We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the Lund Duxiana!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Duxiana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Duxiana to your Saves list
Hotel Duxiana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sankt Petri Kyrkogata 7, Lund 222 21, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Rancho Mirage, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Avoid the Lund Duxiana!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

The owner was beyond rude and unaccommodating. The room phone was unlabeled with no indication of how to contact front desk. The internet service didn't work and then was blamed on our Mac laptop, which had no trouble any other hotels. The food was uninspired. This hotel is labeled as a 'business hotel', which is a joke.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    17
    13
    7
    11
See reviews for
4
16
2
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dalsland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2008

A few years back, my husband and I stayed at this hotel when it was the Petri Pumpa. It was fantastic in all ways. When we returned on June 10th we were much less impressed. The double room was ok, but not really worth the hefty rate. The breakfast which used to be ecological, local products, was highlighted by cold rubbery hard boiled eggs. And we had to ask for bread. Then when we were going to pay, the man at the reception was unfriendly and did not even make eye contact. Maybe these things sound trivial, they are very basic for any hotel. The fact that Duxiana is so pricey makes us more irritated and disappointed. So, the next time we're in Lund, we'll be staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

I had booked for two nights in this hotel, advising that I would arrive late due to late arrival of my flight. The booking was guaranteed with credit card and hotel informed of the late arrival. However, when I arrived... all doors closed, no one available, noone absolutely answering the emergency phone number - so no room no accomodation at 23.45, middle of the night in a very busy period of the year. Luckily Hotel Lundia 200 m away had a free room so that I did not have to spend the night on the street. No way I will ever book in Hotel Duxiana again ! Unacceptable.

  • Liked — don't know- could not get in !
  • Disliked — it was closed when I arrived
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2008

I have stayed here twice in the recent months. The first time I thought it was great. I had a small pentry and a large room with a sofa group. After my second stay I realize that not every room is great. Now I got a very small room with a smallish bed. Ok, the room was very clean and the bathroom modern with a nice shower cubicle.

So you have to watch out and make clear at reservation what room you get. I think the rooms on the fourth floor are the nice ones. It would of course have been easier if they had sold the rooms on their homepage after quality.

So I'm forced to downgrade this hotel to a strong three on a five grade scale. Location is great but the random room experience is not good.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Random room quality
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewitt, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

We stayed for 5 nights at the Hotel Duxiana and loved every minute. The rooms are clean and airy. The breakfast was wonderful and the location was ideal for any activities in Lund.

It is a short walk to the train and also to the university campus. There is a tourist office a few blocks away and across from the cathedral.

Hotel staff were friendly and helpful to every need. Restaurants are nearby.

  • Liked — location and breakfast
  • Disliked — stairs at entry
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Duxiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duxiana

Address: Sankt Petri Kyrkogata 7, Lund 222 21, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Lund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duxiana 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This designer hotel is set in an early 1900s building in the heart of Lund. It offers luxurious Dux beds and free Wi-Fi. Lund Central Station is only 4 minutes’ walk away. All guest rooms at Hotel Duxiana are individually decorated. Each room includes a seating area, a work desk and cable TV. In addition, Duxiana has a garden. February 2013 we will also open up a restaurant/bar located in our premises. Duxiana Hotel is right next to the Lund University area and 300 meters from the 12th–century Lund Cathedral. Local buses stop nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Duxiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxiana Hotel Lund

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Duxiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.