We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, well located hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Malmo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Malmo Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Malmo Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Master Johansgatan 15, Malmo SE-211 21, Sweden   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Columbus Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable, well located hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Malmo Marriott is a real find and an oasis for the tired traveler. We are Marriott Gold members and stayed there for two nights before our cruise left from Copenhagen, Denmark. The train ride from the Copenhagen Airport was seamless, and was made even easier by a U-Tube video. The hotel should consider doing its own U-Tube video as the one we saw was directed to incoming students at the local university. The hotel was very well designed and the staff all spoke English, with many having spent time in the USA. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet: the food, as well as the casually elegant ambience. The train station is 3 tenths of a KM from the hotel. Turn right out of the hotel front door and you are in a large courtyard with two dozen cafes and restaurants. Good for food and people watching. Our room was full of all of the high-quality amenities you expect at a Marriott Residence facility.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thanks for re-viewing our establishment!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    124
    35
    19
    5
See reviews for
57
194
32
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bruxelles
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Introduction:
Malmö is a quite unexpected destination for me. I’ve been in Stockholm quite often but Malmö, it was my first time.
Actually, I came here on my own, without my lover, for a watch collector annual gathering.
There are no Starwood hotels so I had to pick up another brand hotel this time. I checked Trip Advisor, as usual, and made a decision to go for Marriott’s Renaissance.
Prior to book, I called the hotel to make sure I could have a balcony that would allow me to smoke as the hotel is 100% non smoking.

Dates of stays:
From July 27th to July 29th, 2012

The Area:
At zero minutes walking from a very busy and trendy square, you will find all you need from bars, restaurants and shops.

The Interior:
It’s looking very “intimate” and I must say that the first impression is that it is a “small” hotel. And, in fact it is.

Check in:
As usual, I called the hotel prior booking to confirm I could have a balcony because I’m a smoker. There are only 4 bedrooms with a balcony and I was lucky because one was assigned to me.
Checking in was fast but I must say I was the only guest to do so and only one person/position was available.
My primal request was fulfilled.

The room:
I would call the room an average superior room in terms of space and features. But with the tiny balcony it made the trick: I was able to enjoy a smoke from time to time and still didn’t feel oppressed when staying at my desk in the room.

The Air Conditioning/Heating in the room:
Perfectly working.

The Bathroom:
A nice space, large enough, with a single sink, a bath with hand shower
Amenities are not the best one I got but it was OK.

The Bed:
I would rate the bed 3/5.

Check out:
Fast and easy because I used in room check out.
If not, there was a line and still only one person on duty on the Sunday so it might be a pain sometimes.

I really liked:
The area and the hotel in general.
It is rated Trip Advisor best hotel of Malmö but I think it is a good, even really good hotel, but nothing special that deserves such a badge.
I don’t think I would pick this one again if I ever go to Malmö again.

I really disliked:
Nothing…just average in general.


All the best,
Stephane

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thanks for your feed-back!
The google translate version is not 100%, but do think I'll get the most important things out of your stay with us! I do hope you'll stay here next time you visit Malmö!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We chose this hotel because of hotel points that we had available. I was concerned about getting there from the airport in Copenhagen, but that turned out to be no big deal. We had 3 nights before a cruise that we needed a room. I investigated the price of hotels in Copenhagen and was amazed at the cost. We decided to use the points from our Marriot card for this one. It also got us the buffet breakfast every morning.

It was a good choice. We got into the airport at 5 in the afternoon from our overseas flight. We were tired. I easily found the ticket office for the Oresund train and got tickets. Also found out that everything you hear about credit cards needing a pin number is true. Luckily I was able to change some US cash for Danish cash. The train station got Danish cash. It was a 30 minute ride to the Swedish side of the tunnel/bridge. Then it was 3 stops until the center of Malmo.

We started walking in the direction that I thought was Lily Torg and I was correct. We circled the cute little square, pulling our suitcases on the cobblestones, and looking for the Renaissance sign. We finally saw it a little bit down one of the sidestreeets. Checking in was a breeze. Very good English spoken and our Marriot credit card was (of course) good as gold.

