window view !

They said the "Bar table" at 1st Floor is a very historical inherit that is made by Swiss. I remember that is over hundreds year old! Very classic and historical asset!

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedan2900, Direktør at Elite Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear baryTW,

Thank you very much for the very kind and informative review.

We are happy that you have enjoyed your 2 stays with us and find us comfortable and with a good location. The hotel for sure has a lot of history and have been an important landmark in Malmø for over 100 years.

The WiFi signal is something that we are working on to improve.

Thanks for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back!

Kind regards
Johan Åséll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in The Elite Savoy in June 2014 Ok the décor was a bit dated but the room was clean, the staff were friendly and helpful, and there was a reasonable choice of food for breakfast. Location was ideal for visiting as the Bus and Rail station was opposite Hotel, which made it easy to get to Copenhagen and to visit other locations in Sweden. Would use this Hotel again if travelling to this area. Good value for money paid.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is the second time I've stayed in this hotel, and I have to admit that I quite like its old-fashioned style. My room was a superior one this time, and seemed like it had been renovated rather recently. It was very spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. Bathroom was equipped with an excellent shower. As the room was in the end of the corridor, it was very quiet. Wifi worked with no issues. The only thing I'd complain about the room is the lack of A/C: as it was getting cold outside in October and radiators weren't on, the room was a bit moist.

The staff were very polite, and both the check in and out were efficient with no long queues. The breakfast is excellent, and there is everything you can ask for. Also the quality is very good. The hotel has got the best possible location in Malmö as it is right in front of the central railway station.

If you're choosing between the two Elite hotels in the neighbourhood (Elite Residens and Savoy), choose this one as this is much nicer than Residens. Would return!

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is very nice indeed. My room was spacious and very comfortable. Everything was well considered and designed. The whole hotel appears to have been refurbished recently.

There is a bar/pub with a range of nice local beers and a wide range of quality whisky. The bar food was nice enough, and very enjoyable, but most of it was something-in-a-bap. There wasn't a great range of choice, but it's a bar... Not a restaurant.

Breakfast was very nice. Fresh proper croissants were great!

It has a small gym with free weights, skier and a new Concept2 rower in excellent condition. There is no running machine or bike which disappointed me. However I also went for a run around the city which was very nice and felt safe at night.

I don't often give 5 stars but I think that this deserves it... However, I'm still a bit disappointed about the gym.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, MD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Terrific hotel directly across from the Central Train station. Nice size room with very comfortable beds. Very nice view out front of hotel viewing the canal and train station. Only stayed one night, wished could have stayed longer. Be sure to check out the spa. Kind of hard to find, but worth the trip for the sauna. Just hope you don't get the older couples who decided to bare all. Not pleasant to see.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

We stayed at this hotel just avoid the high prices of Copenhagen hotels. Hence we wanted hotel next the central station so that we can visit Copenhagen as quickly as possible. It served the purpose. Otherwise there is nothing much to talk about the hotel. Rooms are ok size and breakfast decent. The wooden floor in the rooms is very creaky. In fact you cannot walk around the room without making noise. It like small kids shoes which has light and whistling noise. Malmo it self is a very small town. Nothing much talk about.

As I said, I just needed hotel outside Copenhagen so that I can hop in anytime. That served the purpose. It is close to Copenhagen Airport.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elite Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Hotel Savoy

Address: Norra Vallgatan 62, Malmo 201 80, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#13 Business Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Hotel Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an intriguing history dating back to the 14th century, the carefully restored Elite Hotel Savoy is well positioned in the heart of Malmo, opposite the Central Train Station. The Bishop's Arms pub guests can experience a wide selection of genuine British whiskies and beers. Elite Hotel Savoy is well known for its beautiful and carefully restored rooms, comfortably equipped with many facilities including cable TV. All guests can enjoy complimentary wireless internet throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Elite Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Hotel Malmö

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elite Hotel Savoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.