We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, not a lot else” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo

Save Saved
You added Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gustav Adolfs Torg, Malmo, Sweden (Gamla Staden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 35 hotels in Malmo
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, not a lot else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I stayed at the Elite Plaza for one night with a group of colleagues. We were checked in swiftly and made our way to the rooms. My room was spacious, clean and well presented. As we arrived late I was disappointed to fund out that rooom service finished at 10pm. Also, the breakfast was a let down, especially the atmosphere of the room that it was served in.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    78
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
10
62
12
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Very comfortable stay, excellent breakfasts and good location. Heard about comfortable beds in Sweden - and we had one. No problems with the room at all, except we too did not have a plug for the washbasin. Staff on reception also very good.

Room Tip: Seems for previous reviews, rooms are variable in standard. Make sure you get a good one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Compared to other Elite hotels this newly supposedly renovated hotel the Plaza is a disappointment. Attracted by the remarkably low price (650 SEK/night) we booked for one night and were welcomed in the nice minimalistic lobby by attentive staff, so far so good. But we ended up walking in long, dark corridors looking for our room. The lights in the corridor are supposed to light up as you enter, but they seldom did, but eventually found our room. With dark brown floors and dark curtains the room in itself felt very gloomy and not modern at all. Though with a flat-TV and really comfortable bed. And the bathroom can not have been renovated at all? Dirty tile joints and a overall neglected look. When you took a shower the pipes made a lot of noise which must have also disturbed to room next doors. The breakfast is really good though with a wide selection and the location is pretty good, close to everything. So considering the low price I still rate this hotel acceptable, but, again, disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We had booked a 'Deluxe Double' room at this hotel, which was described as 'extra spacious'. In fact, we found the room small, cramped and dirty. The room had a cream carpet which was very grubby, with brown and black smears and multiple dirt marks. We found the cream chair by the desk edged with black finger print marks and dirt, and the purple armchair was stained black.

The small shower-room lacked a bath, and the open shower covered the whole floor with water. Ventilation was poor and the room stayed wet for some hours, meaning you could not walk in again on the wet floor in socks or shoes. The wash-basin lacked a plug, which required running water instead for a shave and there was very limited space for our toiletries.

On the positive side, the hotel itself is in a great location, and the breakfast choices were very good.

Overall, we were very disappointed at the poor standard of the hotel's 'Deluxe' bedroom, given its description and cost. We would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not bother booking a 'Deluxe' room as it is not worth the extra cost over the 'Superi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We were welcomed warmly after a 35 hour journey. Immediately we felt better! This hotel has ticked all the boxes:
1) Location: Fronting a beautiful Square full of trees and flowers. Just a short distance from the Central Station. We walked it easily but it would be a short taxi ride if you prefer. Everything is within walking distance of the Elite Plaza.
2) Accommodation: Rooms are spacious and light filled. The beds are extra comfortable and the pillows are a miracle (I want to take mine home with me!) There is a choice of two kinds of pillow depending on your preference. The furniture and fittings are elegant and tasteful with plenty of lamps for easy reading or working at the useful desk. Large flat screen TV with a choice of channels including in English language. Tea and coffee making facilities are a bonus. There is a safe for valuables, a mini fridge and an ironing board and iron in the cupboard. The bathroom is large and spotless and nice toiletries are provided
3) Food: Breakfast was incredible and served buffet style in a sleek, colourful and comfortable dining room. Every kind of breakfast food you could ask for was available - juices, muesli and cereals, cold meats and salad items, eggs, bacon and sausages, pastries and tea and coffee. Really set you up for the day!
4) Price: Excellent value for the reasonable rate.
5) Staff: The staff at Reception were unfailingly helpful, warm and generous with their time. It makes such a difference when you are made to feel so welcome and at home by friendly and efficient personnel and the people behind the desk at the Elite Plaza were great. Thank you!

All in all, a terrific experience which made our stay in beautiful Malmo very, very enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

Freshly modern hotel with English pub attached. Excellent range of beer and beef burgers. Clean modern designs. Minor niggles: room key was wiped by smartphone (common to several folk so maybe system is faulty?) which is not practical if between lifts on 3rd floor; beds look good in a photo but are rather narrow and not up to 4 stars.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Cool hotel, brand new and clean. The rooms are very nice, but you might be walking a lot since the hotel are in fact in several buildings. Location is spot on.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo

Address: Gustav Adolfs Torg, Malmo, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 hotels in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.