Our room was very nice. It was on the second floor overlooking MasterJohansgatan. That turned out to be a very noisy location late at night. There was the thumping bass note from some restaurant on the Lily Torg square until 2 AM. We were so tired that night that we both woke from it, recognized what it was, and then went right back to sleep. It was not there on Thursday night. It was back on Friday night. We slept in spite of it. If you have trouble sleeping, be aware of this.

The buffet breakfast was wonderful. We got complimentary breakfast because we used our points, so I don't know how many kroner it would be. The breakfast had great breads, jams, butter, cold meats, cheese, many cereals, yogurt, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes, juices, milk, tea and coffee. A lot of people used this buffet, so it was a hit with other guests too.

The staff at the hotel were great. We mostly saw one young lady at the front desk who had a great smile and a very helpful personality. She is a real asset to the company.

Malmo has some great parks and gardens that are only a couple of city blocks from the hotel. It was beautiful weather while we were there, so a walk in the park was fun. The natives were also enjoying the sun and many adults and children were playing, riding bikes, laying in the sun, walking on the paths and, in general, enjoying the day.

We spent one day exploring Malmo and one day looking over Copenhagen. The train ride back and forth to Copenhagen was so easy. The train ticket machines are in English and they did take our Marriot card (with the pin number).

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, family, couples, business, friends. It is easy to find in Malmo and in a good location for parks and restaurants and access to the train.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on Johansgatan because of the noise from the Lily Torg Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thanks for your re-view!
Hope to see you back in Malmö real soon and of course you should stay with us at the Renaissance Malmö Hotel.

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with very comfortable rooms, wonderful breakfast buffets, and excellent service. Anything missing was quickly and cheerfully supplied. Those desiring social experiences will be delighted with its location in central Malmo. Those appreciating the historic dimension of the city will appreciate its location in Gamla Malmo, the Old Town .... be sure to look for the stone rose in the floor of the foyer. The hotel has used it as an inspiration for much of its decor design - a great idea!
This hotel is a good choice for anyone visiting Malmo, unless you are accessing the city with your own vehicle. The drawback of being in a historic district is that the streets are also historic - narrow, one-way, changing names often and quickly. It is extremely difficult to access by car and that begins the stay at the hotel on a frustrating down note. Parking is remote, but available. If you are arriving by train, plane, or taxi, you will not be disappointed with this choice.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet stay, away from sounds of the energetic night life, explain that when you reserv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor.

The hotel is indeed in the middle of the "old town", if you are driving here please consider the garage in the hotel, which is the easiest way to park your vehicle.

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great location in central Malmo, easy walk to the Central train station and all the major museums and attractions, including the central squares filled with shops and dining options. Comfortable, modern, clean rooms and an incredibly good breakfast service--but perhaps only for free if you're a Marriott platinum client. Fast wireless service. Friendly and helpful front desk staff. The so called premium turndown service is ho hum. Overall, a very friendly, clean and helpful place to stay in the center of a city worth exploration.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thanks for your kind feed-back!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

My husband has been staying in this hotel for business for many months. This was our first time as a family joining him. Absolutely fantastic hotel with great location, lovely decor and rooms. Above all, the staff are wonderful, looking after us all and making our stay so easy. He loves this place and so do we! Totally coming back!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Elizabeth,

thanks for your kind words and feed-back, makes me especially happy and proud that our staff made your stay extra memorable.

Looking forward of welcoming you and your family back to Malmö and the Renaissance hotel.

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Hotel is very trendy, it is a great location, there is a TGI Friday's even in the same building (didn't eat there). The hotel is a mix of traditional and modern Swedish design.

Likes
- Speedy Internet (free to Gold and Platinum members)
- Breakfast buffett
- Decor
- Location

Dislike
- sometimes there is a little bit of street noise, but would stay here again in a heartbeat

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thanks for your kind feed-back, hope you'll stay with us in the near future again!

Greetings from Malmö, Sweden,


Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Malmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Malmo Hotel

Address: Master Johansgatan 15, Malmo SE-211 21, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Malmo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Malmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Malmo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.