We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“return trip as good as ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Malmo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Malmo Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Malmo Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Master Johansgatan 15, Malmo SE-211 21, Sweden   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“return trip as good as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was my second stay in the Renaisance Malmo and every bit as good as last time. Great location, lovely room, helpful staff and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. 5 minutes easy walk from the station with trains every 20 minutes if you want to visit Copenhagen. There is, however, a lot of interest in Malmo itself. The lovely cobbled square next to the hotel ( Lilla Torg) gives a wide choice of restaurants moments from the hotel. It can be lively and a bit noisy ( not unpleasantly rowdy though ) at the weekends, but the soundproofing in the hotel is very good and if you ask for a room facing into the internal square of the hotel this would not be an issue at all.
A superb hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an interal facing room if you are concerned about noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, Hotelldirektör at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Rona H,

thanks for review here on Tripadvisor, so thrilled that you liked our city and especially our hotel!
We're indeed situated in the middle of "the old town" with restaurants, bars and parks just around the corner.

Hope to see you back in the near future and never hesitate to contact me for any inquiries you may have.

Kind regards,
Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    124
    35
    19
    5
See reviews for
56
194
32
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

After an 18 hour journey, what a pleasant surprise on a warm summer afternoon. The room was enormous, with several windows facing over the interior courtyard (a good idea if you're not up for noisy neighbors late night). Amenities included Nespresso Machine with 3 pods, high end bath and shower with wash cloths as many Americans hope for when traveling abroad.

The request for additional pillows, towels and high floor were honored, and staff at check in were quite helpful. Truthfully, I needed the assistance from several hotels' staff finding my way to the Renaissance not having printed a map in advance. All were very helpful and friendly.

The service was wonderful, including the relay of a message from a local friend concerning a dinner reservation for the next evening.

Room Tip: Malmo has an immense night life outdoors, so to avoid some of the noise, an interior facing room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, Hotelldirektör at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Niblik2010,

thanks for your kind feed-back and really proud that you liked our service and product!

Whenever you travel to Malmö again do not hesitate to contact me if their are any inquiries I my solve for you.

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We landed in Copenhagen as we were going to cruise the Baltic. All the hotels in Copenhagen were 400.00 plus. We went to Malmo (a short train ride away) and found the Renaissance. It is a short walk from the train station. As luck would have it the town was having a big celebration and we were in the middle of it. It was a vey pleasant experience--the staff was very professional and cordial.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, Hotelldirektör at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Candeman,

isn't it amazing having a new country and a new experience so close to "wonderful Copenhagen". We are glad you discovered this part of Sweden and especially spent time staying with the Renaissance Malmö. Our aim is always to exceed expectations and we are thrilled that you discovered it.

Once again, thanks for taking the time to rate us here on tripadvisor and thanks for choosing Malmö and the Renaissance!

Kind regards,
Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Malmo for 3 nights to watch Swansea City play football, but also to do some sightseeing of this wonderful little Swedish city. The best thing about the hotel has to be the location - literally 10 seconds away from the lively main square, but far enough away to avoid the noise. Only a 5 minute walk (or probably less than that) to the train station as well. Perfect. Whether the hotel is 4 or 5 star officially doesn't really matter, it is a gem of a hotel - excellent, spacious rooms with a massive bed, great bathroom with a shower that works (you'd be surprised how many hotels I've been to where they haven't) and great service. Although it's on the expensive side, which I suppose is inkeeping with Sweden as a whole, it was great value for money. If I'm being picky, the only downside was that there wasn't much choice on the TV, many 4/5 star hotels have at least BBC and SKY news, but this one didn't. Apart from that a great stay, highly recommended for a business trip or a quick getaway to a charming little city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Pleasant staff; quirky building in a great location; details need finessing.
A short walk from the central rail station, approached down cobbled lanes. Easily walked if you're in decent shape - ten minutes tops - otherwise get a cab. Underground parking beneath the hotel; the streets are tight but the locals manage just fine. The upside to the location, beside proximity to the transport hub, is that you're bang on one corner of Lilla Torg - a square which is wall to wall restaurants and their outdoor seating - and seldom far from anything you'll want to see : Kungsparken is a few minutes away in a reasonably straight line, the technical museum and Malmöhus a few minutes on from that. Only the Torso is a fair walk, but again, very easy if you're in decent shape and you get to look in on the town's resurrection of its old industrial district and the marina and then explore the stylish suburbs and bistros out by the water overlooking the Öresund bridge. Beautiful place to enjoy the sunset.
Two downsides to the location, however. The hotel occupies an old block surrounded by other blocks of similar heights, separated by narrow lanes, so I can't see that any room has a view of anything except the neighbours. I was upgraded to a de luxe room which put me in the attic (4th floor) and the angled windows looked into the apartments on the other side of the lane. No loss to me; YMMV. Secondly, a square full of busy restaurants means noise and music, until the back of 1am Friday/Saturday/Sunday. It may be a summer thing, or because the Malmö Festival was on, but if you're a light sleeper ask for the corner furthest from Lilla Torg and hope for the best.
Marriott standard : hideously expensive wifi (over SEK170/24 hours for the fastest speed and two devices simultaneously); ditto breakfast (same price bracket; the usual American/European variety and quality was fine). If you're MR Gold/Plat these will be comped. No lounge, predictably.
The room layout was quirky and it felt small even by European standards, albeit because they've had to fit things around the guts of an old building. Not much storage for shopaholics or long term travellers. The minibar had snacks and drinks at the usual prices but they weren't precious about me replacing them with my own. Ice machine on the fourth floor. If you're cheap you've come to the wrong country, but if you want to stock up on drinks and nibbles the lowest prices I found were in the Coop attached to the station, not the concession inside it which faces the platforms.
Had one evening meal in the hotel, which was delicious but predictably expensive : roe starter, veal, no drinks apart from the comp water : SEK380. You have every variety of restaurant on your doorstep, including a TGI's for anyone hungering for flair, so no need to eat in if you don't want to. If you plan to eat in the hotel's Rosen bar/restaurant it may pay to book as it seems to be one of the 'in' places in town right now.
The check-in and out were quick, efficient and pleasantly handled and the room was always cleaned on time, so all that's left is niggles : some of the fittings in the room were loose and the main light was out throughout my stay, despite my request to have it fixed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I spent two nights here as a family of 4. From the moment we checked in, the staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Given it was our first time to the area, we asked plenty of touristy questions and I never got the impression that we were a burden at all. Hands down, great staff!
The hotel itself was very clean, modern and centrally located for Malmo. We would easily stay here again if back in Malmo!

Room Tip: We were there during Malmo festival, so very noisy at night. Ask for a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is excellent in every respect, the room, the common areas,the bar, the breakfast. But most of all the people working there! Also it´s in a great location, very close to many restaurants and shops. We had a great stay in a lovely city!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Malmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Malmo Hotel

Address: Master Johansgatan 15, Malmo SE-211 21, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Malmo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Malmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Malmo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.